Home > Cupcake, Daisy, Fun Stuff, Jasper, Miscellaneous > Meet the Bloggers Blog Hop – Beyond the words

Meet the Bloggers Blog Hop – Beyond the words

December 17, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Meet the Pet Bloggers Hop

Today on No Dog About It blog, I am sharing a little less about my dogs and little more about me. Why? Because today is “Meet the Bloggers” day. It’s a chance for you, the reader, to hop from blog to blog and learn a little more about the people behind the dogs and cats you are so used to reading about.

We pet bloggers tend to be a shy bunch, preferring to let our pets do most of the talking for us. We’re much more comfortable behind the camera than in front of it. At least, that is the case for me.

This “Meet the Bloggers” blog hop is an opportunity for me (and other bloggers) to put ourselves out there a little more and to give you a chance to see us in a new light.

There were only two requirements for the Meet the Blogger’s blog hop were to:

  1. Include a current photo (with or without a furry friend)
  2. Answer at least 5 questions (from the list of questions provided to bloggers last week)

So here we go.

My picture.

IMG_1287

Okay. Okay. I know. It looks like I’m hiding.

How about this one?

IMG_1296

Melissa (Mel) – That’s me!

Have you ever noticed how hard it is to take a photo of yourself?

Or is it just me that has this problem? (Sound of crickets). Yup. I guess it’s just me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Jasper and me by Cathy

Now for the questions and my answers:

    • Whatโ€™s your favorite non-animal related book? I have too many to count, but among them are The Secret Garden and The Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle and Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden.
    • Whatโ€™s your favorite non-animal related movie? Maybe it’s the season, but the only one that comes to mind right now is “Love Actually.” I absolutely love that movie.
    • Whatโ€™s your favorite non-animal related food? Popcorn.
    • Whoโ€™s your favorite actor? Matthew McConaughey. I first saw him in the movie “Amistad” and was blown away by his acting. He has only gotten better with time.
    • Whatโ€™s one thing you have to do every day? Take a picture. It’s an obsession. Being a pet sitter and dog walker gives you the unique opportunity to see the world in a much different way. You start to appreciate the beauty and humor of the world around you. You get to see things that most people don’t because they are off at work. It’s an interesting and amazing world out there. I started taking pictures to capture some of what I saw every day.
    • What makes you feel fabulous? Walking in the woods and listening to the birds and the wind blow through the trees. It’s such a great way to rejuvenate and let go of the stress of every day life. It allows me to breathe.
    • What do you wish you were more skilled at? Walking and taking at the same time! I joke, but the reality is I am extremely klutzy. I tend to trip, fall, drop stuff, and run into things on a constant basis.
    • Whatโ€™s your favorite holiday? Christmas. It’s a magical time of year when everything seems possible and I get to sing Christmas carols at the top of my voice.
    • Favorite meal? Roasted Veggie Pizza.
    • What do you like to do in your free time? Read books, travel and hang out with friends.
    • What one word would people who know you use to describe you? Animal-lover.
    • If your pets could talk, what one word would THEY use to describe you? Goofball.
    • What is one thing youโ€™ve done that youโ€™re most proud of? Runningย my own business for three years.
    • How is your pet most like you? That’s hard to answer since I have three of them, but if I had to guess I would say that they are all most like me in that they love being outdoors and exploring new places.
    • What can your body do for you that makes you most proud? Drive a car? I honestly don’t know. Remember? I’m the klutzy one.
    • If you could change one thing about your life what would it be? I’d live in a house in the woods.
    • Other than blogging, what are three things you do that bring you joy? Photography. Hiking. Reading. Working with dogs. (Was that four?)
    • Whatโ€™s one thing you could do to be more kind to yourself? Engage in less negative self-talk.
    • What drives you nuts about your pets? The barking. (Daisy is the only who doesn’t bark. Ever.)
    • What melts your heart? Hallmark commercials, puppies and a good dog rescue story.
    • If you didnโ€™t have your current pets, what pets would you choose to have? A cat. I miss having a cat.

So now that I’ve bared my soul for all of you, what else do you want to know? ๐Ÿ™‚

Want to join the hop? Click here.ย 

Want toย read more about some of the other pet bloggers in the hop? Click here.

This hop is hosted by:

 

  1. December 17, 2013 at 10:39 PM

    It’s not just you. There must be a “selfie gene” that some of us lack, but the look on Jasper’s face in the first pic is priceless! The dogs may argue your assertion that popcorn is non-animal related…. awww on the cat ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    • Mel
      December 17, 2013 at 10:46 PM

      LOL! Yeah. Jasper’s look had me on the floor laughing. Funny dog. Thank goodness I am not the only one who cannot take selfless.
      I miss Nick.

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 6:16 AM

      I clearly lack it then. It is way too hard to do. THe picture of Jasper and I made me laugh too. It’s the only one I could use of the 20 or so I took that day. Popcorn is always dog-related in my house. Good point! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yeah. I do miss Nick.

  2. December 17, 2013 at 11:19 PM

    This is going to be fun today – to read more about the person behind the dogs ๐Ÿ™‚ I too love that look on Jasper…kind of WTF mom…this is stupid! And Maggie doesn’t bark either…ever. Steve was saying her new year’s resolution should be to learn how to bark!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 6:14 AM

      LOL! I think that is so funny. Good luck on that New Years Resolution for Maggie Steve! ๐Ÿ˜€
      I am so looking forword to reading about every one today too.

  3. December 17, 2013 at 11:46 PM

    Hahaha! Jasper’s selfie is awesome!
    I LOVE The Secret Garden! Favourite book when I was little. Talking about it makes me want to re-read it.
    I just watched Love Actually for the first time on the weekend. I know this isn’t a popular opinion but… meh. I didn’t really care for it. Then again, when I finally watched Pretty Woman for the first time a couple of years ago I didn’t like that either. I think I’m the common denominator there…
    Nice to meet you!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 6:13 AM

      LOL! Yeah I think you have to be a bit of a sap to love those movies, but that’s me. I cry at Hallmark commercials it’s in my DNA. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I was thinking about reading The Secret Garden again too! I love that book so much. Jasper is a silly boy. See why he makes me laugh? ๐Ÿ˜€
      Nice to meet you too!

  4. December 18, 2013 at 4:45 AM

    I hate photos of myself, and it keeps me up at night when one is requested! It’s my goofy smile that drives me nuts! If only I could take a good photo like Maggie, perhaps if I too got a treat, I might have a better result.
    Great meeting you!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 6:10 AM

      It’s funny (not ha-ha funny) you say that because that is exactly what inspired this blog hop. A few friends and I were discussing are uncomfortability with sharing photos of ourselves and how we often hide behind our pets and blogs because we somehow think how we looks makes us inadequate. We all agreed that it was sad that so many of us felt that way. This blog hop is a reminder that being who we are is powerful by itself. We need to love ourselves more. I hope you will reconsider and join the hop. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • December 18, 2013 at 6:59 AM

        I’m already in the blog hop…goofy grin and all!

      • Mel
        December 18, 2013 at 7:47 PM

        Yay! I’m coming on over!

  5. December 18, 2013 at 6:29 AM

    Nice to get to know you! I am like you and hate the pictures of myself (and since I generally take all the pictures I am in so few), so I picked one from my sister’s wedding where I looked fantastic LOL! Have a great day.

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 6:45 AM

      I’ll be stopping over to say hi later today! Thanks for stopping over!

  6. December 18, 2013 at 7:08 AM

    How did I forget popcorn in my post? Popcorn is amazing.

    I love the photos that you post on Instagram, etc., each day. You have a wonderful talent for capturing the beauty around you.

    Also, I’m totally on Team Klutz with you. Clumsy people unite! ๐Ÿ™‚ (I love that we had similar answers on that one.)

    I really enjoyed reading your post… this hop is so fun!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:47 PM

      LOL! Yes it is AJ! I LOVE popcorn! Thank you. I am so glad you love my photos. I love seeing all the cool things you do and see on your Instagram account – including your pics of Tavish and Miss Bella. You attend some of the best concerts too! I can’t wait to hop over to your post.

  7. December 18, 2013 at 7:52 AM

    Oh ya, I love Mathew too. It’s so fun to read more about you as a person, and have a face to put there too. Running your own business is hard, I don’t think people realize that sometimes. So continued great success with that.

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:45 PM

      Thanks Roxy. Yes! Running your own business is WAY harder than people realize. I think one of the hardest things is connecting with other business owners who understand. I wish I were still doing it.

  8. December 18, 2013 at 7:54 AM

    I love the selfie picture of you. It is adorable. Like competing with Jasper, Daisy, and Cupcake adorable!

    And I’m so glad we’re friends around dogs. Because the more hop entries I read, the more I realize that no pet blogger would ever go to the movies with me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:44 PM

      You are WAY too kind Pamela. Thank you. I am glad we’re friends period. I might be enticed to see a movie with thou. I actually like everything from suspense to documentaries. Subtitles are not an issue either. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. December 18, 2013 at 8:24 AM

    I think your selfie is beautiful! I didn’t even put up the one I attempted with Delilah. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve worked hard on perfecting it, I have a tendency to lift my chin up or down when I’m having my photo taken, which results in me looking like I have no neck or I have my nose up in the air.

    The more blogs I visit the more I am seeing how much some of us have in common. I love walking in the woods, it’s just so peaceful. I’m glad you participated in this one, it’s fun to learn new things about fellow bloggers!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:43 PM

      Awww! Thanks Jodi. You are too kind. I didn’t even attempt one with Daisy, so I think we’re even. ๐Ÿ™‚
      You clearly have been practicing the selfie and have mastered it better than I. I have the same issues with my nose.

      Maybe that’s why we all have dogs? A walk in the woods with our dogs is what we love most. I like that.

  10. December 18, 2013 at 8:41 AM

    Don’t worry, you’re not alone on the clumsy front! I’m also a big fan of nature walks, there’s just something so nice about being surrounded by trees and hearing the sounds of birds and streams! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:40 PM

      Oh yes. Just the way you described that walk made me sigh. I love walks in the woods. I am beginning to realize that pet bloggers have two things in common – klutziness and a love for popcorn. Is there a correlation there I am not seeing? ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. December 18, 2013 at 8:43 AM

    That is a fantastic photo of you, Mel! I love it. And, as I read these posts, I’m becoming convinced that being clumsy is directly linked to brilliance. Obviously, our brains are too busy with important things to watch out for cracks in the sidewalk and rocks in the path.

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:39 PM

      LOL! Oh Amy. Brilliance? I don’t know. But I think I can go with it if you believe it is true. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I like to say i have a spatial issue when it comes to my body. Maybe my brain is the spatially deficient one huh?

  12. December 18, 2013 at 8:45 AM

    Great post, Melissa! I’m so glad I know a little more about you now- I’ve really enjoyed this blog hop. Oh, and you’ve reminded me I’ve got some popcorn to eat as my afternoon snack ๐Ÿ™‚ Great pics too!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:38 PM

      Hee hee hee! Is popcorn a staple for pet bloggers? So funny!
      Thanks for stopping by Rachael.

  13. December 18, 2013 at 8:55 AM

    Hi! It’s nice to meet you! I enjoyed your post this morning! This is fun — meeting all my fellow bloggers! I’m bookmarking all the blogs I read this morning so I can come back to them later and subscribe to them. OMD! Where am I going to find the time to read even more blogs when I have hard time catching up on the few I’m already subscribed to?! (((Sigh)))

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:37 PM

      I have to agree. I am loving this hop and getting to know all the bloggers, especially the new ones or ones I have not met before. Be careful subscribing. I did that early on too and now I have so many in my email I can’t catch up! Nice to meet you Sue, Callie, Shadow and Ducky!

  14. December 18, 2013 at 9:03 AM

    My mom forgot to enter this hop, she is mean. But I love your post and I love Love Actually ( I like Alan Rickman)

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:36 PM

      Oh yes. Alan Rickman is awesome. I am also a big Colin Firth fan. OMG. He’s is so good! tell you mom it is not too late to join the hop. It’s going to be open for a few days!

  15. December 18, 2013 at 9:48 AM

    Nice to meet you!

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:35 PM

      Same here Kari. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. December 18, 2013 at 9:54 AM

    Like AJ, I’m also wondering how I forgot to mention popcorn in my post! What a lovely smile you have! i agree – selfies are HARD. I tried to take one of my new haircut yesterday and it was a major fail. I don’t know how folks do them. THe only good ones I’ve ever taken involve Rita! It was great to get to know you! And to SEE you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:34 PM

      Is popcorn another blogger theme (like klutziness)? I don’t know why, but I thought you probably had no problems taking selfless. Guess it’s a lot harder than it looks huh? Rita always looks great in her photos. Of course, it helps to have a human to help. Good to see you too Jackie!

  17. December 18, 2013 at 11:09 AM

    The Secret Garden has always been my favorite book! Don’t you just adore Dickon? Nice to meet you!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:33 PM

      Yes! I love Dickon! It definitely is one of my most favorite books. I would love to have a secret garden of my own someday.

  18. December 18, 2013 at 11:11 AM

    Roooo pasome to ‘meet you’! And I can’t believe you actually want a c-a-t *Waggy tail*

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:32 PM

      LOL! Nice to meet you too Alfie. We have n Entlebucher at our dog park. Such pretty dogs.
      Shhh!!! Don’t tell my dogs that I want another cat. ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. December 18, 2013 at 12:03 PM

    I love The Secret Garden! My grandparents gave me a copy when I was quite young. I still have it tucked away in a closet somewhere. I believe it was illustrated by Maurice Sendak which makes it even better.

    Don’t feel bad about the klutzy stuff, I am sitting here right know with a broken knee cap due to tripping!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:31 PM

      A broken kneecap??!! OMG! Ouch! I am so sorry. It appears we bloggers have that as a common theme don’t we? I hope the healing is going well. Holy cow.

      Re: Secret Garden – I did not know Maurice illustrated it. I know that I loved it so much that I got a copy as an adult. It’s in my bookcase now. It’s nice to meet so many people who love that little book. Magical wasn’t it?

  20. December 18, 2013 at 12:21 PM

    Actually, Mel, you are probably one of the few bloggers I would recognize in person. Your picture of being reunited with your little ‘Lady’ went viral and every time I looked at it, I cried for you.

    There is also definitely a running theme here that we bloggers are a truly klutzy bunch. lol – maybe that’s why we write instead of run? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:29 PM

      Really? That is so funny Leslie. I guess I never thought about that before. I totally forgot the picture too (not the most flattering).
      I hope the fact that there are so many klutzy bloggers gives you a little smile, especially knowing you took a dive this past weekend. I hope you are healing well and feeling better. I think we better stick to writing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. December 18, 2013 at 1:28 PM

    Great getting to know you and now if we ever make it to the dog park in Rosemount, we might recognize you and not just the dogs!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:23 PM

      I think it may be harder now. I just cut my hair! LOL! ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. December 18, 2013 at 1:36 PM

    Wow Mel! We are more alike than I thought! I love to walk in the woods and just take it all in too and one day I would love to live in a log cabin deep in the woods! I’m a total goof and I’m a klutz! Could you imagine us walking in the woods together? Hahaha!
    I totally love that second picture of you! You look so happy and your glowing

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:22 PM

      Yes we do Jen. More than I knew! I also would love a log cabin in the woods. Oh how I would love that. Some day wee will have to meet up and take our dogs into the woods for a walk!

  23. December 18, 2013 at 1:58 PM

    I LOVE A Wrinkle in Time! It was one of the first books I read all of the way through and felt so mysterious to me. Although I have not read it in probably 15 years, I still have that book. I liked a Swiftly Tilting Planet a lot too.

    And “ugh” to the negative self-talk. I sometimes think about the amazing things I could accomplish if I spent as much energy moving forward and going after my dreams as I do feeling bad about myself.

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:21 PM

      I loved A Swiftly Tilting Planet too! I’m guessing we all suffer from a bit of negative self-talk, but sometimes I wish I could tell it to shut up. Amen to your chasing dreams comment. I completely relate to that.

  24. December 18, 2013 at 2:07 PM

    Nice to “meet” you!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:18 PM

      The feeling is mutual Rebekah.

  25. December 18, 2013 at 2:31 PM

    Am I the only person who’s never seen “Love, Actually?” I’m so pleased to meet you, I’ve always loved the name of your blog! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m a big walk-in-the-woods gal, too. It’s so peaceful!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:17 PM

      You just might be the only one who hasn’t seen it yet Laurie. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      You are so kind. I love your blog name too! It looks like there are many of us who love walking in the woods. Wish there were more of them to walk in.

  26. FleaByte
    December 18, 2013 at 2:43 PM

    Taking selfies is an art. One I have yet to master. And popcorn! YUM!!!

    I love your photos and your responses. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:16 PM

      Well thank goodness I am not the only one who has not mastered them yet. Thank you for stopping by!

  27. December 18, 2013 at 3:37 PM

    I love both of your “selfess” and I have no idea how to take one. I love popcorn too, and taking a photo a day.

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:16 PM

      We have a lot in common. I have NO idea how to take a selfie at all. LOL!
      I saw you joined the hop. I’ll have to stop over. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • December 18, 2013 at 7:23 PM

        The only selfie photo I take are by accident. I hit the wrong button and, oh my God-there is the most terrifying image on my phone.

  28. December 18, 2013 at 4:17 PM

    Hi and great getting to know you! I agree that running your own business is something to be truly proud of! I never knew what hard work it would be, but it’s also so rewarding. And totally agree with you about missing having a cat!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:14 PM

      Hi Woof Woof Mama! I didn’t know what hard work it would be either, but I don’t regret doping it. Wishing a new cat in your life. ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. December 18, 2013 at 4:43 PM

    It’s so much fun to see the hoomans behind the blogs. This was a fab idea!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 7:13 PM

      I think so too! I hope you join in!

  30. December 18, 2013 at 7:46 PM

    I agree with you, Mel – walking dogs really put my back in touch with nature. I was lucky enough to do it in the late summer and fall – one of the best times to be outside. We’ve hired another petsitter/dog walker – some young whippersnapper whose knees are better suited to hours of walking everyday – but I must say I enjoyed it for the brief time I did it. BTW I love your photos on Instagram!

  31. December 18, 2013 at 8:31 PM

    Love what you said about being a pet sitter and dog walker giving you an opportunity to see the world in a different way. When I walk with Harper Lee, I try to stop and appreciate every little thing the way she does. No wonder she’s so happy. Thanks for co-hosting this blog hop. It’s a really great idea!

  32. December 18, 2013 at 8:36 PM

    No crickets here…I can’t take a photo of myself AT ALL. I’m lucky I get nice shots of the dogs (sometimes.). Running your own business for three years is awesome – definitely something to be proud of.

    Oh, and I should tell you that I’ve got one or two extra cats floating around these days. Just saying…

  33. December 18, 2013 at 9:18 PM

    Veggie pizza, popcorn, AND we have the same name…it’s a pet blogger connection for sure!!

  34. December 18, 2013 at 10:00 PM

    My husband and I always joke that one of the reasons we didn’t have kids is because we are both a total spaz! Congrats on three years in business ๐Ÿ™‚ My dog walking business was one of the most rewarding jobs I ever had! Love, love, love this post!! So great to see you with your pups!

  35. December 18, 2013 at 10:14 PM

    This is such a fun blog hop! I tried to take a selfie today for my post but it didn’t quite work out! It is really hard to take a selfie or I’m just not very coordinated! Enjoyed learning about you!

  36. December 18, 2013 at 10:20 PM

    yes, MM is indeed a hottie & came up with one of my favorite sayings ever. Remember awhile back when he was caught high, naked & playing bongos? When a reporter asked him why he did it, he said “It seemed like a good idea at the time” Bwhahaha!

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 10:34 PM

      LMAO!!!! Thanks for the laugh Karen!

  37. December 18, 2013 at 10:58 PM

    I love Love Actually! And hiking! And now I have to read The Secret Garden, because it’s everyone’s favourite book! And I love the sly look on Jasper’s face, and the mischievious smile on yours!

  38. December 18, 2013 at 11:17 PM

    So fun to learn more about you! The klutzy thing… yep! My husband prefers that I use plastic cups instead of our glass ones because I’ve tripped, dropped, and broken so many. Oops. Also, I cry at every single Hallmark commercials. Every. Single. One.

  39. December 18, 2013 at 11:33 PM

    The Secret Garden is a great book (and the movie is good as well.) I always loved Dickon, especially how he related to nature and animals.

  40. kenzohw
    December 19, 2013 at 4:30 AM

    Loved that look of Jasper on the first photo, like he is saying “can you find her?”. I really enjoy the photo’s you make and post on FB, you have a gift of capturing the moment. And I am totally with you on the hiking. One of the best things you can do for the soul.

  41. December 19, 2013 at 11:31 AM

    Hahaha!! J love the part where you said (crickets sound) lol too funny! I don’t have much luck taking pics of myself either so no worries! Great getting to know you ๐Ÿ™‚ we just joined at #91

  42. December 19, 2013 at 1:54 PM

    I miss having a cat, too! With all the hounds here and the dog door, I fear for what may occur to any feline living with us. So good to see you and yes, the only way I could get a half decent photo of myself was to take it in the mirror. Yours is much better. Do all dog people love to read, too? Thanks for letting us meet you.

  43. Dawn
    December 19, 2013 at 8:54 PM

    Nice to get to know you Mel! It’s wonderful that so many bloggers love photography and it shows in your pictures. That’s something I’ll have to work on this year.

  44. Beagles and Bargains
    December 20, 2013 at 2:24 PM

    I am the worst at walking and talking. Glad I’m not alone! Running your own business is definitely something to be proud of. It’s definitely an aspiration of mine.

  45. December 20, 2013 at 9:40 PM

    You know…it never occurred to me that you had like a whole “real” name? I don’t think I can ever think of you as Melissa. LOL – is that weird??

    I am terrible at selfies and generally hate them, but I love the idea for this hop and the fact that we dragged you to the other side of the lens. Thank you, my friend. You’re beautiful and awesome. Why you hide!?

  46. December 21, 2013 at 9:05 AM

    Another photographer, I see. My camera is with me nearly all the time. Love your pix. And, as you noticed on my site: another Jasper. (Our Jasper is named after Jasper Fforde, one of our favorite authors.) So glad I met you through the blog hop; another site I’ll add to my feed!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

