Home > Miscellaneous, Pet Topics, Wildlife > Introspection

Introspection


MP900178931I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting this past week. Not just about the past year, but about my life in general. Maybe it’s all the blog posts looking back on 2012, or all the empowering messages on Facebook, or maybe it’s Kristine’s post over at Rescued Insanity that is driving all this introspection. I’m not sure.

What I do know is that I have been in a fog for over a year now, probably a left over hangover from closing down my pet sitting business. They say losing a business is like losing a loved one. I guarantee you that in my case this was true. I loved what I did. I loved working with people’s pets every day. I loved the feeling of accomplishment from running my own business. And, I loved knowing I was making a difference in pet’s lives. Giving all of that up was one of the hardest decisions I ever had to make. In fact, I delayed it for a long time. It’s no surprise that the fog was so thick and consuming for so long after all was said and done.

It is only now that I feel the fog finally starting to lift. The question is, where does that leave me? What is next?

I am starting to get hints of what it might be or where I might go, but there is so much more to be fleshed out.

What I do know for sure is that it will have something to do with animals. How can it not?

When I was a young girl, I used to sit on banks of the ponds across the street from my house and observe (and yes, even take notes) the Canadian geese (I think I imagined myself as some sort of young Jane Goodall). When I was in high school, I was so excited to discover that they offered a class in animal behavior (animal biology was my second favorite class) and soaked up as information as I could.

Throughout my early years, I rescued animals of all kinds, cats, dogs, bunnies, squirrels and even raised a baby bird after it fell from its nest and raised it to fly.

In my 30’s, I volunteered at an animal shelter and soaked up as much information as I could from the dog trainers, as well as the dogs. I used to use my knowledge of appeasement signals to help the more fearful dogs come out of their kennels to go outside for a walk or to just receive love and attention.

My favorite shows to watch are about animals and nature. And recently, when I had the chance to attend a Suzanne Clothier seminar, I jumped at the chance. I only wish I could have attended the whole weekend!

Clearly, I was meant to be around animals, to study them, to learn from them. Maybe pet sitting was the right career for me at one time, but is it now? I’m not so sure anymore. I think perhaps I am being taken in a new direction. Maybe pet sitting was simply the stepping stone that was to lead me to something better. I guess only time will tell.

So what will be next? I don’t know for sure, but whatever it is and wherever I go, I feel I am finally heading in the right direction. Maybe 2013 is a year for new beginnings. One thing is certain, I can see the sun through the fog and it is getting brighter very day.

Chapter 2013

  1. January 2, 2013 at 10:56 PM

    I think introspection happens for a lot of people this time of year, especially the older we get. I’ve thinking about what I do for a living and how I need to change it. I love being an electrician but the jobs are far and few between. I’m hoping 2013 is a year of new beginnings too!

    • Mel
      January 3, 2013 at 6:38 AM

      Thanks Gracie. I guess I am not alone in this am I? I wonder what you will do next?
      (BTW – surprised to hear there aren’t that many jobs for electricians. I would have thought that would be a trade that had plentiful work. I learned something new today.)

      • January 3, 2013 at 1:16 PM

        I’m a union electrician and work in large construction, not many new building being built unfortunately. With hurricane sandy we were hoping for some work but it is mostly the lineman doing the work to restore power. I did volunteer and help get some shops open at the shore but thats it. 😦

      • Mel
        January 3, 2013 at 10:53 PM

        I sure hope more jobs come your way. I guess I didn’t think about construction. It has been pretty light on the building side hasn’t it? Maybe with Congress voting for more fund you will see some jobs come in? I hope so.

  2. January 3, 2013 at 12:04 AM

    I have a sneaking suspicion that you’re going to be just fine in the new year. Cliche: one door closes…another opens. But very true. Let your passion lead you. 🙂

    • Mel
      January 3, 2013 at 6:37 AM

      Thank you Ogee. I agree. There is always another opportunity ahead. I just need to see it and believe in it.

  3. January 3, 2013 at 12:14 AM

    Change can be a difficult but necessary part of life. And sometimes you need to take the time to grieve what was before you can see what will be. May ‘what will be’ be as fulfilling as ‘what was’.

    • Mel
      January 3, 2013 at 6:36 AM

      Wonderful words of wisdom. You are right, sometimes you do need to grieve what was before. Thank you justthreadtwiddling.

  4. January 3, 2013 at 12:18 AM

    Sometimes it’s so hard to know what to do next. I’ve been there! I hope you figure something out that brings you great success and great joy!

    • Mel
      January 3, 2013 at 6:35 AM

      Thanks Jackie! I hope I do too. It is hard to know what to do next, but I know it will lead me to where I am supposed to be.

  5. January 3, 2013 at 6:06 AM

    Having the feeling that you are headed in the right direction is a great feeling Mel! I look forward to seeing what this year holds for you and what you do with it:)

    • Mel
      January 3, 2013 at 6:32 AM

      Thanks Jen! I’m looking forward to what the new year brings too. 🙂

  6. To Shea
    January 3, 2013 at 7:01 AM

    I hope our 2013 has a brighter future for us too Mel. My wife and I have been struggling for several years now and it has been realy tough.
    I thought getting the USPS job would help, but now they want to let me go because they say I work too slow. I like to greet people and say Hi. I like to look at the different homes and say hello to the different dogs in the area. Well if thats too slow…I’m Sorry…I am NOT slow…I’m just friendly!
    Hopefully 2013 will find me another job.
    Alex and Penny

  7. Cameocreation
    January 3, 2013 at 7:51 AM

    RE: cliché of doors opening…closing…etc??
    Maybe we need to look at life thru a doggie door???

    A doggie door opens both ways.
    A doggie door has stability on one side.
    A doggie door has opportunity and adventure on the other side.
    BEST OF ALL…
    A doggie door means someone cares.
    Thanks for such an interesting and thought provoking blog.

    Kobe and Rodeo say Happy Beginnings… and we’ve just been adopted by “Magnum” a very large kitty that looks like he’s going to fit in nicely in this rescue household. Can’t imagine someone dropping such a perfect gentleman out in the country in the winter..but their loss is definitely our gain. And our door swings both ways, too.

    • Mel
      January 3, 2013 at 10:55 PM

      Great analogy! I like the doggie door idea.
      Congrats to all of you and Magnum. How lucky for him that you took him in. 🙂

  8. January 3, 2013 at 1:18 PM

    It is definitely comforting to know others are struggling with some of the same things. I guess no one, or at least not many, really knows where she is “meant” to be. I am happy with my current job and happy with where I live. Nothing feels permanent, though, but maybe it doesn’t need to be. I like the way you are looking at it, as just one more chapter out of many more.

    I look forward to finding out where the year takes you. There is one thing I know, when it comes to a life with animals, it is never boring!

  9. Will and Eko
    January 3, 2013 at 4:07 PM

    Writing always helps me think, and it looks like it’s pointing you in the right direction as well. Good luck!

    • Mel
      January 3, 2013 at 10:46 PM

      You have great insight Will. I think it helps me too. I hope it points me in the right direction too. Wishing you and Eko a wonderful new year. 🙂

  10. January 3, 2013 at 5:04 PM

    You are clearly an animal person and you’re lucky to at least be guided by that passion. The road might have twists, u-turns and detours, but how much more boring if it was straight! Love the words in the picture. I never thought of each year as a chapter, but that’s what it is. Good luck Mel! X

    • Mel
      January 3, 2013 at 10:47 PM

      Thanks Miss Little Pea. You are so right, of course, straight would be boring. I love the words too. I just had to share. It really opened my mind to thinking of things from a different perspective. Wishing you a wonderful new year!

  11. January 3, 2013 at 10:16 PM

    I still miss seeing animals every day – it was one of the most rewarding jobs that I have ever had and I can totally understand why it has been so hard. I have been searching for a job and I have a tough time know exactly what it is I want to do! I hope 2013 is a great year for you!!

    • Mel
      January 3, 2013 at 10:45 PM

      I was wondering if you felt the same way Julie. I know just what you mean. Rewarding and challenging and so much fun. I so hope you find what you are looking for in 2013 too. Thank you for stopping by and sharing. It’s nice to know I am not alone.

  1. January 5, 2013 at 3:44 PM
  2. January 9, 2013 at 11:21 PM

Leave a comment