Home > Cupcake, Daisy, Fun Stuff, Jasper, Maggie, Pet Products, Pet Toys > Yes. I tend to go a little overboard for my dogs. Am I alone?

Yes. I tend to go a little overboard for my dogs. Am I alone?

November 30, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

If you ask, I am sure many people would tell you that I tend to go a little overboard where my pets are concerned. (I know for sure my family would!) I tend to buy them things that I think will enrich their lives and make them happy.

I think in the case of my dogs, I wanted to make up for the bad lives they had early on. I also want them to have lives that isย enriched by a wide variety of fun experiences. (What’s the fun in having a dog if you can’t enjoy the fun they have with you?)

So while I do have a logic behind what I do for my pets, I alsoย know that I am not the norm.

After all, I …

Buy dog games for my dogs, just so they can work their brains on a cold winter’s night.

Waiting his turn

Can you help me mom? This one is hard! #doggames

Game night!

Have at least 20 tennis balls so my crazy Sheltie has plenty to play with throughout the year.

Ball in play #Sheltie

Jasper action shot

A morning walk alongside the Mississippi River with my sister and dogs. Jasper had fun. :)

Purchased a leather couch immediately after the last one got rained on (don’t ask) just so my puppy mill girl, Daisy, could have her “safe place” back again.
A rare moment. She let me take pictures of her.

Take my dogs to a wide variety of parks so they can explore something new and different.

Cupcake and Jasper on the footbridge. #lebanonhills #mn

Photobomb. Courtesy of Jasper.

I'm going in #Daisy

Hello turtle! #nature #sheltie #turtle

Hide treats in the yard so my dogs can have fun using their noses and their brains to find them.

Is there something in there? #doggames

I think there’s a treat in there.

Cupcake smells cheese. #doggames

Maybe the treat is in here!

I think mom his some treats under here. #doggames

Yup. There is most definitely a treat in there.

Even placed a step stool next to my tall bed just so my dogs can come up when they want.

The bed and the step up.

But this weekend I think I may have gone a little overboard (even for me). On a trip to Costco I found a dog bed that was the absolute ultimate in dog bed luxury.

How could I resist?

It contains orthopedic memory foam with cooling gel and has a plush pillow top cover. It’s softer than a baby’s bottom and it is so squish-able, in that memory foam kind of way, that even I want to lie down on it.

It’s too bad I didn’t think about the size. Hmmm… crazy? Overboard?

Maggie on the new dog bed.

So, what over-the top-kind of thing have you done for your pet(s)?

  1. November 30, 2014 at 9:48 PM

    I love the pictures and your comments! Oh yes, mine are so spoiled and I am always doing ‘over the top’ things for my babies – I love them so very much! I’d be embarrassed to tell anyone ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Mel
      November 30, 2014 at 9:56 PM

      LOL! Well, I am glad I am not alone Deb! Your babies are very lucky to have you.

  2. November 30, 2014 at 10:10 PM

    Now I feel like I must be neglecting Ike and Tina!

  3. November 30, 2014 at 10:40 PM

    You are certainly not alone! That bed is quite large, but having a Chihuahua, everything in my life is currently miniature. I think, considering your dogs’ breeds, everything is just to keep them engaged and healthy. You are a supreme pet parent, for sure!

  4. November 30, 2014 at 11:36 PM

    I don’t think it’s overboard since Daisy and Cupcake can cuddle together on that nice big bed!! ๐Ÿ˜€ They are lucky!

  5. December 1, 2014 at 5:19 AM

    I like to find some dog games will have to tell momwithoutpaws about it, what do you think is the best one you use so far

  6. December 1, 2014 at 5:57 AM

    My mom is not the norm either. Although we are not rescue dogs, Mom wants us to have the very best out of life and as many experiences as we can, so she takes us all over, drives on vacations so we can go along, buys us nice beds, great food, etc. There is really nothing she wouldn’t do for us and she is happy about being the way she is with us. You are not alone.

  7. December 1, 2014 at 6:32 AM

    I’m glad people like you exist. To do something for your dog and to do it with love is the best thing on earth :o)

  8. December 1, 2014 at 8:58 AM

    These two are pretty spoiled too. It’s just so easy, how can you not?

  9. P. Staveley
    December 1, 2014 at 9:02 AM

    Every dog should be this lucky! I love making up enrichment brain games using recycled materials for my rescued terrier mix. Stuffed paper towel tubes, a tub full of used tennis balls, boxes with treats taped shut inside are all great ways to get us through the long winter.

  10. December 1, 2014 at 9:21 AM

    Love the bed. The size is good and gives him plenty of room to spread out. I’ll have to search for one the next time I’m in Costco (tomorrow). As for indulging BJ, he doesn’t play with toys anymore but LOVES large stuffed animals. The bigger the better. Costco has some seriously large stuffed animals usually for less than some toys. People laugh when I tell them it’s for my dog.

    So what if we go overboard. They go overboard in their love and loyalty. It’s our money; we can spend it on things we like.

  11. Deb
    December 1, 2014 at 9:23 AM

    Sounds pretty normal to me…as I head out to Costco….

  12. December 1, 2014 at 9:54 AM

    I love all you do for you pups! I wouldn’t consider that awesome dog bed going overboard ~ your pups deserve nothing but the best ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve booked swim sessions at a Pet Resort in Dulles, VA (Olde Town Pet Resort) for my pups Missy & Buzz. They hadn’t been swimming yet, and I wanted their first experience to be a comfortable one, guided by a professional dog swim instructor. The instructor was in the pool with them (no other humans allowed in there for safety reasons), and mommy (i.d. me) was on the edge of the pool, videotaping puppies’ first swimming lesson ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. December 1, 2014 at 10:43 AM

    We just adopted a cat yesterday, and of course we went out and bought all the toys, treats, and climbable cat towers we could. Does he care? Nope! Just loves sitting in the box the cat tower came in…. of course.

  14. http://thepoodleanddogblog.typepad.com/
    December 1, 2014 at 5:35 PM

    Going overboard on my dogs has a selfish motive too. When they are tired/engaged/challenged, etc. my life is better.

  15. December 1, 2014 at 6:28 PM

    I love the idea about treats hidden in the yard. I’d try that but then I’d never get my young guy in the house.

    • Mel
      December 1, 2014 at 8:26 PM

      Helen you are a very smart woman! That is what happens with Jasper! He never wants to come in. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. December 1, 2014 at 8:13 PM

    Well, you do have four dogs in the house. They could probably share the new bed. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I don’t think it’s overboard. After all, we expect a lot from our dogs to fit into our world. I think giving them a stimulating life is the least we can do for all they do for us.

  17. December 1, 2014 at 9:38 PM

    Is this going overboard or just giving your pets the best quality of life you can afford?

    As a canine massage therapist, I sometimes get comments like I’m the ‘dog spa’ lady for crazy dog people. However, it and other complementary therapies are holistic options for helping an unwell dog or keeping those with aging disorders as happy as possible.

    I think activity toys are fabulous for enrichment; supportive beds and mobility aids like stairs are all good management techniques for dogs. Well done to you!

  18. December 1, 2014 at 9:39 PM

    Reblogged this on DoggyMom.com and commented:
    I often recommend activity toys, supportive dog beds, and mobility aids like ramps and stairs…is this going over the top? I don’t think so. This lady does some wonderful things for her dogs – it’s about giving them the best life you can afford.
    What have you done for your dog lately?

  19. December 1, 2014 at 11:01 PM

    Overboard? nah…we’re talking about getting a NEW CAR so that Jack & Maggie have an easier time getting in and out of the SVU…so you can see I don’t think you are overboard at all ๐Ÿ™‚ And mind you, this is a car we bought 3 years ago when we got Jack because the sedan I had was too small for him and Becca because Becca had to lie down in the backseat because of her back.

    • Mel
      December 2, 2014 at 8:57 AM

      LOL!!! I guess I am not crazy after all. We just love our dogs very much. Lucky Jack and Maggie!

  20. December 2, 2014 at 4:40 AM

    Hey there’s no shame in spoiling your furkids! Isn’t that the whole point of rescuing them? To give them the life they never had? ๐Ÿ˜‰ They’re very lucky to have you now!

  21. December 2, 2014 at 8:26 AM

    That bed! I need it for Vince, he’s not as young as he used to be.

    As for going overboard…my dog Leela has her own chair at the kitchen table and no one (not even guests) is allowed to sit there except for her.

    • Mel
      December 2, 2014 at 8:56 AM

      I bet Vince would love the bed. My dogs are all taking their turns on it!

      The dedicated chair at the table was funny. Our silly dogs. ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. December 2, 2014 at 5:50 PM

    Yup, yup, and yup. Can totally relate. For years only the dogs were on the furniture when my daughter said, how come we’re ALWAYS on the floor and they’re up on a comfy sofa? BOL ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. December 2, 2014 at 10:05 PM

    I don’t think you go overboard, you love them.

  24. December 5, 2014 at 9:40 AM

    Nice pics! I can totally relate- my wife and I spoil ours and love doing so ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. December 11, 2014 at 7:51 PM

    The toy shown in the second picture down is simply wonderful!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

