Home > Cupcake, Daisy, Dog Behavior, Dog Park, Jasper, Pet Videos > Favorite Video Friday – Dog Park Dance

Favorite Video Friday – Dog Park Dance


If you live in Minnesota then you know just how cold it has been. We are going on almost a month of frigid temperatures now. Normally we see this for about a week in January, but it started in December this year and is expected to continue for at least another week.

Monday’s high is supposed to be -14 degrees. No joke. The low? -23 to -25 degrees. That’s why I am focused on getting my dogs out as much as possible over the next two days when temps will be above 10 degrees.

Yesterday, the temperature was 1 degree above zero. It was a heat wave. The dogs couldn’t wait to get to the dog park and get their ya-yas out. This is a video of our first few minutes there. As you can see Jasper is very excited and Cupcake was only to express her happiness vocally. I hope you’ll get a kick out of their antics.

Wishing you a Happy New Year!

  1. Julie deRosier-Paul
    January 3, 2014 at 8:35 AM

    Love! We need to talk about your strategy on how to put Pawz on!

  2. January 3, 2014 at 9:26 AM

    Honey usually loves the snow. Sometimes she’ll even bark to go outside just so she can roll around in it. I call it making snow angels.

    But today, she cut our walk short. I guess we all have our down days. I’ll show her the video when she wakes up from her nap to see if I can coax her out for another stroll.

  3. January 3, 2014 at 9:42 AM

    Enjoy the weekend and stay warm!

  4. January 3, 2014 at 11:54 AM

    That’s some happy dogs!! I’m glad they have nice fur coats. Those kind of temps just don’t compute in my brain.

  5. Carole Lunn
    January 3, 2014 at 12:32 PM

    They sure look happy! Finally a trip to the park to burn some energy!
    Lacy will not let me put booties on her, she hates having her feet touched. She has a toe that was clearly ripped off and never treated from her mill days and it is very sensitive. The snow makes her limp, so I have not been taking her out in this cold. We have been playing in the yard, which is not the same.

    Maybe someday we will get out of this deep freeze..

  6. January 3, 2014 at 3:11 PM

    Love this video (as you already know)! Horrible temps. It’s abnormally cold here, too, and I worry about all the pets left outside and homeless pets.

  7. jan
    January 3, 2014 at 3:58 PM

    There was a time when 20 degrees felt like a heat wave to me. Then I moved across country. Now I freeze when it gets below 50. Strange how humans and dogs adapt to temperatures.

  8. whydowepaythem
    January 3, 2014 at 8:48 PM

    And you live in Minnesota why?

  9. January 3, 2014 at 8:55 PM

    Love those Pawz!!

  10. January 4, 2014 at 1:42 AM

    They are so cute! My dog acts the same way in the snow 🙂 Love the booties too.

  11. Toni
    January 4, 2014 at 9:56 AM

    What kind of boots do you use on the dogs?

    • Mel
      January 5, 2014 at 8:05 AM

      Hi Toni – We use PAWZ. You can find them online and in most pet stores. They are like a thick rubber balloon.

  12. January 5, 2014 at 6:02 PM

    Haha, takes me back to when I had my Shelties, except I’m sure their barks were higher pitched! I’d have 6 of them carrying on like that every day, not just after they hadn’t had a walk for a couple of days 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

