Home > Animal Rescue, Daisy, Dog Behavior, Pet Adoption, Photos, Puppy Mills > A Letter to Daisy – My Thanksgiving Gift

A Letter to Daisy – My Thanksgiving Gift

November 19, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

My dear sweet Daisy.

Here we are about to enjoy another Thanksgiving together and I can hardly believe it.

I can’t believe it has been five years since you first came to live with me – first as my foster dog and then as my very own. Where did the time go?

I remember the day I first brought you home and how terrified you were getting out of the car, through the kitchen doorway and across that darn slippery wood kitchen floor. Do you remember how you used to run as soon as you hit that wood floor because it scared you so?

I remember those first few days and how you hid in your kennel, afraid to leave it for fear of what might be outside it’s safe confines. Do you remember how I used to sit on the floor outside your kennel and toss you treats in hopes that you would learn to trust me?

Aspen was your rock then. She was the confident dog who knew what to do around humans. She knew the couch was a safe place and you felt safe there too… as long as she was there. You would lie next to her on that couch with your head on her body and sleep so deeply, only leaving her when I got up to go into the kitchen or bathroom.

I didn’t know how much you had come to rely on Aspen until the first and only time I left you in your kennel and latched its door. Oh how you must have panicked. The teeth marks on the top and sides told me how scared you had been. I never shut that kennel door again did I?

Aspen and Daisy

Do you remember how you used to panic when coming in from outside? Those darn doorways have always been a bit of a problem for you. So many times I would hide behind the door and let Aspen lead you inside, but often there were times when something would spook you and you would back away from the door. Aspen and I would come back outside and try to lead you inside again – over and over again, until you felt safe.

Do you remember that time it was pouring out and you were too scared to come in? It wasn’t until I put your harness on that I was able to lead you back inside. I smile when I think of that crazy night now. How silly we must have looked.

I still remember the first time you saw a lake. You were  so scared. Get your feet wet? No way! I gently encouraged you until you let your toes touch the water. Who could have guessed then that you would come to love water so? No longer afraid, you now jump in as if it’s the best thing since sliced bread. And to you, it is just that.

I look back now and can hardly believe that it has been five years. You’re nine years old now, and oh how much you have grown.

Jasper and Daisy

I swore when I adopted you that I would give you the very best life possible. Sitting in a cage having puppies over and over again was a thing of the past. I wanted you to have every opportunity to enjoy all the things most dogs do – long walks at the park, swimming in a lake, playing with other dogs, cuddles and belly rubs, a chance to hang your head out the car window and enjoy the breeze, the pleasure of eating the occasional ice cream cone from Dairy Queen. I wanted you to live a life free of fear. I wanted you to feel true happiness and joy. I wanted you to be a dog. Not a scared, muddled mess of fear hiding away in a kennel for the rest of your life.

I am so proud of you my girl. You have accomplished all of this and more. You experience joy. You are not afraid to explore and try new things. You love most people and approach them on your own.You aren’t confident 100% of the time, but who cares? You are who you are and I love you just the way you are, here and now.

Happy Gotcha Day my girl.

I could not have ever guessed that the dog I offered to foster that day five years ago would bring such joy to my life. You have truly found your Inner Lab.

  1. Pam Prince
    November 19, 2012 at 10:36 PM

    Beautiful story! Thank you!

  2. Keri
    November 19, 2012 at 10:37 PM

    What a gorgeous photo and such a sweet letter to your sweet girl! Happy Gotcha Day Anniversary!

  3. November 19, 2012 at 10:44 PM

    What a lovely story.

  4. To Shea
    November 19, 2012 at 10:57 PM

    You wrote a beautiful letter to Daisy….I have tears in my eyes now….It was very touching…:-)
    Now Penny is wondering why I have tears….She always knows….:-)
    i Loved your Letter Mel!!!
    Alex and Penny

    • Mel
      November 27, 2012 at 9:01 PM

      Thanks Alex and Penny. Daisy kind of gets me emotional. I had tears in my eyes as I was writing it. That Penny is one special girl too. 🙂

  5. jan
    November 19, 2012 at 11:09 PM

    What a beautiful tribute to your great dog. [sniff]

  6. November 19, 2012 at 11:26 PM

    Thank you SO much for this!! We are experiencing the joys of watching our own ‘Daisy’ unfold, and read your post with tears – the tears of knowing what they’d both been through, and of seeing how far they’ve come. After the first ‘dogless’ period of my life, a wrenching 6 months, Lovie came to us a terrified, abused, starved and torn up 9 month old pup – the buffer between children and the violence that often erupted in her human family. She never really got to be a pup… she was too busy taking care of her little kids, and protecting herself. She’s been with us for 2 months now and has fully stepped into her joyful self. She fills our house with much missed laughter and truly is forgiveness personified. People say that we saved her but we know that she saved us. So thank you. Thank you for loving Daisy and sharing her story.

  7. November 19, 2012 at 11:52 PM

    Happy Gotcha day Daisy! So glad you found your forever home and are so blessed with Mel being the one to care for you. Thank you so much for trusting her every little inch. I know how hard it is to trust, but look at you now!! You deserve all the love you can get in your new life. Thank you for also being part of mine. It has been a privilege and honor to know such a brave and beautiful dog. That photo was made for you!

  8. November 20, 2012 at 12:07 AM

    I’m all choked up with tears running down my cheeks. That is such a beautiful story. I wish there were more people like you in the world.

  9. November 20, 2012 at 12:21 AM

    Lucky Daisy. Beautiful letter. One heart opens another. Happy Thanksgiving to you both!

  10. November 20, 2012 at 4:34 AM

    Happy Gotcha Day to both you and Daisy. Such a lovely story… gotta get some more tissues.

    • Mel
      November 20, 2012 at 6:38 AM

      Sorry Sue! I was crying when I wrote it. Kind of makes me emotional ya know?

  11. November 20, 2012 at 6:03 AM

    Awwww, Mel this was beautiful! Happy Gotcha Day Daisy!
    That last picture is just gorgeous!

    • Mel
      November 20, 2012 at 6:37 AM

      Thanks Jen. It’s one of my favorite photos of Daisy swimming. The lighting was awesome that night.

  12. November 20, 2012 at 7:01 AM

    Oh, what a wonderful story! I have tears in my eyes. This spells out all the reasons that rescuing a dog is the right thing to do. I hope I get to experience that some day, and this story will make everyone want to do it! I’m sure Daisy is as thankful as you are too. 🙂
    The photos show what a wonderful life you have given her.

  13. November 20, 2012 at 7:18 AM

    This is such a beautiful heartfelt post. You and Daisy are so lucky to have each other.

  14. November 20, 2012 at 9:08 AM

    I’m so glad I didn’t put my make up on before reading this. Beautiful.

  15. November 20, 2012 at 10:51 AM

    Happy Gotcha Day to both you and Daisy. How much you both have changed in five years, I can only imagine. I am so glad you said yes when Daisy came along. I am so glad you have each other.

  16. November 20, 2012 at 10:52 AM

    beautiful (:
    she is lucky to have found such a wonderful home.
    god bless!

  17. November 20, 2012 at 2:23 PM

    What a lovely letter! I would never have known, looking at the happy dog I see in your pictures, that Daisy had such a sad traumatic past, and so many MANY fears. You’ve both done a magnificent job. Happy gotcha day, Daisy! Happy thanksgiving, Mel X

  18. November 20, 2012 at 6:48 PM

    this was soooooooooooo beautiful it made me cry!!! HAPPY, HAPPY GOTCHA DAY DAISY!

  19. November 20, 2012 at 7:56 PM

    That is so sweet. I’m so happy you found each other! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving! Our pups give us so much to be thankful for, don’t they??

  20. November 21, 2012 at 5:41 AM

    Heartwarming!

  21. November 21, 2012 at 10:47 AM

    What a beautiful letter, Mel, it’s raining on my face. 🙂

  22. November 22, 2012 at 9:41 AM

    Great post. Love the last photo. Beautiful labbie girl. Rescue dogs can’t be beat. (:

  23. Elaine W
    November 25, 2012 at 7:11 AM

    Beautiful, heartfelt, tears of joy, knowing how easily one little change in our lives can change another. Our Thanksgiving story…Kansas in July
    Our Sheltie boys, Kobe and Rodeo both rescues with different stories, we walked every AM and PM to teach Rodeo we were OK. We noticed a black lab in a pen near our home. VERY HOT,111* she barked as we walked past. Several days, always the same…then one day I could hear her softly woof…..wooof….for several minutes. The sound was different. I walked over to her yard and talked with her. Alone, 10 x10 pen, she had dug a 12” deep pit all along her front wire for cool in the dirt. She was estatic to see someone. This beauty was left in a pen, had water, food, igloo house and shade but nothing else and had lived this way for over 5 years. Heat, Cold, Storms, Tornadoes even. A long story…BUT her owners gave me permission to walk her with the boys. I gave them the excuse that I needed the exercise. It evolved to her coming over when she had a hard time breathing, and a bad limp in her hips. I felt she could no longer walk far. Baby cakes would spend hours during the day, in our family room just being a part of our family. She went home every afternoon back to her pen for the night. The owners had no idea it wasn’t a good environment for this lady, “why would I bother, but another member of their family and I had a plan if we could only convince them she needed to be out of the pen into a real home. FINALLY the day before Thanksgiving, A new home for Baby Cakes. She is now the only pet with a real grandma to call her own. They are the talk of the neighborhood…”where did you get the Horse?” was one..LOL and her li’l gramma is very tiny and they make quite a pair.
    This week, She is going to the vet for heart worm therapy and then surgery for a torn ligament. BUT had someone not noticed…she would still be in the pen just waiting…waiting…waiting. Yes we think everyone has a Happy Thanksgiving this year. My heart is full knowing that we did the right thing and kept on trying, and now two hearts will be happy for a few more years. Little did I know that, that, gramma needed someone too!
    HAPPY THANKSGIVING INDEED!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment