Foster Dog Maggie’s First Year

December 22, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

IMG_1963It’s hard to believe, but in a few days Maggie will have been with us one whole year. Puppy mill dogs can take a long time to rehab, so I am not surprised that she is still with me, but I am more surprised at how far she has come… and how far she has to go.  Seeing her progress through pictures is quite encouraging. I had forgotten how much fear was in her eyes in those early days.

Back then, Maggie spent her time hiding from shadows in the daytime (she often hid in my closet or the quietest spot in my bedroom) and sitting next to me or Daisy at night. She was afraid of every sound, every movement and every reflection that came through the bay window. Doorways were scary, The sound of cars driving past the house was unsettling. Barking from neighbor dogs was terrifying.

But over the past few months, Maggie has discovered that she likes being outside, “cheese” is good, and ice cream is even better. She loves watching my dogs do tricks for treats, and solve doggie puzzles, and she has discovered that she wants to play too. She is learning that life in a home can be good and that a being a dog is much more than just living in a box.

It’s been a lot of fun to celebrate the successes. I hope you will enjoy this short video I put together highlighting her progress.

Merry Christmas!

  1. December 23, 2014 at 12:23 AM

    Lovely to see her coming out of her shell and starting to trust. A lot of patience needed – so Well Done 🙂

  2. December 23, 2014 at 5:03 AM

    You can really see a difference in her eyes and body language. She is so much more relaxed. It’s the small baby steps that mean so much

  3. d.heartfarm@verizon.net
    December 23, 2014 at 6:25 AM

     hELLO,  so enjoyed this video and just forwarded same

  4. December 23, 2014 at 7:19 AM

    This is a very sweet video! It’s great that you have other dogs to help Maggie adjust.

  5. Sandy D'Amico
    December 23, 2014 at 7:33 AM

    My Cino looks a lot like your sweet Maggie. My Shelties was so scared and timid when I rescued him from a shelter and he had only spent two nights there. I can’t imagine the fear poor Maggie felt. How very fortunate she has you and her beautiful family of Shelties. You can see her happiness in her eyes and the position of her ears. Wonderful people you are!

  6. Deb
    December 23, 2014 at 8:19 AM

    Great job!

  7. December 23, 2014 at 8:37 AM

    So awesome! I have said it many times, but she is so lucky to have you.

  8. December 23, 2014 at 9:38 AM

    Oh, Mel. So beautiful. I’m so proud of you and so, so very proud of sweet Maggie! It’s an incredible transformation, and I can’t wait to see where she goes from here!

  9. http://thepoodleanddogblog.typepad.com/
    December 23, 2014 at 10:33 AM

    How rewarding that must be for you.

  10. December 23, 2014 at 10:40 AM

    It’s those little victories that give us the biggest heart hug. Keep up the good work. She’s definitely worth it! ❤

  11. December 23, 2014 at 2:53 PM

    It has to be so nice to see her really come into her own and be able to enjoy life. She is a very lucky girl.

  12. 32healingpaws
    December 23, 2014 at 9:58 PM

    What a beautiful tribute to a brave, beautiful girl. I love that Daisy can be there for Maggie. Awesome video. Loved it!!

    24Paws of Love

  13. Debby
    December 24, 2014 at 1:24 AM

    Thank you for loving and givng gentle and patience care to this beautiful Sheltie, Maggie. I too rescued a puppy mill Sheltie and ironically her name was Maggie. She was just a puppy when I rescued her. Unfortunately, she had so many physical aliments I lost my Maggy just after she turned 4 years old. Hold your Maggie tight when she will let you. So happy she is feeling safe and loved! Thank you again. ❤

  14. cafall
    December 24, 2014 at 6:50 AM

    So sweet and such a good girl!

    Monty and Harlow

  15. kenzohw
    December 25, 2014 at 3:46 AM

    A wonderful video, Mel. Bless you for all the things you do, to help her feel save.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment