Home > Animal Welfare Issues, Puppy Mills > Voting for the animals

Voting for the animals


WE VOTEDHere we are again with another voting day upon us. Do you know who you’re going to vote for? I’m fairly certain I know I am voting for this year.

More than any year before, my voting concerns weigh heavily around animals and animal welfare. I’ve never been a one issue voter. I’ve always tried to look at the whole picture and make the best choice based on a wide variety of issues. But this year we have a Cat and Dog Breeder Law in place. This year we are finally heading in the right direction when it comes to puppy mills and the treatment of cats and dogs in these facilities. I don’t want that to change.

There are those who want to gut this bill or rescind it completely. There are those who want to eliminate nine years of progress. They want to maintain the status quo. So for that reason, this year, I am more motivated than ever to vote for those candidates who support the legislation that passed this year to help dogs and cats in breeding facilities.

I also want to support candidates who support the Beagle Freedom legislation that made it a law that dogs in testing facilities get a chance at a life in a home when they are done. No more euthanizing dogs after testing is done. Not without a real chance at being adopted. There were other wins this year too. You can read more about the progress made this year in the Minnesota Humane Scorecard.

Progress like this is unusual. My vote matters because it means these laws can stay in place. Your vote matters too, so I hope you’ll get out and vote.  No matter what. Get out and vote.

If you’re curious about who in Minnesota is on the side of animals, the group Minnesota Voters for Animal Protection has posted a list of state legislators who rate high on the list.

Need help on other voting issues? There is a great app that will help you decide on the best candidates for you. It’s called isidewith.com. Answer a few questions and get a full list of candidates to vote for. No need to register or log in.

 

 

  1. November 4, 2014 at 8:13 AM

    Sounds like you have all the right info to make the very best choice.

    • Mel
      November 4, 2014 at 7:41 PM

      Most definitely Mary. 🙂

  2. November 4, 2014 at 9:29 AM

    As a naturalized citizen, I take this civic responsibility very serious. It wasn’t a birthright for me, I had to work for it and ALWAYS vote, no matter what. I continue to be astounded that people don’t exercise this privilege or who do not make an effort to be an informed voter. Thank you for sharing this PSA; I’ll keep my fingers crossed that those issues you support are ratified and stay in place protecting dog and cat breeding facilities as well as giving new life for beagles after their testing service. 🙂

    • Mel
      November 4, 2014 at 7:42 PM

      Well said! I so agree! I wish more Americans realized what a right it truly is and took it more seriously.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

