Home > Black and White Sunday Blog Hop, Miscellaneous, Photos, Wildlife > Black and White Sunday #137 – Bird on a Wire

Black and White Sunday #137 – Bird on a Wire


I know I usually feature a dog on black and white Sunday, but I couldn’t help but share this picture I took of a cardinal in my yard. He comes every spring and sings the most amazing song (you can get a taste of it here). He is one of the things I most look forward to hearing and seeing in the spring.

Bird on a wire

My thanks to our hosts for this blog hop Dachshund Nola and Sugar The Golden Retriever.

Unfortunately, WordPress.com doesn’t allow Java script so I can’t provide a direct link to the linky, but you can join here.

  1. July 11, 2015 at 10:30 PM

    I’ve only seen 1 cardinal in my 60+years. He was out of his terrirtory. We were in Portland Oregon in winter in 1961. We had built bird feeders in school, and he came to visit. They cannot be mistaken!

    • Mel
      July 12, 2015 at 4:59 PM

      Only one? They don’t come to Oregon? I see them all summer long. I cannot imagine a summer without them. You are right, there is no mistaking them! 🙂

  2. July 12, 2015 at 6:29 AM

    LOL! Love it! Clever photo.

    • Mel
      July 12, 2015 at 5:00 PM

      Thanks! I’d been trying to catch him on film all day long!

  3. July 12, 2015 at 9:11 AM

    Beautiful picture! I am gaining a love of birds these days and cardinals are so beautiful.

    • Mel
      July 12, 2015 at 5:00 PM

      I love watching them and listening to their songs. Cardinals have such pretty songs.

  4. July 12, 2015 at 9:21 AM

    What a great shot! I love cardinals, too.

    • Mel
      July 12, 2015 at 5:01 PM

      Thanks! They’re awesome birds aren’t they?

  5. July 12, 2015 at 12:17 PM

    Don’t you love the birds!

    • Mel
      July 12, 2015 at 6:25 PM

      Yes!!! 🙂

  6. Dolly the Doxie
    July 12, 2015 at 12:35 PM

    We love the picture! We have Cardinals (my mom’s h.s. mascot) here too, when you hear the male singing it usually means he’s looking for a mate. Love Dolly

  7. July 12, 2015 at 4:39 PM

    That’s a great B&W photo! We have cardinals and I love their song too.

    • Mel
      July 12, 2015 at 6:26 PM

      They are my favorite bird. I am glad you liked the photo. 🙂

  8. July 12, 2015 at 6:17 PM

    Such a pretty picture! His crest is so nice and sharp.

    • Mel
      July 12, 2015 at 6:26 PM

      Thank you! (I’ll tell you a secret. It’s not really in black and white. It was just the way the shadows worked that day.) 🙂

  9. Judy Clancy
    July 12, 2015 at 8:43 PM

    I love cardinals at the feeder along with others birds visiting the feeder. I am very happy my 3 dogs pay no attention to them.

  10. July 13, 2015 at 11:07 AM

    Truly lovely; can’t say as I’ve ever seen one. We get Jays here in the Rocky Mountains but I’ve have never seen a Cardinal. 🙂

  11. July 13, 2015 at 4:47 PM

    Lovely shot! Can’t believe it’s not BW!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

