Home > Maggie, Pet Ponderings > Does your dog see ghosts? I think Aspen did.

Does your dog see ghosts? I think Aspen did.


IMG_2178I was listening to a local radio station the other morning when the radio host shared a freaky story with all his listeners. It reminded me of my late dog Aspen.

The radio host shared that he had been at home napping with his dog when the dog moved and then sat up and stared at the closet and started to growl. He stayed focused on the closet (and growling) and got up and ran towards the closet. Then suddenly, just before he reached the closet, he came to a dead stop, looked up at the ceiling and then turned around and looked just above the radio host’s head, and growled. The radio host could not get his attention by calling his name and eventually went and got him and brought him back to the bed with him. Of course, he was totally freaked out (as was I!). What the heck did his dog see? Was his house haunted?

When Aspen was alive, she used to do something similar. We would be sitting on the couch watching TV when she would suddenly turn her head towards the entry area near my front door and stare. Sometimes she would even sit up and stare at the upper corner by the front door. I often couldn’t distract her from it either.

There is something freaky about a dog seeing something you cannot see. I cannot tell you how much that used to freak me out. I now think it may have been the front screen door moving in the wind, but it definitely was something that used to set me on edge.

Now that Maggie is here and she too looks all over as if something is moving along the ceilings, I am reminded of Aspen and that familiar tingle along the back of my neck.

Has your dog ever done something like this before? Does your dog act as if someone is not there?
I would love to hear your stories.

  1. Jo
    April 8, 2014 at 7:13 AM

    My William used to be sound asleep. He would wake up, then sit up on my lap and stare at the stairs. His eyes would go up the stairs. Sometimes he would whimper, not in fear or anything but kind of an acknowledgement. I could never get his attention and then he would look at me, and either go back to sleep or just sit there. He never seemed agitated.

  2. April 8, 2014 at 7:33 AM

    Us anipals are super sensitive to stuff like that. Me and the two purr things have done this from time to time. Mom and dad don’t get scared or anything. They’ve kind of gotten used to it. We also have a ‘squeak’ that happens in our house often. Kind of like a toy squeak that always happens when we are *all* in the same room. XOXO – Bacon

  3. April 8, 2014 at 8:28 AM

    Ooooo, that would freak me out.

  4. April 8, 2014 at 8:37 AM

    Our Huskies stared sometimes on the ceiling too and went in “ready-for-rumble-position”, without a reason for us. Maybe they really heard or felt something…. but I’m not sure if I would like to know what it was :o)

  5. April 8, 2014 at 10:15 AM

    I do the same thing with the front door sometimes…and we do NOT have a screen door that would make noise. I even walk up to the door and look up, as if at something, but nothing is there. Once, I scared Ma because I went to the stool by the bar, sat down (as if commanded to do so) and just stared up as if someone was sitting there. I think we animals see things that humans cannot.

  6. fredrieka
    April 8, 2014 at 12:04 PM

    old Cissy is afraid of her own shadow sometimes Woof

  7. April 8, 2014 at 12:45 PM

    Yikes! That would totally freak me out!!

  8. April 8, 2014 at 1:09 PM

    Sometimes Vlad stares and barks at my Dannyboy’s ashes box. But I’m convinced that Dannyboy’s still here with me anyway. Sometimes my hand gets warm when I touch the box when I’m upset about something.

  9. jan
    April 8, 2014 at 1:56 PM

    Our cat does this all the time. We are not sure if she sees in another dimension or is just screwing with our minds.

  10. April 8, 2014 at 2:54 PM

    Katie always likes to look like something is there, but the moment Mom looks she puts her head down…kind of a teasing game she plays with Mom.

  11. April 9, 2014 at 1:01 AM

    Well, seeing ghosts could possibly be an explanation for Jasmine’s episodes. As good as any, anyway.

    Are they really seeing ghosts? Perhaps …? Most likely it’s something we can’t perceive. Cookie, for example, hears mice under the snow. There is nothing to be seen or nothing to be heard. But the way she leaps in particular spots, she KNOWS the mouse or mole is in there. The only way I can figure she knows where they are is by hearing them.

    So anyway, back to the question. Can dog see ghosts? I suppose that if ghosts exist dogs might be able to see them.

  12. Sue
    April 9, 2014 at 7:24 AM

    I do believe in spirits. We lived in a 250+ house in VA and they “visited” once in awhile. We could smell tobacco pipe odor, heard music, and sometimes soft voices. All were “happy” homey sounds. One of our dogs, Tucker, would become very excited and race to the third floor where we’d hear him skittering around and playing. The third floor was where the children slept oh, so many years ago.

  13. kimberlygauthier
    April 13, 2014 at 6:11 PM

    Sydney saw a ghost in our kitchen once. 🙂

    • Mel
      April 13, 2014 at 9:57 PM

      That is freaky!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

