Home > Cupcake, Pet Ponderings, Photos > What is the picture you wished you had taken?

What is the picture you wished you had taken?


I love sunsets on the water #minnesotaYesterday, while driving to work, I noticed all the dark storm clouds hanging over the Minneapolis skyline. They were quite quite spectacular looking, all dark drays and blues and blacks. It could have been a scene from some scary movie. All that was needed was lightning to strike one of the towering bank buildings and the mood would have been complete.

The photographer in me was dying to pull over and grab a photo, but I did not have my camera with me and there was no way to pull over. Even having my iPhone with me was no comfort because rush hour was in full swing, and any overpass I could have reached was too busy. I could just see me being the crazy woman with a camera causing an accident. Sigh. A great photo will be stuck in my mind forever.

Realizing this, made me think about all the other great photos I have regretted taking. 

  • There was the shot of hundreds of seagulls taking flight from a park near Lake Nokomis. The sun lit their wings and made them look almost magical, but I could not stop for because I was on my way to work.
  • There was also the little red fox that crossed my path just as I discovered I had a flat tire in an unknown area. As you can imagine, I was little too distracted to grab my camera and take the shot.
  • And then, there was the little town cemetery my sister and I saw on our drive through the backwoods of Montana. The setting sun had added a special glow to the circle of United States flags ringing the cemetery. It made for an incredible shot. Unfortunately, we were also in a rush to get to Billings before dark and decided to keep moving. To this day, we still talk about that missed shot.

Stopped to capture this beauty while on the way to the dog park. Taken on my iPhone.Throughout my life, I can remember the shots I didn’t get, including several of my dogs. I have very few pictures of my first dog, Alicia, and even fewer of my dogs Aspen and Indy. That is why taking pictures of my dogs is so very important to me now. I don’t want to look back and wish I had taken more. I don’t want to look back and always remember the shot I missed because I was too busy to take it.

Do you have that one photo you wished you had taken when you had the chance? Is there one image in your mind that sticks with you because you didn’t? If so, what was it?

Dirt? What dirt? #Cupcake

  1. May 12, 2015 at 7:04 AM

    My stories are a lot like yours – rush hour with no place/way to pull over to take a picture of a spectacular storm formation. Plus, when my oldest 3 kids were little, I had no
    Camera and cell/camera phones hadn’t been invented yet! I have no photos of some of my childhood pets… So, regrets about a few specific cloud shots and general disappointments about life without a camera.

  2. May 12, 2015 at 8:54 AM

    There are so many times that I can’t count!. No time (I’m late), no camera (batteries are dead), no way off the freeway! Then you add in my lack of skil and all I can do is dream!

  3. May 12, 2015 at 1:54 PM

    Sadly, there are so many, to recall a specific one would be too painful. The good news is life and fate always seem to offer another one just in case I’m in the right position, have my camera ready, and I remember how to best capture it. 🙂

  4. May 12, 2015 at 6:33 PM

    Today on my drive to work, on the parkway in the city, the most beautiful fox was standing about 3 feet from the road. I had wished I could have stopped for that picture.

  5. May 12, 2015 at 6:38 PM

    My mom is always saying “I should have taken a photo of…” . I don’t think she will ever get all the photos she wants to get.

  6. May 12, 2015 at 9:34 PM

    More than I can count!

  7. June 3, 2015 at 10:17 PM

    There are more days than not that I wish my eyes could take pictures! I do remember one morning in the spring of 2008 I was driving the back roads of Vermont at 7am on my way to work. The same road, every day. One day in particular I was driving there was a bend in the road as it climbed a small hill-a blind hill so it sort of looked like the world just ended at the top. On my left side was a post fence and an old barn with dark seasoned barnwood and on the other side of the dirt road was an old cemetery, like 1700-1800 old. It had three stonewall sides and a rusty rode iron fence in the front with an ornate gate that looked like it hadn’t been touched in years. The sun was coming up from the far right corner of the cemetery illuminating the freshly bloomed apple trees that lined the entire plot. With the dark green moss on the head stones, and the stones aged shades of greys it was a beautiful sight. Never in the many days and years following have I happened upon the same circumstance that made that 5 seconds in passing so memorable. I’m happy these days that my phone has a camera, I never have enough room for the gazillion photos I want to take but that morning will forever be burned into my memory.

    • Mel
      June 3, 2015 at 10:45 PM

      Sigh. I could almost see that amazing image through your description of it. Wow!
      I agree, I am so glad I have a camera on my phone now.

      • June 3, 2015 at 11:30 PM

        Thanks. It was by far the most beautiful moment, it crosses my mind almost daily because nothing else could ever be that moment again. One perfect moment in time, with no camera to capture it and only my eyes to witness it. Who knew a cemetery could be so beautiful

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

