Home > Pet Ponderings > What question would you ask your dog if you could?

What question would you ask your dog if you could?


Jasper and CupcakeKnowing and understanding dog body language can be so helpful in understanding your dog and the other dogs you encounter. Whether it be a play bow, a look away, or a raised paw; what a dog does and how it moves tells us something about how they are feeling.

But sometimes, I wish I could ask them a question that can’t always be answered with dog body language, like …

How is your day going?

Do you want to just stay home and cuddle?

What could I do to make you feel better?

Are you in pain?

Do you prefer to walk here? Or, there?

Having one sided-conversations with my dogs is nice, but not helpful for them or me. Being able to ask questions and interact with them would be so much easier than guessing what they want or think.

If only I had a magic lamp with a genie in it huh? But then again, I would probably be limited to asking only one question (or maybe, three). That’s still not a full conversation. I wonder what I would ask my dogs if I could only ask them one question to ask them? Hmmmm…. Maybe “Do I make you happy? Or, “What do I do that makes you uncomfortable?” Or, “What could I do to make your life even better?”

Do you know what one question you would ask your dog(s) if you had the chance?

  1. October 5, 2015 at 7:26 AM

    “Why did you pick me; a man with a background of cats and rabbits; a man with no experience of dogs except for one (much like you) that bit me a long time ago …..as your friend when we met at the Humane Society?”

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:42 AM

      Maybe because that man has a huge heart and he could detect it. 🙂

  2. October 5, 2015 at 8:17 AM

    Are you truly happy. That’s all that mom wants to know here at the Hotel Thompson with all of us anipals. Are we happy. And I can tell her in oinks and snorts – YES. XOXO – Bacon

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:43 AM

      That’s a great question.

  3. Charlotte Post
    October 5, 2015 at 8:35 AM

    What can we humans do to understand canine communication better?

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:43 AM

      Great question! I would love to get the answer to that one.

  4. October 5, 2015 at 9:02 AM

    That’s a tough one. Maybe…Do you love our traveling life?

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:43 AM

      I suspect the answer would be Yes. They have a very enriched life.

  5. cocoabean2225
    October 5, 2015 at 10:17 AM

    Serious question, do you know how very much we love you?? Funny question, who’s your favorite??

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:44 AM

      Oh I am sure they could not pick a favorite. 😉

  6. October 5, 2015 at 11:01 AM

    There are so many questions, but the first one Mom would ask is to Bailie…why do you insist on shredding your bed?

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:44 AM

      Yes! Why do they do that anyway? Nesting?

  7. October 5, 2015 at 11:13 AM

    Gosh, there are so many questions, I’m sure Sam would (continue) to look at me like I’m speaking Yugoslavian at the sheer volume. We just muddle through as best we can and I get surprised all the time at his responses to the spoken word. Never a dull minute. 🙂

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:45 AM

      Nope. Never one here either. 🙂

  8. October 5, 2015 at 12:33 PM

    Why do you go NUTS at the beach when you’re so well behaved everywhere else?

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:45 AM

      Pure joy? I would love to hear the answer to that one.

      • October 6, 2015 at 11:50 AM

        Joy…and the desire to murder crabs and seagulls?
        She caught a crab once, and shook it, and the shell flew off and the crab went flying, in two pieces, in opposite directions. Gulp. I wouldn’t have liked to be a crab that day.
        Love her anyway. 🙂

  9. jan
    October 5, 2015 at 12:55 PM

    Why are you attracted to the most disgusting smells?

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:45 AM

      Yes!!!! And why do they roll in it???

  10. October 5, 2015 at 6:43 PM

    If I only had one question, I would ask Hailey what I could do to help her be an off leash dog. I ask them questions all the time but don’t always get clear answers!

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:46 AM

      I wonder what she would say? Great question.

  11. October 5, 2015 at 6:46 PM

    I think I would ask them to please use the toilet so I didn’t have to walk them in hurricane rain!

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:41 AM

      Now THAT would be a nice!

  12. October 5, 2015 at 8:33 PM

    I would ask him who he’s going to vote for for President in 2016 @ PetsVoteToo.com!

    • Mel
      October 6, 2015 at 6:41 AM

      LOL! Totally made me laugh.

  13. October 6, 2015 at 11:46 PM

    What can I do to make your life better? I ask my pets, and my pet clients, that every day. Through my canine massage treatments I can tell a lot about a pup… like if they’re in pain, where they hurt, what they enjoy, and what could be the cause of their pain and discomfort. Check out my website for more info at http://www.wellpup.com

    • Mel
      October 7, 2015 at 6:20 AM

      Great question.

  14. October 7, 2015 at 1:42 AM

    Why do you take the longest time to take care of business when I have the least time available?

    • Mel
      October 7, 2015 at 6:19 AM

      Yes!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

