Home > Favorite Video Friday, Fun Stuff, Pet Sitting, Pet Videos > Favorite Video Friday – Igor’s Home Away from Home

Favorite Video Friday – Igor’s Home Away from Home


This week has been a tough one. My mother went into emergency surgery on Tuesday morning.  Thankfully, she seems to be doing better than even the surgeon expected, but she will be in the hospital for a week and then in recovery for another two to three weeks.

With her being in the hospital, someone had to take her dog, Jake, home to care for him. So, he came home with me. I am glad he and my dogs get along so well. It makes things a little easier.

He was pretty confused and unsure when I first went to pick him up at my mother’s place. He had no idea why my sister and I were there and not my mom. Luckily, his transition at my house has been easy for him and us. I credit the time he spent with me in March, when my mom went on vacation with my sister, for it being a little less stressful for him. I think he enjoys being around other Shelties.

Of course, I’ve also tried to bring a little of his home to my house so he can feel a little more comfortable. I think that’s why today’s video resonated with me. When you need to leave your dog with someone or at a boarding kennel, you want them to feel like they have a bit of you there with them. I think that’s why this week’s video resonated with me so much right now.

This Friday’s video is cute and very sweet. It features a dog, named Igor, and his loving family, who are about to go on a vacation to another country. How they make him feel a little less sad, and a little more comfortable at the kennel he is staying at, is very sweet. I hope you get a smile like I did when you see him with his new friend sharing his special space. It’s adorable.

 

Happy Friday everyone!

  1. July 17, 2015 at 7:43 AM

    I wish all the best for your mom and I hope she is back at home soon. I also hope all goes well with Jake.

  2. July 17, 2015 at 10:14 AM

    Dogs are so routinized that deviations can play havoc on them but I’m sure your own pups will help bridge that for Jake. Healing thoughts coming your way for your mom. I hope she has a quick recovery. 🙂

  3. coniatthebeach
    July 17, 2015 at 11:34 AM

    That is a great story. If only all dogs were loved as much as Igor, what a world we would have then. Blessings for your mother’s recovery. She and Jake are lucky to have you.

  4. July 17, 2015 at 3:50 PM

    Wishing your mom a speedy recovery. I’m lucky my boys have my parents to go to and vice. Versa for there dog. I’m sure it was a relief for your mom too.

  5. maryehaight
    July 17, 2015 at 5:34 PM

    Such love!! A wonderful Friday video, Mel 😉 Please get some rest, my friend…

  6. July 17, 2015 at 9:20 PM

    Hi Y’all!

    My Human never fixed anything like that for me! They do take my own food and my bed and blankies.

    Y’all come on by,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  7. July 18, 2015 at 7:17 AM

    You went above and beyond for Igor, that’s awesome! Just this week alone I’ve been contacted by people who were either in the hospital or were going to the hospital and they needed pet care so I wrote this article to help get the word out about our services here in my hometown http://www.sit-stay-play.com/pet-care-help-is-available-at-iu-health-ball-memorial-hospital/.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

