Home > Jasper, Pet Ponderings, Shelties > My dog wears me out

My dog wears me out

September 28, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

Salivating with anticipation.I think I must be getting old. My dog is six years old and he’s wearing me out. Still.

When I adopted Jasper at nine months old, I knew he was going to be busy. I knew that he was going to require lots of training and time and energy. And, I gave it to him.

We went to the dog park every day – 2 hours a day on average. We attended training at our local shelter. We played ball for hours in the yard. He got bully sticks in the evening to keep him busy.

When he turned three, I introduced new tricks and searching for treats in the yard. I bought games that he had to use his brain to solve (sometimes those actually did wear him out!).

At four and five, I taught him more tricks and challenged him to figure out more difficult ones. I bought more dog puzzles, harder ones. He loved them. He solved them all. I need more.Jasper action shot

I started coming up with puzzles of my own. I placed a treat in a Kong and placed it inside a sock and put that inside a box. He solved that one too.

I took him to nose work class this summer and he excelled. He loved it.

More recently I have been hiding treats in strategic locations in the yard – under things, in things, around plants, on leaves, in tree bark. He finds them all. He loves the game so much that he begs me to do it again. Sometimes he won’t come inside because he wants to keep looking for them. He beats all the other dogs to most of the treats too.

I’m not saying I’m ready for him to slow down like an old dog. Not yet. Not ever really. But sometimes I wish for a day of relaxation. A day where he just sneaks off to his dog bed and sleeps for an hour or two.

Silly busy dog. Jasper.
Happy Saturday everyone!

  1. September 28, 2014 at 9:21 PM

    I bet him and Torrey would have a blast together. I so want to get some puzzles for Torrey but don’t know where to start.

  2. September 28, 2014 at 9:24 PM

    Wow! You do have a super energetic pup!! Have you tried incorporating dog backpacks on walks/hikes? He could also wear them while doing the nose-work 🙂

  3. September 28, 2014 at 9:31 PM

    Sweet! Time for one of those ball launchers!

  4. September 28, 2014 at 10:58 PM

    He sounds awesome, but you deserve some time to just hang out and relax!

  5. fredrieka
    September 29, 2014 at 4:56 AM

    momwithoutpaws tries to wear me out she succeeds once in a while

  6. September 29, 2014 at 5:46 AM

    Mom has never found a dog that could keep up with her. She has had four of her own dogs now, plus several guest dogs over the years, and all of them are worn out after a few days to a week with her. Cousin Lena, the hyper tennis ball obsessed dog is the one she was sure would have boundless energy, but she is worn out too after a few days. Maybe one day it will happen, but she is still waiting.

  7. September 29, 2014 at 6:02 AM

    Hehe, boundless energy, eh? Think that’s why the hoomans like us piggies. Whee can’t tire them out as much. Whee like our sleep!
    The Pigs xx

  8. September 29, 2014 at 8:15 AM

    Find the treats in the yard is Maggie absolute favorite game too. Jack quits after awhile, but not Maggie. It wears her out too – she crashes after that, but then again they are both seniors.

  9. KB
    September 29, 2014 at 8:27 AM

    It sounds as if you do great stuff with Jasper to keep him happy, stimulated, and occupied! I bet it tires you out… and sometimes you wish for just one super mellow day. But you’re lucky to have such a fun dog!

    • Mel
      September 29, 2014 at 8:35 AM

      I agree KB. I am lucky. Most of what I wrote was tongue in cheek, because I adore him, but some days… 🙂

  10. September 29, 2014 at 10:16 AM

    We’re only 2 weeks into our new busy-puppy adventure. I may need some advice. (wink) So far, really, it’s going pretty well. She does a good job keeping herself busy while I work and such … as long as she has about 2 hours in the morning, an hour at lunch, and a couple hours after dinner to be a wild monkey.

    • Mel
      October 1, 2014 at 7:05 AM

      You were brave to get a puppy Roxanne. I think she is doing really well with you and Tom. It’s so good to see you so happy again. 🙂

  11. September 30, 2014 at 7:52 AM

    Ludo is quite mellow now, although they are both pretty good at chilling out. I know how frustrating it can be when they are so busy!. Relaxing, like anything we ask of our dogs, often had to be learnt. Have your tried doing any mat work with jasper as in the control unleashed books etc?

  12. cafall
    September 30, 2014 at 9:27 AM

    Jasper sounds like our Harlow. I’m worn out before she is. We are making some progress though – we’ve been showing her that if she sits she will get the ear rub of a lifetime.

    Monty and Harlow

    • Mel
      October 1, 2014 at 7:04 AM

      That is a great idea. I actually love that he is busy, just not all of the time. 🙂

  13. October 5, 2014 at 2:07 PM

    We have a similar high energy pup. We take him hiking on weekends and that usually tire him out for a day or so. Can I ask what puzzles did you buy that actually wears out Jasper? I’ve bought a few for QQ and he always figures them out in less than 5 minutes.

    • Mel
      October 5, 2014 at 10:11 PM

      Hi Yilise

      I buy them online and at dog events, but most are ones made by Nina Ottosson. Here is post showing some of the ones we have: https://nodogaboutit.wordpress.com/2013/10/28/the-demise-of-daylight-saving-time-and-the-dawn-of-dog-game-nights/

      • October 8, 2014 at 7:07 PM

        Thanks for the recommendations! I bought the tornado and the maze from nina ottasson as well as the dogit mind games. I’ve been working from home for the last couple of days and hate seeing my pup bored and not having the time to play with him. Hopefully these will keep him entertained!

      • Mel
        October 8, 2014 at 9:52 PM

        I hope your dog loves them! I know mine love playing them. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

