Home > Animal Welfare Issues, Lost Dogs, Missing Pets, Pet News > Justice for Draco – The fight begins

Justice for Draco – The fight begins


10917130_1514307598832911_7542187844083024648_nIn October of last year, a very ugly man did a very ugly thing. He killed the dog belonging to his girlfriend. But it was what he did before killing him that is so very ugly. He tortured and beat him. Three different times. And, he videotaped it. You can read the gory details in the story that first appeared in his Minnesota home town (Sheriff: Baldwin man tortured, killed family dog), but I will warn you that I could not read the full story myself. It’s bad. Really bad.

The sad thing is that Draco was originally listed as a lost dog. His owner did not know what had happened to him when she posted that he was missing. She was hoping that he would come home safely. Her boyfriend knew what he had done, but he played along. If not for him videotaping his acts, he might never have been caught. I am so glad he was because I suspect this is not the first time he has engaged in cruelty or abuse.

I have no words for what this man did. I cannot even imagine someone so evil living on this planet. But what I do know is that the group that fought for Justice 4 Millie, will be doing the same for Draco. He did not deserve this. Neither did the young woman who loved and cared for him.

If you would like to join us in this fight for justice, you can follow the progress of the court case on the Facebook page Justice for Draco. We will need your support and voice when the time comes for Anthony Sather to face judge and jury and account for his behavior. PLEASE ALSO SIGN THE PETITION (this will be given to the prosecutor on the case).

If you want to know a little more about Draco and how much he was loved you can watch the video his owner put together of him.

Godspeed Draco. May the pain you suffered now be forgotten. We will not forget. We will seek justice for you.

Animals do have a voice.

If you ignore their suffering, I will remind you of it.

If you don’t understand them, I will translate.

If you don’t hear them, I will be their voice.

You may silence them, but you can not silence me as long as I live. :

-Anita Mahdessian

  1. January 7, 2015 at 11:30 PM

    Sometimes I cannot believe the world we live in. Thank you for sharing this, as very hard as it is to read and learn. I will follow the progress of the case.

    • Mel
      January 8, 2015 at 6:39 AM

      Sometimes I can’t either Ogee. Based on comments posted on Facebook by his friends, this guy has a long history of killing animals. 😦

  2. January 8, 2015 at 6:55 AM

    This person does not deserve to be alive. His punishment cannot be too severe. I wish those that abused animals were made to experience the same. It may make a difference for some.

  3. January 8, 2015 at 6:59 AM

    Sickening. I’ll check out the FB page. Thanks for not sharing the gory details, I don’t have to know them to know this abuser needs to be punished. Animal killers sometimes move on to human victims too, making this a public safety issue AND a justice issue.

  4. January 8, 2015 at 9:21 AM

    There isn’t a severe enough punishment for this clown. I’m in. #JusticeforDraco

  5. Deb
    January 8, 2015 at 9:22 AM

    I don’t think I’ll watch the video but will definitely follow the case. 😞

  6. January 8, 2015 at 9:28 AM

    What an ass, that’s really all I can think to say. I just can not fathom how someone can be so heartless and cruel.

  7. January 8, 2015 at 10:27 AM

    I can’t stop crying after reading this. How sad that this beautiful dog lost his life because of an idiot. I wish all the individuals who harm animals suffer the safe consequences they put the animals through. All that an animals knows is how to love the people around them. Draco did not deserve any of these harmful acts put against him. I would die for my two dogs and would do anything in this world to protect them from harm, and I know that a lot of other dog owners would do the same for theirs. They are a huge part of our family and we all know that life is 1000% better because they are in our lives! They go everywhere with us, they share everything in life with us, they are always be our sides, they snuggle with us every night, they comfort us when we are sad, and that is all priceless. My heart goes out to Draco’s family and everyone who knew him. I am so sorry for your loss. I just hope that you can receive justice for this heartless act against Draco and that your heart can find peace.

    • Mel
      January 11, 2015 at 11:58 AM

      I know Nikitaland. This one makes me so very sad. I was deeply disturbed and distraught over the details on this case. What bothers me more is that this is not his first animal. I hope to God he gets the longest sentence possible. He will kill again. This is not normal behavior, even for someone with a drug problem.

      • January 11, 2015 at 1:05 PM

        I cannot stand it any longer when people abuse an animal. The punishment they receive does not fit their horrible crime.

  8. Karen
    January 8, 2015 at 11:55 AM

    So so sad. I can’t understand what makes people do things like that. They had to have been abused in their life to be like that. My heart goes out to the owner and that poor sweet dog. All I can say is this – KARMA. He will get his in the end!

  9. blip
    January 10, 2015 at 1:14 AM

    Unfortunately, Mr. Sather lives in Minnesota. And Minnesota has some of the most sickeningly weak sentencing laws in the United States. I’m thinking he’s up for a year in the workhouse (nine months of which will be commuted to “community service” or “time served”) and a fine. Personally, I’d like to spend some quality time alone with him… and a claw hammer.

    • Jeffrey
      January 16, 2015 at 11:51 PM

      Dogs are people too. They should be treated just like humans and given equal rights. Someone that kills a dog in the first degree is the exact same as someone who kills a human in the first degree, and should be tried as such. This is disgusting. The media in our society is perpetuating this behavior. They spend too much time on ridiculous stuff like what happened in Paris and not enough time on these psychopaths savagely killing dogs. Wake up people. We have bigger problems on our own soil.

  10. Patty Petry
    January 10, 2015 at 1:42 PM

    Please sign the petition and ask others to….post the petition link and Justice For Draco facebook page on your facebook page, on your Pinterest page, tweet it, email it, keep it going, lets help the supporters of Draco get 20,000 signatures and keep going!

  11. January 10, 2015 at 11:50 PM

    I cannot read it, too heartbreaking to think what that dear dog went through. May Draco rest in peace and the heartless person who dealt out such cruelty get what is coming to him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

