Home > Interviews, Miscellaneous, Pet Topics > My Writing Blog Tour hits No Dog About It

My Writing Blog Tour hits No Dog About It

September 1, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

IMG_1287Today I am taking part in the My Writing Process Blog Tour.

I was tagged by the most wonderful Maggie Marton of Oh My Dog! blog. Maggie is a professional writer so I was really interested to learn more about her writing process. It’s always nice when you can learn from the best. If you get a chance go on over and read about her writing process.

Unlike Maggie, I am not a professional writer. (Oh, I write communications and project plans for work, but that is quite different from writing for a blog.) However, I do write and I love doing so. My hope is to write a book some day, but that will require a lot more discipline than I have right now. 🙂

For this tour, I have three questions to answer:

Question #1: What are you working on?

In all honesty? Nothing. Nothing at all.

Like Maggie, when it comes to my blog I am more of a fly by the seat of my pants kind of gal. I used to be much more disciplined, but as my life has gotten crazier (is 4 dogs crazy enough for you?), I have found it much more difficult to plan ahead  and get things done before the week begins. Thus, I usually end up writing a blog post at 9 or 10 pm and publishing it around 11 pm and editing it a couple times after publishing it. I know. Not exactly the best way to manage a blog, but there it is in all its messy glory.

I should mention that I also have about 43 drafts sitting in my drafts folder just waiting for my mind to formulate the words. When everything clicks into place, I write.

Question #2: Why do you write what you do?

Hmmm… That is truly a tough question. My writing has changed over the years so I can’t really say that there is one “why” to my writing. I started writing about Daisy, my first puppy mill dog, to document her progress, but when I started my pet sitting business I needed a blog that would allow me to share information with my clients. I kept it much more light-hearted in those days. Me and Daisy

Now I try to write a little bit for myself, a little for you and little bit for fun. I write about what fires me up. but I also write about what I think most people would want to know if they had the good fortune to be exposed to a wealth of dog training knowledge via their friends (as I do). I want people to have a chance to learn more about their dogs and about dog body language. The one thing I don’t want to be is a blogger who just rants, What’s the fun in that? Who wants to read a rant every single day? Not me. That’s why I add in photography and Favorite Friday videos. I want others to have fun too.

I write about what I am passionate about. It allows me to let a little bit of my creativity out.

Question #3: How does your writing process work?

IMG_5891As I mentioned above, my writing process right now is pretty disorganized. I have the 43 drafts available if choose to use them, but I also save a whole series of stories, studies, news reports and training information in my Blog Topics folder. If I am feeling a little unmotivated or not sure about what I want to write, I go to my folder and peruse it for an idea or story I want to share. Usually, they are an impetus for me to write about a related topic.

I also keep a series of folders filled with YouTube videos I can go to whenever I need one. I even have them organized by category!

Sometimes I write a post in one shot, and publish right away, and other times I start the post and save it as a draft to be finished later. For example, my blog post Are we rescuing? Or, are we passing the buck? sat in my drafts folder for over a month before I actually finished it. Sometimes my mind just needs time to roll the idea around before I can write it. When I do create a draft, I will often include the links (and videos) that inspired me in case I want to refer to them in the post.

So now that I have shared a little about me and my wiring process, here are a few other people I would like to tag for this tour. They have two weeks to answer the same questions. I can’t wait to hear how they approach their own writing process:

Notes from an Endless Sea by Eleanore MacDonald – I love the way Eleanore writes. Her words flow like water and have a beauty that is indescribable. She draws you in like a friend and confidante and leaves you wanting more. I always feel richer for having read her blog.

Will My Dog Hate me by Edie Jarolim – Edie is a professional writer and someone I admire very much. I often wish I could write like her. She can make any story sound interesting and often does. Reading her Labor Day post about her mom was wonderful and interesting and enlightening. I would love to pick her brain if I could. This is my chance.

Back Alley Soapbox by Jen K – Jen hasn’t written since early July, but I am hoping she will do this one. She is always a fun read and I love her perspective on things. She is a knowledgeable dog person and loves the outdoors and her two big black Newfies, Moses and Alma. I enjoy her writing. I hope she will share her perspective on her own writing process.

  1. September 2, 2014 at 5:50 AM

    I’m sadly disorganized too, wish I could manage this problem :o)

  2. September 2, 2014 at 12:07 PM

    Forty three drafts is pretty impressive! I always say I’m going to get far ahead and schedule and…well, yeah, I end up winging it. Somehow it always works.

  3. September 2, 2014 at 3:57 PM

    If we have more than a few drafts, they get buried and forgotten. You are not alone, it seems lots of bloggers are last minute writers.

    • Mel
      September 3, 2014 at 6:49 AM

      Some do get forgotten. I suspect any of us bloggers fly by the seat of our pants. 🙂

  4. September 2, 2014 at 5:02 PM

    We all have those periods where there are more ‘drafts’ than posts and less time to refine and publish, so don’t feel alone. Hang in there; it’ll just be that much better for us when you finally do post. 🙂 🙂

    • Mel
      September 3, 2014 at 6:49 AM

      Exactly! LOL! 🙂

  5. September 3, 2014 at 6:43 PM

    You need to answer one more question: what do you want to write about in your book?

  6. September 4, 2014 at 1:30 PM

    I’m SO GLAD I tagged you. I love your blog so much, and it’s hugely reassuring that my process is similar to yours! 🙂 But this right here: “I write about what I am passionate about. It allows me to let a little bit of my creativity out.” That’s the crux of it! So glad you do what you do!

    • Mel
      September 5, 2014 at 6:59 AM

      You are so kind. Thank you Maggie!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

