Home > Cupcake, Dog Behavior, Jasper, Maggie, Photos, Shelties > The Top 10 Reasons Shelties Are Awesome

The Top 10 Reasons Shelties Are Awesome


I saw a post this morning that made me laugh: 10 Reasons Why You Should Never Own Shetland Sheepdogs.

If you have never known or owned a Shetland Sheepdog, then you may not know how the truly wonderful they are.

To be honest, I have always been a little hesitant to tout them too much for fear that there will be a mass swelling of people looking to buy one. There aren’t many people I know who would willingly give one up once they get one. Many of the ones we get into rescue are surrendered due to hardship, illness or death. They are just that loved.

So what makes a Sheltie an awesome dog? Let me give you The Top 10 Reasons Shelties Are Awesome..

1. They are so cute that it’s almost criminal.

upload

2. Shelties are smart, and quick learners.

. Did you want my other left? #Jasper #sheltie

3. They love to play with you.

Wanna play ball? #Jasper #sheltie

4. They love to make you laugh.

We have no cheeseTrue.

5. Shelties are always happy to see you.

My little Howler #Jasper #Sheltie

upload

6. They are eager to please you.

Seriously? The camera thing again? #Cupcake #sheltie

7. Loyalty is their middle name.

A muddy mess, but very happy. #Jasper #dogpark

8. Enthusiasm is their second middle name.  

Jasper would live to be on your cover! #lifeanddogcoverstar

9. Cuddle time is a must.
Time for bed #Maggie #Daisy

10. A sleeping Sheltie will melt your heart.

Sleeping beauty #maggie #Sheltie

  1. July 23, 2015 at 8:00 AM

    Excellent reasons…I can see why you love them.

  2. July 23, 2015 at 8:00 AM

    I find most of the reasons apply to Donna. LOLOL

  3. July 23, 2015 at 9:11 AM

    Awwww! They look so sweet!

  4. July 23, 2015 at 7:47 PM

    I think you forgot ‘stinkin’ cute. Super adorable. 😉

  5. Brian Theriault
    July 23, 2015 at 8:50 PM

    I agree 100% ans Cosmo seconds the motion!!

  6. July 23, 2015 at 11:51 PM

    Some of those pics look so much like mine. It’s funny to hear you say you were hesitant to share their qualities; i completely understand – I always worried someone would want to steal mine they liked him so much. As he is getting older, the sleep pics are becoming more and more familiar. But I’ve been honored to raise and enjoy my baby for 14 1/2 years. Thanks for letting me share.

  7. donna
    July 24, 2015 at 3:01 PM

    Two of the most special souls I’ve ever known were shelties. They make the best family members ever!!

  8. July 24, 2015 at 6:00 PM

    Hey, I’m a Border Collie so I think BCs are the coolest dogs, just saying… but I do have to say you guys are very cute, those photos were superb too!

    R

  9. July 25, 2015 at 6:57 PM

    I love Shelties, but I am not sure that such a smart dog is a good match for me, as I am a dog pushover and they would likely end up running the show. They are adorable dogs!

  10. July 27, 2015 at 5:22 PM

    Harley’s BFF is a sheltie – I agree with all 10 reasons!

  11. Kim Kersting
    July 27, 2015 at 7:52 PM

    All of these applied to our Grace. Sadly today, we had to send her across the rainbow bridge.

    • Mel
      July 31, 2015 at 6:21 AM

      I am so very sorry Kim. Losing a beloved Sheltie is so devastating.

  12. Jules
    August 2, 2015 at 3:49 PM

    They ARE so cute it’s almost criminal! All the pictures were GREAT!

  13. April 24, 2016 at 6:53 PM

    Ten reasons are not enough… They are Shelties. They are clowns and this is why they are so so looked for ad never gotten because they are no longer wanted I have never know a person that had a Sheltie that did not want another or two or three they are like a good time you always want more. I have three and there is room for another but it is not going to happen … Just know they are like addiction you just can not have enough……

    • Mel
      April 27, 2016 at 7:40 PM

      Amen. ❤

  14. Cynthia McCracken
    July 23, 2016 at 5:37 AM

    I’m devastated because I lost my Sheltie four months ago and today should have been her 15th birthday. Today is hard for me, as I’m fine ing it too hRd to come to terms with her loss. Once you’ve loved. Sheltie, there’s no going back!

    • Mel
      July 24, 2016 at 7:03 AM

      I am so very sorry for your loss Cynthia. I hope the pain will ease with time. I lost my first Sheltie at 15 years old too. It’s so hard when they have been so much a part of your life. They bring such joy don’t they? I agree, once you’ve loved a Sheltie there is no going back to other breeds. ❤

  15. Ellyn
    July 24, 2016 at 5:16 PM

    I have been blessed with 5 Shelties along the way as well as a sprinkling of other breeds. Love them all, but house wouldn’t be the same without a Sheltie in it.

  16. August 9, 2016 at 6:38 PM

    I am putting up a website thesheltie.com would like to have a copy of this.

    • Mel
      August 10, 2016 at 2:58 PM

      Thanks for asking Peggy, but the pictures are all mine, so I cannot give permission to copy it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

