Home > Daisy, Pet Ponderings > You and your dog – A twinkling of a moment

You and your dog – A twinkling of a moment


In the life of a dog and owner, there are those few special moments when you just seem to connect on a deeper level.

Maybe you and your dog have had them too – while sitting next to a lazy river or while on a mountain top or out on a long hike through the woods. It’s just you, your dog and mother nature. Or, maybe it’s just the two of you at home, hanging out, reading a book, laying by the fire or snoozing on the couch.

It’s times like these that I think about Tom and Atticus sitting on a hilltop, taking in the view, and wonder if they feel it too. That meeting of the souls. That wordless connection. In that moment, it’s just you and your dog. That’s it.

It’s times like these when I wish my eyelids were a shutter on a camera and I could just click them shut and capture the moment in a picture and hold onto it forever.  The memories we keep in our head are great, but time has a way of blurring the edges and making them, and the emotions behind them, intangible and fleeting. Sometimes a picture can help to bring the moment back by drawing out the memories so they are more concrete and tangible.

One of those special moments came this past weekend. This is me and Daisy, cuddled up together on the couch, after she scooched her way up inch-by-inch, pushing her head under my hand so she could get an ear rub (she loves a good ear rub).  Talk about a soul-connecting, twinkling of an eye moment. This was it.

Luckily for me, I was able to grab my iPhone and capture it. No eyelid camera shutter needed. 🙂

I will definitely cherish this moment forever.

What about you? Have you ever had a soul-connecting moment with your dog?

Seriously. #Daisy

  1. June 22, 2015 at 10:34 PM

    Always! I love them, but I don’t always reach for the camera because I don’t want to break the spell. I woke up this morning with my 4.5 year old daughter snuggled in next to me in bed. I put my arm around her shoulders and encountered paws. My eldest dog was laying smooshed up beside her, cuddling her with one paw laying across her chest. *Love*

    • Mel
      June 22, 2015 at 11:05 PM

      OMD. That is so sweet! What a precious moment. ❤

  2. June 22, 2015 at 11:35 PM

    Those moments are so sweet and so perfect! I will always cherish the special moments with each of my dogs ❤

    • Mel
      June 24, 2015 at 6:17 AM

      Me too!

  3. June 23, 2015 at 2:23 AM

    Many! Not only is each one a heart warming experience, but it makes me feel sad for all those animals who never get (never allowed to get) comfortable enough with their owners to invite that kind of moment. I also feel sad for the owners because they have no idea just what they are missing. Our Ray’s original owners have no idea what they missed by not looking after him and loving him.

  4. June 23, 2015 at 5:31 AM

    Snuggle moments are just the best! Either pet and human or even pet and pet.

  5. fredrieka
    June 23, 2015 at 7:16 AM

    Best time is when I get all the attention

    • Mel
      June 24, 2015 at 6:14 AM

      LOL! Absolutely!

  6. June 23, 2015 at 7:58 AM

    Torrey likes to cuddle up, and look at me with her soft eyes. Or Roxy will sit next to me, then wriggle onto her back for a belly rub. And I have said more times than I can count how I wish I had a camera in my eye.

    • Mel
      June 24, 2015 at 6:14 AM

      I smiled when I saw your comment Mary. I should have known you would totally get it. 🙂
      Torrey or Roxy cuddling up to you would be awesome. What sweet girls.

  7. June 23, 2015 at 9:27 AM

    Love those perfect little moments, when the world is quiet and it’s just you and your pup.

    • Mel
      June 24, 2015 at 6:13 AM

      Amen Will and Eko. To me, that is special.

  8. June 23, 2015 at 10:04 AM

    Those special moments when you can hear them breath…priceless.

    • Mel
      June 24, 2015 at 6:12 AM

      YES. That is amazing.

  9. Debi Miner
    June 23, 2015 at 11:17 AM

    My yellow lab sleeps on the foot of my be. But, every morning, he sneaks up and cuddles — always give me a kiss and snuggles back beside me. Those are the best special moments before the start of another day. My Gusar — my best pal.

  10. Debi Miner
    June 23, 2015 at 11:18 AM

    My yellow lab sleeps on the foot of my bed. But, every morning, he sneaks up and cuddles — always give me a kiss and snuggles back beside me. Those are the best special moments before the start of another day. My Gusar — my best pal.

    • Mel
      June 24, 2015 at 6:12 AM

      Sigh. That sounds heavenly. That’ what Daisy does when we are on the couch together. Guesser sounds like a love. ❤

  11. June 23, 2015 at 1:20 PM

    Tina will come up, gently paw my knee, and wait to be invited into my lap. At 40 lbs she is almost too big for my lap–almost. She curls into my arm like an infant and rests her head on my shoulder. Whether it is for 5 minutes or an hour, she just goes limp until her littermate brother comes in the room. Then she’s gone like a flash.

    • Mel
      June 24, 2015 at 6:08 AM

      That is so sweet! These moments are so precious aren’t they?

  12. June 23, 2015 at 6:29 PM

    We don’t have now but for 45 year owned by German Shorthairs. I remember every dog I own. The memories will remain with until my death. I like read dog mysteries.

  13. June 24, 2015 at 4:43 AM

    Reblogged this on the animal communicators.

    • Mel
      June 24, 2015 at 6:04 AM

      Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  14. June 24, 2015 at 5:34 PM

    I always wish I had an invisible camera so that I could get the perfect look without mine seeing the soul-snatching camera! LOL! They always looks away.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

