Home > Fun Stuff, Pet Products > And I thought a dog bed was a cushion on the floor

And I thought a dog bed was a cushion on the floor

November 14, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I was scrolling through Facebook last night – commenting on friend’s posts, sharing a few of my own, and reading up on some interesting stories. That’s when I cam across this. A dog bed even I could love!

All my dogs have been happy with the traditional dog beds – a stuffed pillowy sort of bed that lies on the floor. I’m guessing many of you have the same sort of thing in your homes. But, seeing this elaborate dog bed made me wonder what other types of dog beds are out there.

I wrote about a bean bag dog bed last December after my client purchased one for each of her dogs. As you can see, Nika and Dylan, absolutely love them.

Nika & Dylan in their bean bag beds

My search showed some other interesting selections, but I’m not so sure that my dogs would ever love these. Then again, maybe they would! Got a favorite? Or, do you have a favorite of your own that you don’t see here? Feel free to share a link to it. I’d love to see it.

Pet Murphy Dog Bed

Unique Beast 50805 Sasquatch II Kings Blue Eva Pet Bed

Metropolitan Dog Bed from PlumStruck

Praline & Brown Teddy Microvelvet Buttercup Dog Bed

Princess Car Dog Bed

Premier Sofa Dog Beds

The Hollywood Bed

Napolean Empire Ebony Dog Bed in Stripes

Doggie Side Sleeper

  1. November 14, 2011 at 11:26 PM

    I love that bunk bed! Ty adores his doughnut bed, and somehow Buster has determined that the sofa is his new bed. 🙂

    • Mel
      November 15, 2011 at 6:22 AM

      I like the bunk bed too Amy. I don’t think my dogs would ever sleep in it, but I wonder if you could get Ty and Buster to? Could be a space saver! 🙂

  2. November 15, 2011 at 6:03 AM

    Great post, I love all of these beds for pooches!

  3. November 15, 2011 at 7:11 AM

    I can’t imagine having a house big enough to fit most of these beds. We have a create in our bedroom for Honey and we can’t open our dresser drawers without moving it next to the bed.

    I have no idea where we’d put a crate for another like, like a foster.

    That said, they are pretty spiffy.

  4. November 15, 2011 at 7:26 AM

    My house is not very spacious. Along with three family members we have a dog. So, sometimes there becomes problem due to lack of space. My pet used to feel very uncomfortable sometimes. I was really very worried about him and I was confused about the solutions. Then I came across this product and I bought it for my pet. I was amazed to find the change in the mature of my pet. Now, he comfortably sits there and can be relaxed. It is a cool place to be calm and peaceful. I am very happy to find my dog so calm

  5. November 15, 2011 at 8:24 AM

    Haha, I love these beds. Pearl had a traditional pillow type dog bed but destroyed it pretty quickly. I think she would love a bean bag bed, but it wouldn’t be long until the bean bag beans were all over my house, so she will have to make due with blankets without stuffing for the time being.

  6. November 15, 2011 at 9:06 AM

    I love the sofa beds but I have a feeling even if we bought one of these for our dog, she would still prefer to lay on our couch. 😛 Actually, years ago we were looking to buy a bean bag chair for ourselves – I can’t remember why – but we couldn’t find one anywhere. We should have looked in a pet store, apparently!

  7. November 15, 2011 at 10:52 AM

    Those are too funny – Cali has several beds (just the normal dog bed types!) but she rarely uses them – the cats have taken them over! One bed that we bought her has been a lifesaver – she’s a HOT dog most of the time, and we bought her the K&H Cool Bed II – it has a soft membrane and you fill it with water (like a waterbed) and she loves it during the summer! She used to have a bed that had the bolsters around 3 sides – she likes to prop her head on a pillow 🙂 We are always tripping over dog beds in our house!

  8. November 15, 2011 at 11:59 AM

    I needed that one with the stairs when I was a kid… perhaps then I wouldn’t have ended up picking the puppy up to sleep in my bed over the explicit instructions of my mom not to do so. 🙂

    We have a bean bag in the basement and Bella absolutely loves it.

  9. November 15, 2011 at 4:21 PM

    I love the first dog bed pictured. The dog is resting comfortably beside his owner, but is not sharing the bed with him. The dog has his own bed level with his owner. Too cool.

    • Mel
      November 15, 2011 at 7:02 PM

      OMG! I almost shared this one on my blog! Can you believe it?
      Thanks Debbie!

  10. November 15, 2011 at 10:29 PM

    I would love to get each dog their own bed, but then I’d have to buy a bigger house to have the beds!! I like the Princess car, it reminds me of Fiona. Though the first one, with the “nightstand” next to bed is pretty cool as well. Though I wonder if they would stop snuggling with me if I got it for them. 🙂

  11. Three-Little-Pitties
    November 16, 2011 at 10:25 AM

    Wow, you found some great stuff! The Premier Sofa and the Hollywood Sofa are decadent but probably doable in many households, especially if they match owners furniture.

    The Murphy dog bed is a great idea except if we had one it would probably always be open!
    Here’s another dog bed idea. Kennel beds that double as human furniture. Check these out and tell me what you think. There are three cool ones on the top half of the page.

    http://www.three-little-pitties.com/indoor-dog-kennels.html

  12. November 17, 2011 at 10:58 PM

    That doggie bunk bed is pretty sweet!

    • Mel
      November 18, 2011 at 6:06 AM

      Karen – You need to find the DIY version of that bed!

  13. BECKY WHITNEY
    August 13, 2012 at 2:23 AM

    USED TO HAVE A PRINCESS ONE FOR MY YORKIE, IT WAS LIKE A TENT WITH 3 SIDES AND LACE IN FRONT, SHE WOULD GO INSIDE AND LAY ON THE SOFT BED, IT WAS HER SAFE PLACE, WHEN SHE WAS IN THERE NOBODY COULD GET HER. FOR SLEEPING ALL 4 OF MY GIRLS SLEEP IN OUR SLEEP NUMBER BED WITH ME

  14. April 18, 2013 at 12:33 AM

    Fabulous….. I love the idea of the dog’s bed being level with your own, so that you can stroke them during the night.
    Thank you for researching it so well. It’s a good read.
    x

  15. Karen Portish
    April 23, 2013 at 10:02 AM

    Although we do have nice little doggie beds with matching blankets for our Min-Pins, Precious and Scrappy, they rarely ever use them. They sleep in our bed with us, and are such lap-dogs when it comes to the couch!

    • Mel
      April 23, 2013 at 10:32 PM

      LOL! Mine prefer their beds to mine. I think they get too hot with me. 🙂

  16. Mary
    May 14, 2014 at 6:06 PM

    I am looking to buy the first one pictured but i cant find where to buy it at!!! Can you help me?!

  17. Kay robertson
    June 7, 2014 at 8:44 PM

    I have been trying to find who to contact to purchase the 1st bed you have shown. Do you know who sells these? Please respond to kay9grl@gmail.com
    Thank you

    • Mel
      June 8, 2014 at 7:26 AM

      I am sorry Kay, I do not. I wish I did.

    • September 9, 2015 at 9:36 AM

      Kay, I have been scavenging the internet to find this bed also. Unfortunately I have had no luck. I will keep your email address and if I find it, I will let you know. Mine is, dlsgrig@pa.net, if by chance you happen to locate it….THANKS!!!

  18. fareba
    June 24, 2015 at 1:09 PM

    where to buy nice bed (like sofa) in Ontario Canada?

    • Mel
      June 25, 2015 at 11:39 PM

      I’m sorry, but I have no idea.

  19. April 8, 2016 at 2:18 PM

    Anyone know who makes the bed picture in the top photo?

    • Mel
      April 13, 2016 at 6:16 AM

      I wish. I’ve been looking forever. Maybe you could commission someone to make one like it?

  20. Patti
    April 28, 2016 at 12:59 AM

    I had one of the beds with the stairs that is level with my bed. I bought it from Orvis, years ago when my pups were seniors. Unfortunately, I got rid of it when I lost my pups. Now I have 6 more and wish I still had the bed. Orvis no longer carries these beds. I would also be interested is someone happens to find another like it.

  21. Karen Chervinskis
    June 6, 2016 at 10:58 AM

    How do I find where these dog beds can be purchased?

    • Mel
      June 7, 2016 at 10:22 PM

      I wish I knew Karen. Where possible, I linked to the site via the picture (i.e., if you click on the picture it takes you to the site where they are sold). Some, like the captain’s bed, were part of a contest and not widely made.

  22. Diana Sheppard
    January 17, 2017 at 8:56 AM

    I bought a futon for my boys.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment