Home > Dog Park, Miscellaneous, Photos > A Walk in the Woods (in Photos)

A Walk in the Woods (in Photos)


As we deal with yet another snow storm (and yet another brutal morning commute), I am finding myself thinking back to a walk we took a few days ago. On that day, the only snow the dogs and I could find was under our feet. The weather was warm (37 degrees) and only a small breeze blew on our faces as we made our way up and down the hills around Alimagnet Lake.

Daisy walks the trail next to Alimagnet Lake

Daisy walks the trail next to Alimagnet Lake

Daisy explores the shoreline

Daisy explores the shoreline

Jasper was able to get off leash and chase his favorite tennis ball. He can hustle like no other dog I know.

Jasper returns his ball

Jasper returns his ball

Not just a dog

Not just a dog

Cupcake kept up with her sister and brother, but her highly sensitive sniffer took time to check out the new smells.

Cupcake checks out a very interesting smell

Cupcake checks out a very interesting smell

IMG_9584

My favorite part about this park is how the trail weaves through the woods. Daisy loves to explore them and I love watching her do so. It gives me great joy to see her feel her freedom this way. She loves running through them and leaping over logs. She always comes back with a smile on her face.

Daisy romps through the woods

Daisy romps through the woods

IMG_9608

IMG_9621

As we walked, the setting sun warmed our faces and our bodies. On days like these, I can feel my soul filling up. There is a feeling of contentment that comes from being in the woods as they turn an amber glow from the sun’s rays. Somewhere in those woods are deer and coyote and owls and rabbits – all waiting to emerge into the quiet night.

IMG_9618

IMG_9676

IMG_9623

IMG_8523

  1. March 18, 2013 at 7:38 AM

    Stunning pix and that looks like a great place for a walk and explore. Stay warm. We just got back from the park just in time as it is bucketing down over here. Yet more rain, sigh. Have a marvelous Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

  2. March 18, 2013 at 7:56 AM

    Even though we moved to CA to avoid the snow & cold, pics like that make me want to take a walk through a snowy woods. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Roxy the Traveling Dog
    March 18, 2013 at 9:34 AM

    Beautiful pictures!! We are pretty fed up with winter too.

    • Mel
      March 18, 2013 at 10:00 PM

      Thanks Roxy! I bet you are fed up with winter! Can’t be easy to be a little dog in the snow. Where is spring anyways?

  4. March 18, 2013 at 10:17 AM

    Looks very peaceful. It’s nice to have someplace nearby where the dogs can run free, even if just for a while.

    • Mel
      March 18, 2013 at 10:07 PM

      Thanks Sage! I agree. I love living in a city where nature is just a short drive or walk away. I heard that one of our largest parks, Lebanon Hills Regional Park, was once owned by a farmer who didn’t want the area developed and made it a park. It’s over 2000 acres and that’s just one of the many we have here. Both me and the dogs love it.

  5. jan
    March 18, 2013 at 11:37 AM

    I moved to CA to avoid the snow and cold like Slimdoggy above. But I’m perfectly happy just to see pictures.

  6. March 18, 2013 at 11:38 AM

    What a beautiful spot! I too feel a peace in my soul when I am out in the wood. It feels like home. 🙂

    • Mel
      March 18, 2013 at 9:59 PM

      I knew you would too Jodi. I wish we could meet up and walk our dogs in the woods together. It does feel like home. My dream would be to have a home in the woods, maybe near a pond, and be able to enjoy it’s beauty every day.

  7. March 18, 2013 at 12:03 PM

    great pictures, i love dog walking in the snow … always turns into a (one sided) snow ball fight

    • Mel
      March 18, 2013 at 9:58 PM

      LOL! If your dog loves catching snowballs then it is definitely two-sided! I love it too. 🙂

  8. March 18, 2013 at 1:06 PM

    We used to live where it snowed, and I loved to walk our super-sniffer beagle in the snow, because I could actually *see* what she was sniffing at! Lots of tiny little critter feet prints in the snow!

    Great pics! Sorry about the ugly commute!

    • Mel
      March 18, 2013 at 9:57 PM

      How cool Jackie! I love the idea of seeing the little prints in the snow. The commute was definitely ugly, but not as bad as I expected. Glad I waited to leave.

  9. March 18, 2013 at 4:53 PM

    The pictures are beautiful. At present it’s snowing in NYC. It takes less than a day before the covered sidewalks and streets turns from white to black because of the traffic.

    • Mel
      March 18, 2013 at 9:56 PM

      Oh no! Snowing in NYC again? Sorry if we sent it your way BJ Pup. I have been in NY when it has snowed. It looks pretty at first, but like you said, it changes pretty quickly. Hoping you have warmer weather on the way!

  10. March 18, 2013 at 4:56 PM

    We also enjoyed some beautiful walks last weekend in 40 degrees and sunshine. Now it is back below freezing again and up to a foot of snow on the way. Just a tease for Spring coming I guess….getting impatient for it now! Your woods there are gorgeous. There is nothing like Mother Nature to fill up your soul….even if she can be difficult at times!

    • Mel
      March 18, 2013 at 9:55 PM

      I am so sorry the cold stuff has returned Jank. I know how you feel. I am impatient too.
      But, at least I had some of that good stuff to fill up my soul for a bit. 🙂

  11. To Shea
    March 18, 2013 at 5:39 PM

    We Love you Photos and the wonderful walks you guys take together!!
    You always seem prepared to take YET another stunning photograph of your 3 furry friends and the beautiful surroundings…. 🙂
    We Love and enjoy seeing them!
    Alex, Trish and Penny

    • Mel
      March 18, 2013 at 9:54 PM

      Thanks Alex, Trish and Penny! It means so much to me that you enjoy them. I carry my camera and iPhone with me everywhere. You have no idea how many I used to miss because I forgot to bring it with! 🙂

  12. March 18, 2013 at 11:26 PM

    Thanks for the walk with your furry tribe Mel, my most favourite thing to do in the world.

    • Mel
      March 19, 2013 at 9:53 PM

      You’re welcome Boomdeeadda. It’s my favorite thing to do too.

  1. March 20, 2013 at 12:23 PM

Leave a comment