Home > Black and White Sunday Blog Hop, Health Care - Dogs, Pet Ponderings, Photos > Black and White Sunday #143 – Hurricane Katrina and Indy

Black and White Sunday #143 – Hurricane Katrina and Indy


For me, Hurricane Katrina and my late dog Indy will be indelibly linked in my mind forever. While it was a disaster of epic proportions for the United States, and a deadly and devastating hurricane for the people of Louisiana and Mississippi, it was also the beginning of the end of life for my dog Indy.

Evacuations were going on in New Orleans. It was all over the news. Like everyone else, I was glued to the news, watching the city and state leaders plead for people to leave the city and shorelines.

I was also focused on getting my dog Indy into the vet. It was not a particularly memorable day that day I brought her in. I think it might have been beautiful and sunny, but I am not completely sure. I brought her in, she got her rabies, distemper and bordatella vaccinations. I bought her a treat and we went home. That’s it.

It was the next day that when it began. Indy had a seizure. I rushed her to the vet, where she had another one. They recommended we rush her to the emergency vet clinic to be assessed, because of course, it was a Sunday and the vet closed after noon. My mother came with me to the emergency vet. We sat in the waiting room for hours as they assessed Indy and treated other patients. The television was on CNN in the waiting room, where coverage of Katrina evacuations were in full swing. We watched the flow of vehicles leaving the city using all lanes of the highway to get out. It was something we had never seen before.

Indy ended up spending the night, but when she came home, the seizures continued, at first once a month, then once every couple of weeks, then once a week. Throughout it all, was the horror of what happened in New Orleans, on the nightly news. It was an epic tragedy playing out on our television screens, but a very real traumatic event for those living there. We might’ve been going through our own tragedy at home, but what the people of New Orleans (an their pets and children) suffered was so much greater. I cannot forget it.

In April of 2006, disaster recovery was in full swing. The devastation left behind by hurricane Katrina was undeniable then, the population of New Orleans had been cut in half, whole parishes were destroyed,and we said goodbye to Indy, who by then was having seizures every few days.

It’s hard to believe it has been 10 years since all that happened. Time has a way of healing all wounds, but also etching moments and events in your mind forever, like Hurricane Katrina and Indy.

Indy

Indy 2

My thanks to our hosts for this blog hop Dachshund Nola and Sugar The Golden Retriever.

Unfortunately, WordPress.com doesn’t allow Java script so I can’t provide a direct link to the linky, but you can join here.

  1. August 23, 2015 at 8:13 AM

    It#s still in my mind too… I can’t believe that it was 10 years ago… and that this evil storm has the same name like me :o(

  2. fredrieka
    August 23, 2015 at 8:17 AM

    sad, were the seizures do to the vaccines ? We are still grieving Cissy and Bonnie one in May the other in June both senior pawsisters, I am still learning how to be the only dog.

  3. August 23, 2015 at 8:59 AM

    We had a similar family hospitalization during hurricane Katrina and similarly associated memories. Luckily, my daughter survived. I’m sorry that Indy did not.

  4. Deb Miner
    August 23, 2015 at 9:08 AM

    Mine are due for vaccines. From what I read, don’t do rabies with anything else. I definitely won’t . Even though it will cost me two visits, I will do them separately. Sorry for your dog Indy! I now have two Katrina dogs plus my other two sweet guys. All doing well. And, hope that continues. Always wonder how my two Katrina girls survived. Luckily their owner saved them even though it had to be hard to give them up. 🐶

    • Patti
      August 23, 2015 at 5:23 PM

      I have to agree with you, Deb, about NOT doing the vaccines together. Rabies is enough and unless it was mandatory for boarding or day-care, I wouldn’t do ANY other vaccines. Heartworm testing and preventative is far more important. Our vet makes Bordetella (kennel cough) vaccine mandatory for day-care and they had a huge outbreak in the kennels last month. I’ve worked for a vet and have seen too many of these cases. I have my dog’s Distemper titer done every 3 years and she still shows high immunity to this disease. She’s 6 and has only had the puppy Distemper. Cats are another pet that are over-vaccinated! If they’re indoor only cats, then kitten series is all they most likely need for the rese of their lives. Unfortunately I can’t make promises or guarantees – just note my observations and experiences with these vaccines.

      • Mel
        August 30, 2015 at 9:08 PM

        Because we go to a dog park, we do the vaccinations (including rabies). I just spread them out now.
        My cat never had any vaccinations except when I first got him and he lived to be 19. I am good with that, but he also lived as n indoor cat. Less likelihood he would be exposed to something too. 🙂

  5. August 23, 2015 at 9:52 AM

    I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your Indy. It is interesting how we can pair items good and bad together. For me grad school started on 9-11, so my whole grad school experience is forever linked to that tragedy, even as a Canadian. Wishing you peaceful memories of Indy.

  6. August 23, 2015 at 12:37 PM

    My mom has the same kind of links in her brain. So sorry about Indy, what a gorgeous pup! I was born on 9-11 just in 2006, so it is sometimes hard to celebrate my birthday with the world wanting to be sad.

  7. DebsSweet
    August 23, 2015 at 5:35 PM

    Hey sweet Mel – Your emotions were all over the place that year – bless your heart! For as long as I can remember I have silently advocated against vaccines. My three are 13, 10 and 10 and only get a rabies vaccination because it is the law here. Were you ever told why Indy was having the seizures? We never forget when a part of our heart passes away : (

    • Mel
      August 30, 2015 at 9:08 PM

      I am not opposed to vaccines, but I do think spreading them out is best. I think little dogs are even more at risk than larger dogs, so I completely understand why you do not do any more than rabies on yours.

  8. Patti Lee
    August 23, 2015 at 5:35 PM

    Such a sad story about your baby Indy and my heart breaks for you. Pets are so over-vaccinated and if they are older or health compromised they shouldn’t even get vaccines. I’ve worked for vets for many years and have seen far too many stories like yours. I wouldn’t make guarantees or promises that having had all the vaccines given at once (which is far too powerful for many dogs and cats), is what happened to Indy, but it sure seems something went terribly wrong. Distemper titers can be done (instead of the vaccine) every 3 years to see if the vaccine is still present in their system. My dog’ immunity is so strong that she is 6 years now and has only had a Distemper vaccine once as a puppy. Indy was such a beautiful girl…..her pawprints will live forever in your heart.

    • Mel
      August 30, 2015 at 9:07 PM

      I completely believe it was the rabies vaccine + the shot combo that made Indy ill. I spread my dog’s vaccinations out now.

  9. Dolly the Doxie
    August 23, 2015 at 7:34 PM

    We said in our post from Saturday that it was a disaster that everyone can remember where they were at. We are so sorry that you have an even more difficult association with the disaster. But like so many others that lost their pets that day. Love Dolly

    • Mel
      August 30, 2015 at 9:06 PM

      So very true. You are exactly right. At least my dog was able to die while in my arms. So many people lost their dogs in Katrina and never found out what happened to them. I cannot imagine the pain.

  10. August 23, 2015 at 7:38 PM

    What a sad story! I’m so sorry. 😦

    • Mel
      August 30, 2015 at 9:05 PM

      Thank you. I think what happened to Roxanne’s Lily is what happened to my Indy. Rabies vaccine.

  11. August 23, 2015 at 7:45 PM

    Condolences for your loss. May all the fond happy memories and moments you all shared with indy comfort you all soon.

    • Mel
      August 30, 2015 at 9:04 PM

      Thank you.

  12. August 23, 2015 at 7:49 PM

    Aw, what sweet pics. ❤ That must have been a scary time.

    • Mel
      August 30, 2015 at 9:04 PM

      Thank you. Yes. Very scary. Not a fun time for me or the people of New Orleans. 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

