Home > Animal Rescue, Dog Training, Maggie, Pine River puppy mill, puppy mill dogs, Puppy Mills, Shelties > An update on Maggie from the mill – Progress!

An update on Maggie from the mill – Progress!


I’ve been a bit sporadic in my posts lately, but I wanted to at least give an update on little Miss Maggie.

Do you know that it has already been a year since Maggie was rescued? On July 16, 2013, she and her babies were rescued and taken to the Animal Humane Society (AHS), where she received medical care, food, water and kindness. In the days that followed, she learned that people could be kind and gentle. She learned it from her first foster mom, Sabrina, who taught her about leashed walks, living in a real home and that steak tastes quite good (the steak was in celebration of a judge awarding her custody to AHS).

With this new freedom came opportunities. A new place to live, time to heal and a chance to learn how to be a real dog. She came into Minnesota Sheltie Rescue and soon after that into my home. I have given her time and space. I let her learn from my dogs what a dog’s life can be like. So far,ย she has learned bones and ice cream are delicious, and everyone goes outside in the morning and again at night. She has also learned that cheese is good, but it is even more interesting and fun when it is hidden in dog puzzles or comes after touching my hand. She has learned how fun it is to roll in the freshly cut grass and that one must be quick if they want to get a treat before one of the other dogs. She is learning new things every day and in the process becoming more of the dog she was meant to be.

Here are just a few highlights of Maggie’s progress. Don’t miss Maggie’s two videos at the end of this post!

Maggie waits for cheese.

Are you going to throw me some cheese or am I going to have to dance for it?

Someone was worried the other party goers might steal her ice cream treat. #maggie

The best part about being a real dog is birthday parties and ice cream!

I'm sorry. What is this "share" you speak of?

Bully sticks are meant to be savored. If only Jasper and Daisy understood this.

Nervous, but not Too nervous to not take the cheese

I’m a little scared up here on this table, but yes, I will take a little cheese. Thank you.

Someone got groomed today and did really well! Of course, she got lots of cheese too!

This grooming thing isn’t half bad when you go slow and feed me cheese.

Maggie learns Watch me

Hand targeting with Maggie (She has only done this once outside. Too many noises outside.)

  1. coniatthebeach
    July 31, 2014 at 12:01 AM

    She’s beautiful, Mel. Congratulations. You’ve done a great job with her.

    • Mel
      July 31, 2014 at 6:50 AM

      Thanks Coni. We still have a long ways to go, but she is starting to make progress again. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. July 31, 2014 at 5:16 AM

    Maggie is a wonderful girl ! What a tasty way to learn “watch me” :o)

    • Mel
      July 31, 2014 at 6:50 AM

      Oh yes! She absolutely loves cheese! She comes running when she hears me say the word.

  3. fredrieka
    July 31, 2014 at 7:19 AM

    poor pawbaby still looks scared.

    • Mel
      July 31, 2014 at 10:54 PM

      You are right Fredrieka. She still is scared, but that is to be expected in a mill dog. Sometimes I worry that people think these dogs can be turned around with a week of love. Unfortunately, this is not all that atypical. I probably could have started working with her more earlier on, but I wanted to give her some time to settle in. I also did not realize that some of her progress was hindered by my very competitive and food-motivated dogs. I think we are on the right track now. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • fredrieka
        August 1, 2014 at 5:56 AM

        Keep posting Momwithoutpaws is learning from you. She is trying to teach me to dance. This is the first time I am giving her a hard time. I did it 2 times holding hands, now I just put my head down and refuse to do it. I know this is different then what you are saying but the same.

  4. Sabrina
    July 31, 2014 at 7:54 AM

    What a wonderful update on Maggie! She has come such a long way with you. Those videos are great and brought me to tears right here in my cube! The fact that she is able to focus on you with all of the normal neighborhood noises in the background is amazing progress from what I remember. Many thanks to you for being patient enough to teach her about the good life at her own pace. Much love to beautiful Maggie!!

    • Mel
      July 31, 2014 at 10:51 PM

      Awww!!! I didn’t mean to make you cry Sabrina. I knew you would be happy to see her progressing. It is slow moving, but that’s partly because I didn’t realize that sometimes my dog can be a hindrance as much as they are helpful. Maggie needs the one on one time with me to be able to focus on the treat and not on someone stealing it from her. Seeing her come so far motivates me to keep going with her. She now looks forward to our “training” sessions. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. July 31, 2014 at 8:28 AM

    Wonderful! Yes, quite a lot of noise there. With the shrieking child, my doggie would be barking away… Hoh, and grooming? No cheese in the world is good enough. Petting, lovely, but anything that seems like fussing — she’s outta there.

    • Mel
      July 31, 2014 at 10:49 PM

      LOL! To be honest Natasha, I thought for sure she would be. The screaming was kids in a pool next door. I couldn’t believe she was able to come back and focus.

  6. July 31, 2014 at 8:41 AM

    Love happy ending stories! Thank you for the update. Some rescued dogs suffer so badly at the hands of their mis-treaters and long after with PTSD. Continued success turning Maggie into the wonderful pooch she was meant to be.

    • Mel
      July 31, 2014 at 10:47 PM

      So true Tails of Teach. So many mill dogs suffer from their early years in a cage, but with time, patience and hard work, they can start to blossom, much like a flower begins to bloom. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. July 31, 2014 at 9:38 AM

    Love me some Maggie. Excellent work, both of you.

    • Mel
      July 31, 2014 at 10:46 PM

      Thanks Roxanne. I hope she continues to grow and learn and I hope she becomes more confident and happy too.

  8. July 31, 2014 at 11:32 AM

    It’s so amazing to see how far she’s come – awesome job!

    • Mel
      July 31, 2014 at 10:45 PM

      Thanks Will and Eko! It’s hard to believe where she was in December.

  9. jan
    July 31, 2014 at 12:19 PM

    It’s hard to realize how wonderful it is to be the kind of dog dogs were meant to be until we read this kind of a post. Such a great world to discover.

    • Mel
      July 31, 2014 at 10:44 PM

      So agree Jan. Daisy is my reminder every day. She is so much closer to a “normal” dog than she ever was in the early days. I hope Maggie will find that this world can be pretty darn good.

  10. August 1, 2014 at 8:09 AM

    Thanks for the update on Maggie. It’s wonderful to see her doing so well – and finally some close-up photos of her. She’s a real beauty. I see such similarities between her and our Maggie as you know – our Maggie has another year on her – being with us for two years so I can just picture what she’s going to be like! Well done Mel.

  11. August 1, 2014 at 1:56 PM

    So nice to see Maggie’s wonderful progress.

  12. Maggie
    August 1, 2014 at 2:12 PM

    Those are all wonderful things for a dog to learn! (Emmett says especially the ice cream bit. And the cheese part.) Thanks for posting the progress. It’s such a hopeful, uplifting story, and you’ve done an incredible job showing her how fabulous a dog’s life can be!

  13. August 7, 2014 at 8:59 PM

    Its heartwarming to see this post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

