Home > Daisy, Health Care - Dogs > Post Insulinoma: A Daisy Update

Post Insulinoma: A Daisy Update


I need to apologize to all of you.

A couple of months ago I wrote about Daisy’s insulinoma and shared my worries and my fears about her recovery, but I never came back to give you an update on how she was doing. I am so sorry. I was so in the moment of what was going on that I never realized that I had left you hanging on what happened or how she was doing! Duh!

So how is Daisy doing? Well, I will let you see for yourself. In pictures, of course. 🙂

 

She is back to walking with us at the dog park and walking with new energy and vigor.

Walking Miss Daisy #dogpark

The kids

Jasper is back to harassing (I mean, herding) her and she is happy about that.

Jasper harassing his big sister. He obviously knows she is feeling better. #Jasper #Daisy #dogpark

She loves exploring and digging again.

Daisy smiles as she explores the old tree stump.

She and Cupcake are still looking for cheese in the oddest of places.

Looking for the cheese. (A little nosework game tonight.) #Cupcake #Daisy

Cuddling is still a priority (I will never tire of that).

Daisy from above 2

Recently, I took her with me on an extended weekend vacation at a cabin on a lake.

I'm watching you. #Daisy

While there, she enjoyed a couple dips in the lake.

upload

She also explored the beach.

So many new smells to explore! #Daisy

And, hunted for shells

upload

Hiked (Twice!)

upload

Explored the woods.

upload

Woke to the sound of loons every morning.

upload

DSCN0152

And, relaxed. A lot. 🙂

Daisy really hates being at the cabin.

Me and my dog

She’s looking good, isn’t she?

I rarely get a picture like this. It took cheese to get it.  #Daisy #Lab

Having come through to the other side of things, I can honestly say that I am glad she had the surgery. I had a lot of doubts in those early days immediately following it, but now I am so grateful that I get to enjoy a little extra time with my girl.

I think I would lying if I did not admit that I am also hyper vigilant about any changes in Daisy’s behavior. I know that insulinomas almost always come back. I know that my time with her may be as short as a year or as long as 18 months. That is the reality. But if they really did get it all, and it never comes back, then I have her for as long as she can outlive her aging body. I am hopeful it will be the latter. For now, Daisy is doing well and loving life, and that is the best outcome of all. 🙂

Thank you for caring and sending your prayers and good thoughts. Daisy and I are forever grateful. Truly grateful.

  1. Mary Lou Stevens
    May 3, 2015 at 10:42 PM

    Love your photos! I wasn’t around during Daisy’s illness, but am a loyal fan now…Awesome hearing about her recovery, and she looks beautiful…One of my biggest fears is something happening to Odie and I can’t afford treatment..
    So, I pick and search Constantly., looking for rashes, bumps….he’s gotten used to it, only rolls his eyes occasionally ..
    Your blog is not only fun and interesting, you also write about things that matter….like the article about the shelter in Chicago, Puppy Mills,etc…
    Anyway, thanks!
    Mary Lou and Odie!

    • Mel
      May 4, 2015 at 6:32 AM

      Wow! Well thank you Mary Lou! I try not to be too serious, but I do love exploring dog behavior and animal welfare issues.

  2. May 3, 2015 at 11:27 PM

    Very sweet, thank you!

    • Mel
      May 4, 2015 at 6:31 AM

      Thank YOU!

  3. May 3, 2015 at 11:47 PM

    So good to hear that she came through okay. Vacations away with our dogs, as they become more vulnerable due to illness or age, make great memories.

    • Mel
      May 4, 2015 at 6:31 AM

      So well said! Yes. That is one of the reasons I decided to take Daisy.

  4. fredrieka
    May 4, 2015 at 5:34 AM

    this is good barking news

    • Mel
      May 4, 2015 at 6:29 AM

      Yes it is Fredrieka!

  5. Sue
    May 4, 2015 at 6:33 AM

    Such good news! I’ve been watching your photos on FB and every one of Daisy has made me feel so good 🙂 Can totally relate to what you said about the time you may or may not have left with Daisy, but then, we never have enough time.

  6. May 4, 2015 at 7:51 AM

    She’s a lovely “girl”. So glad that she has some extra time with you. 🙂

  7. May 4, 2015 at 8:12 AM

    I’m so glad to hear that she is sing so well Mel! It’s such a relief to see her back to herself and I’m glad that you can relax and enjoy the summer!

  8. May 4, 2015 at 12:00 PM

    So sweet, yes she looks terrific! Yay!

  9. May 4, 2015 at 3:15 PM

    She sure looks good! So happy she is doing well.

  10. Elizabeth Keene
    May 4, 2015 at 3:15 PM

    She is such a beauty (as are your other dogs)! So glad all is well with Miss Daisy. So encouraging! Hope you have many more adventures with your girl. 🙂

  11. May 4, 2015 at 9:01 PM

    I saw her photos on Facebook, and she does seem happy. Glad you guys are enjoying your time together. Fingers crossed it does not come back. (((Hugs))

  12. May 5, 2015 at 7:41 AM

    So wonderful to hear the good news and see the pictures of her enjoying life. I hope she has lots more healthy time to spend with you. I know you will cherish each moment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

