The Top 15 Blog Posts of 2015

December 30, 2015 Leave a comment Go to comments

MP900255434

It’s become an annual tradition for me to end the year by sharing those blog posts I thought were most touching, interesting, or emotionally powerful throughout the past year. This year I have decided not to limit my selection to just blog posts. Among those included in my list are articles, Craigslist postings and other pieces.

The hardest part was whittling down my list. You may not have the same ones on your list, but I hope you will find them worth reading and sharing.

Do you have one that you want to share? Feel free to share!

  1. Heartfelt Open Letter To Dog Owner On Craigslist Moved Me To Tears – This powerful post is actually a posting on Craigslist. It is an adopted dog owner’s letter to the original owner of a stray dog, named Laurel, who showed up outside an animal shelter one day.

  2. Tails: Let’s focus on getting them back home, not adopted. – This piece is a particularly important one to me. Too many lost dogs are ending up in our shelters as strays. We need to do a better job trying to reunite them with their owners.

  3. Rescue Decisions: The Dog, or the Community? – Sara Reusche is an amazing dog trainer and a great writer. Her blogs posts are relevant, thought-provoking and well written. This one is no different. Borderline dogs are something we should all be talking about.

  4. 10 Things To Do If Your Adult Dog Bites – This post was written by my friend, Nancy Freedman-Smith, who is a dog trainer and a wonderful writer. This time of year is particularly hard for dog trainers because it is when people start calling them asking for help after their dog bit a child or adult or another dog over the holidays. This piece may help them as the grapple with what most likely was a preventable situation.

  5. 4 Things Dog Trainers DON’T Do – This is a great piece by Laurie Luck. I first shared this on my Facebook page back in June of this year, but it is worth sharing again. I can vouch for the 4 things on her list.

  6. I Rejected The Perfect Pet Adoption Family For The Wrong Reasons – This post was penned by Julie LeRoy in place of Cuda the Pit Bull, who passed away earlier this year. I thought it had a powerful message for those of us in animal rescue. it certainly gave me food for thought.

  7. You Can Survive Burnout: How To Regroup When Your Year Really Sucked – This post came in under the wire (it was just written this week), but it was so impactful that it made me want to share it far and wide.  The author is Dr. Jessica Vogelsang DVM. who is a veterinarian I really respect, not only for her brevity and wisdom, but also for her honesty and reflection. She always leaves me thinking.

  8. The Biggest Mistake Pet Owners Make at the End – This is another post penned by Dr. Jessica Vogelsang DVM. I shared this on my Facebook page earlier this year and was disappointed to see that many people had not only NOT read it, but left comments that clearly showed they hadn’t read it. We need to stop telling people that our pets will tell us when it is time, because more often than not, they won’t. Please read and share. Another great post is by Jessica Dolce, How to Talk to Your Gynecologist About Euthanasia. Definitely worth the read.

  9. What’s Important to You? – I don’t know about you, but it seems like the pet owner world has become more and more like the mommy wars over the years. What I mean is that just like the competitive mommy world where judgement about how you raise your children is at an all time high, the same is seems to be the case in the dog world. Trainer and writer, Sara Reusche, shares her perspective. I like it.

  10. Training “Calm?” – I love this piece of Denise Fenzi. Training “calm” is not something that is often discussed amongst dog owners, but maybe it should. It could go a long way towards helping the dog/human bond.

  11. Pet Safety: How Safe Are Pet Products? – Blogger Mary Haight’s, piece on pet safety was an eye-opener for me. If you think your pet is safe in a crate, in a car seat or with the toys that you buy, you may want to thin again. Very little safety testing is done on those items that you think will keep your pet safe. If you really want to learn more about the dangers that lie in the pet product industry, listen to her podcast interview with Linsey Wolko, Founder, Chairman and CEO of the Center For Pet Safety.

  12. Comforting an Old Dog – A powerful piece by Shirley Zindler highlights the important role Animal Control Officers have with the animals they capture. Sometimes just being there is the most important part.

  13. Screw Finding Your Passion –  This second to last one has nothing to do with dogs, but has a powerful message nonetheless. If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it.

  14. That thing others are shaming you for? Do it anyway. – Crystal Paine’s post on being your authentic self is one worth reading. If you have ever felt like hiding your true self or worried about criticisms by others about how you look or how you speak or write, then this piece is worth reading.

  1. Sue
    December 31, 2015 at 6:13 AM

    I really needed to read #7. Thanks, Mel!

    • Mel
      December 31, 2015 at 7:32 AM

      I think many people do this year Sue. It most definitely has been a tough year for you. I am so sorry. I hope your husband is doing better.

  2. December 31, 2015 at 8:20 AM

    Great list – haven’t seen many of these so I’ve bookmarked.

  3. December 31, 2015 at 9:04 AM

    That’s a great list. I will have to go back and read some of those. You always find all the best articles to share.

  4. December 31, 2015 at 9:43 AM

    Some definitely great posts there. I think the “mommy wars” are more of a blogging, pet career person thing. The average dog owner is still pretty clueless it seems to me. I’m often shocked at things people I run into ask me or tell me about when it comes to their dog.

    • Mel
      December 31, 2015 at 9:04 PM

      You make a really great point Emma. I am often shocked too.

  5. December 31, 2015 at 5:46 PM

    Thanks for sharing those, will have to check them out. all the best for 2016!

  6. January 1, 2016 at 5:19 PM

    I see a few I would like to read right now – and that is exactly my plan – thanks for sharing these. Happy New Year too!

  7. Maggie
    January 5, 2016 at 7:42 PM

    Ohmygosh! What a great list! I’m bookmarking this to read the ones I haven’t yet encountered. Thanks for being so thoughtful in curating this list!

    • Mel
      January 10, 2016 at 8:54 AM

      Oh good! Thanks Maggie. I am so glad you liked the list! I hope you enjoy them. Let me know what you think.

  8. January 11, 2016 at 8:59 AM

    Thank you for providing heartfelt smiles with this retrospective and reminders of some pawsome articles! Here’s to another great year of shared posts for and from our terrific community.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment