Home > Cupcake, Daisy, Dog Behavior, Jasper, Pet Ponderings > What do you hide from your dog?

What do you hide from your dog?


Yesterday I rushed home so I could take the dogs for a walk at the dog park before dark. After a quick potty break, I loaded the dogs up into the car and headed out.

Chuck itAs I drove down the street on our way there, I noticed a neighbor going into his garage. He had his hand behind hid back and in it he had aย Chuckit Stick and ball. I started laughing. I can SO relate. If you have a ball-obsessed dog like Jasper, you know exactly how excited they get when they see the stick and ball.

I have been known to hide his ball and Chuckit behind my back too. He gets WAY too excited when he sees it, especially when we goย to the dog park where toys are allowed. It is much easier to get him inside the park before I show him the stick and ball.

I don’t know about you, but I have had to hide a few things from my dogs over the years:

  • Dog treats
  • Peanut butter
  • People food
  • Me leaving home (Cupcake carries on when I leave.)
  • The water jug (Jasper likes to attack the water as I dump it out of their outdoor water dish.)

I am not above admitting that I have even snuck into the kitchen while the dogs were sleeping and quietly opened a package of treats (for me) ย just so my dogs don’t come running to the kitchen to see if they can grab a piece of fallen food for themselves. I don’t know if you know this, but Sheltie ears are quite good at hearing package wrapping being removed. Cupcake is definitely the queen bee in this area.

I’ve got to think I am not alone in hiding things from my dogs, so I thought I would ask you.

What do YOU hide from YOUR dogs?

IMG_0608

 

  1. May 15, 2014 at 7:39 AM

    I am in and out with my dog walking. Sometimes I sneak in the back of the house and go upstairs to get something done, then go out the back without letting Stoli out from her gated zone on the front porch. The heavy door to the house is closed. I’m sure she hears something, but if she is sleeping It saves one session of release, greet, excitement, only to put her back in. Two or three of those a day is plenty!

    • May 15, 2014 at 12:55 PM

      In other words, I am hiding myself!

      • Mel
        May 16, 2014 at 6:42 AM

        LOL! I started laughing at your first comment Natasha. Then I saw your second one and laughed harder. Thanks for the smiles and giggles. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. May 15, 2014 at 8:13 AM

    we have to hide all our things, specially shoes or socks. but after all since we have Easy, our house looks more tidy :o)

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:53 AM

      Those would be hard to hide here!

  3. Sabrina
    May 15, 2014 at 8:24 AM

    My Pug Rufus goes CRAZY when he see’s any kind of animal on the TV. It doesn’t matter if it’s a real animal or animated…he knows and he goes insane barking at the TV. Horses, hippos, lions, tigers, bears, cows, anything! Even the animated horse from the Wells Fargo commercial. If an animal commercial comes on, I have to quickly hit the ‘guide’ button or change the channel. Sometimes I hide his face with a pillow. His sleeping kennel is beside the bedroom TV and faces his back toward the TV…that is the ONLY time I can watch animal shows. I find myself flenching in the movie theater if there’s an animal on the screen.. and then I remember that Rufus is at home!

    • May 15, 2014 at 12:54 PM

      That’s hysterical!! I wonder what makes him do that? My dogs don’t even seem to notice what is on our big screen TV. So I’m guessing no Animal Planet shows are being watched at your house.

      • Mel
        May 16, 2014 at 6:43 AM

        I have to guess the same. I used to care for a dog that was the same way. AP was one statin I could not watch when she was here.

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:53 AM

      I had a dog who used to stay here who was the same way! It was crazy! I could not hide all animals, but I sure tried!

  4. May 15, 2014 at 8:42 AM

    Leashes, because if one even gets touched, the dogs go nuts. Cheese. Trash.

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:52 AM

      The first two on your list are a problem here. Cheese has become our training treat because Maggie likes it, so I cannot hide that one anymore. I have all 4 dogs watching me as I cut it into small pieces. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. fredrieka
    May 15, 2014 at 8:54 AM

    Oh I love my ball, and I love to jump so If I see the hula Hoop I am ready Woof!

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:49 AM

      I bet your mom tries to hide stuff too!

  6. May 15, 2014 at 9:06 AM

    The frisbee!! If Torrey sees it in my hand, she is a spinning whirling maniac until i throw it.

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:48 AM

      Holy cow Mary! I think we need a video!

  7. May 15, 2014 at 10:08 AM

    Ha, right there with you. Doesn’t matter what time, day or night, if Eko hears the sound of a package opening in the kitchen he comes streaking in looking for his share. If I come back from the store with dog treats I have to quickly hide them as well.

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:48 AM

      Yup! Me too Will!

  8. May 15, 2014 at 10:31 AM

    lol! I’ve definitely been known to hide a ball or frisbee from the dogs. Treats, however, are impossible to hide – the cats are involved and the second you’re moving in the direction of the cupboard you have 4 big sets of eyes pleading with you.

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:48 AM

      LOL! Oh how I know that. Nick was notorious for sabotaging me when trying to sneak a treat.

  9. jan
    May 15, 2014 at 11:01 AM

    We hide the leashes until it is time for a walk. Otherwise they bring them to us to tell us it is time to go out.

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:47 AM

      Oh yes! Me too!

  10. May 15, 2014 at 11:53 AM

    Whee aren’t dogs so whee don’t know but whee reckon our Mummy hides a lot of things from us. Like opening the fridge door very slowly so that whee don’t realise whee are getting carrot!
    The Pigs xx

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:46 AM

      I think your Mum may be the lucky one. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. May 15, 2014 at 12:46 PM

    Lately, Mom has to hide the cat toy a lot as Bailie thinks it belongs to her.

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:44 AM

      Uh oh! I had the same issue when Nick seas with us. He had those little mice with fur on them. Cupcake loved them.

  12. May 15, 2014 at 12:49 PM

    Dog treats! I definitely (attempt to) hide the dog treats. The crackling sound of any bag beckons my dogs. If I just enter the room where I keep the treats they are at my heels. They have figured out that I keep the peanut butter stuffed Kongs in the freezer. Is nothing sacred around here??
    Catherine Armato
    http://www.dogsluvusandweluvthem.blogspot.com

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:44 AM

      LOL! Apparently not!I also have the crackling bag problem here. Sheltie ears can hear the slightest crinkle. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. JMO
    May 15, 2014 at 4:31 PM

    Baseball or golf on TV. He thinks he is in the outfield!

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:41 AM

      OMG! SO does Jasper! We cannot walk by a baseball park when there is a game going on. He goes crazy!

      • May 16, 2014 at 7:46 AM

        That is hilarious! Can you imagine him in the middle of a golf game? “Oops, excuse us, my doggie got away from me, but look, he brought your ball back for you!” BTW I have a new puppy under my care and the owners think playing tug will ruin him for hunting, and I’m thinking, do you want him to only play ball-chase? Do you want his total 24 hour focus to be on ball-chase? I know some Shelties you need to meet!

  14. May 15, 2014 at 7:40 PM

    This is so interesting – I too try to sneak food for me so they don’t hear me eating LOL I’m too much of a push over not to share with them if it’s something they can have. : )

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:40 AM

      I am too Deb. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. May 16, 2014 at 12:40 AM

    I too do hide toys when are not going to be played with immediately, for the same reasons. I too used to sneak a treat for myself when it was something Jasmine would want and couldn’t have.

    • Mel
      May 16, 2014 at 6:40 AM

      Smart woman Jana!

  16. Maggie
    May 17, 2014 at 2:27 PM

    Treats, for sure. But also leashes and stuffies! Unless we’re ready to give the treat/go for a walk/play with the toys, I have to hide them or else they get all worked up and excited about doing the task!

    • Mel
      May 18, 2014 at 7:28 AM

      You have a big task to hide all of those things Maggie! How clever do you have to be? ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

