Home > Miscellaneous > What does a dog blogger do on Memorial Day?

What does a dog blogger do on Memorial Day?


Fort Snelling, Minnesota

What does a dog blogger do when the subject of their blog is dogs and the holiday in they find themselves is Memorial Day?

I struggled with this one all day today. Not because I didn’t have anything to say, but because I didn’t want what I said to sound trite or without reverence. I also didn’t want to feel like I was doing some half-hearted, obligatory post about dogs in war without acknowledging the true sacrifices of our military men and women.

The truth is I have never faced an enemy in battle. I have never been the wife or mother or child waiting at home for my loved one to return from war. I have never even visited a military grave site (I always felt that I would be intruding on a place of reverence, one meant for those who have lost a loved one in war).

Yes. I have experienced hardship in my life, but my hardship did not involve physical discomfort, emotional pain or fear like those who have fought in war.

I have had loss, but unlike most of our military men and women, I was able to grieve, surrounded by family and friends, and I was allowed to take as much time as I needed. I did not have to quash my pain and tears and head out to battle the next day. I did not have to continue fighting after losing a best friend. I did not have to feel the guilt and the pain so many of our men and women feel in times of war.

I have also sacrificed, but my sacrifices did not include missing the birth of a child, being away from my loved ones for a year or more, missing a parent’s death, telling a child that I cannot come home for a LONG time. Yet those who serve in our military do this every single day.

Honestly, I know nothing of what it is like to be a veteran or a soldier serving in a war. I know nothing of life as a military spouse or child. I know nothing of the loss a parent feels when their son or daughter is lost in battle.

I only know that honoring those who have sacrificed so much is the right thing to do on this Memorial Day. It might not be much but it is the very least I can do.

To all those who have served and continue to serve.

Thank You.

To those who have returned.

Welcome home.

To our dogs of war.

Good job.

  1. May 28, 2012 at 4:05 PM

    It is always hard to know what to say on days like these. Every year on Remembrance Day I struggle. We are so lucky in that war has always been a far away thing for us. Something done elsewhere. It’s all caught up in politics and idealism that we often gloss over the fact there are human beings out there killing and being killed, just so others can live in the way they are accustomed.

    The fact we don’t know the real sufferings of war shows just how good of a job these soldiers are doing. I think this is a lovely tribute.

    • Mel
      May 28, 2012 at 6:24 PM

      I agree Kristine. I struggled with it too (as you an see). You said it so much better than I. Thank you.

  2. May 28, 2012 at 5:51 PM

    You may not “know”, Mel, but it’s clear you appreciate and empathize. Thank you for saying this – so many of us share the same thoughts and feelings. Today we remember and honor, in our humble way.

    • Mel
      May 28, 2012 at 6:23 PM

      Thank you Kim. I know so many of my fellow bloggers feel the same things and I am sure, like me, they struggled with what to write.

  3. May 28, 2012 at 5:56 PM

    That was beautiful, it made me tear up. Some of the longest months of my life were when my nephew was in Iraq and then Afghanistan. I also was privileged enough to spent three (only three days) on the USS Lincoln and the isolation was intense. I gave me a tiny taste of what they go through. They are amazing and I thank you for the beautiful post.

    • Mel
      May 28, 2012 at 6:22 PM

      Oh wow Jodi. Thank you. How did you get the chance to spend 3 days on the USS Lincoln? I was going to guess Tiger Cruise, but then I realized that you said “alone”. I hope your nephew is back safe and sound. I can only imagine the worry you and your family felt. I have two cousins who’s sons have just recently joined – 1 the Marines and 1 the Reserves, but this is really the first time I will know somebody going to war. Kind of scares me since both these boys are so special – at least to our family.

      • May 28, 2012 at 6:47 PM

        Mel you would be right, it was a Tiger Cruise, I have two nephews, one did the Iraq/Afghanistan tours (Iraq via the Navy and Afghanistan via the Army National Guard) my other nephew was deployed via cruise. When they came back from Hong Kong I flew out with his dad to meet the ship and we rode back to Everett, the ship’s home port. While I had my nephew and his dad, outside communication is limited. It is wonky e-mails and pay phones in a hall with a bunch of other people. No cells phones work in the middle of the Pacific! LOL I was grateful to turn my phone on the third day and see service.

        I will pray for your cousin’s sons and hope they never have to deploy for war. Bless them and thank them for me for their service to our country.

      • Mel
        May 28, 2012 at 7:33 PM

        How very cool you got to do a Tiger Cruise! I have heard it is a little like being out in the middle of nowhere (no pun intended) when it comes to cell service. What an opportunity though. My friend’s dad did it with her husband when he was in the Navy and he loved it.

  4. Jen
    May 28, 2012 at 6:11 PM

    I think you did an awesome job as a dog blogger on this post!
    I spent hours staring at my computer the other night, writing, deleting, writing, it was a viscous cycle. I just couldn’t find the right words for my Memorial Day post, so I didn’t really do one., You, obviously found excellent words:)
    Happy Memorial Day!

    • Mel
      May 28, 2012 at 6:19 PM

      Oh Jen. I did the same thing. I even found a great video of dogs and their handlers that I wanted to share, but somehow just recognizing the dogs didn’t seem quite what I wanted to do. Thank you for your kind comments.
      BTW – I also wrote and deleted many times. 🙂
      Happy Memorial Day!

  5. May 28, 2012 at 6:42 PM

    I’m thinking that should have read “I also was privileged enough to HAVE spent” LOL fingers aren’t as fast as the mind.

    • Mel
      May 28, 2012 at 7:34 PM

      LOL. I knew what you meant. 🙂

  6. Kim
    May 28, 2012 at 8:02 PM

    Great post. I was struggling with what to say. Today we took a ride to the VFW Cemetery and I held my little Gunner tight and watched the soldiers and one dog saluting. I came home and immediately got involved in Puppy Rescue Mission and thought, I can’t fight for our country, but I sure can support the two things I love, our Military and Animals.

    • Mel
      May 28, 2012 at 9:05 PM

      Wow Kim. That is so cool. I love that you did that. Now I wish I has done that. You are right. Support our military and animals. Love it.

  7. May 28, 2012 at 10:20 PM

    perfectly pawed….

    • Mel
      May 28, 2012 at 10:47 PM

      Thank you Scrappy.

  8. May 29, 2012 at 5:41 AM

    Nice job, Mel. I chose not to write a Memorial Day post because I didn’t feel I had anything to say that would be helpful to people who endure true suffering related to war. You wrote a very eloquent post.

    • Mel
      May 29, 2012 at 6:15 AM

      Thank you Pamela. I have often opted out because I felt like I had nothing to say that would be helpful either, but I just felt like I couldn’t let this day go past without recognizing those who are sacrificing when I am not.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment