Home > Dog Behavior, Fun Stuff, Pet Toys, Photos > What is the doggie equivalent to coal in a stocking anyways?

What is the doggie equivalent to coal in a stocking anyways?

December 16, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

I admit it. I was getting too cocky. I was too sure.

I would read Bunny’s Christmas posts over at Tales and Tails and just laugh. You see her siblings, Kuster and Flattery, have been getting into a bit of trouble lately (Flattery even started eating the fur on Santa’s coat!). They’ve been so naughty that Bunny is worried that they might make it onto Santa’s Naughty List. Heck! They might even end up with a stocking full of coal!

How hilarious! How funny! I laughed because I knew I would never have to deal with that issue over here at Casa del Mel. No way! My dogs are so good! They never get into anything! In fact, I often brag about how well-behaved they are while I am at work. There is NO WAY my dogs could ever make it onto the naughty list!

And then…. this happened.

I’m thinking a stocking full of coal may not send the right message. Is there a doggie equivalent to coal in a stocking? If so, what is it?

The image that greeted my eyes when I turned on the lights in the house.

The image that greeted my eyes when I turned on the lights in the house.

Close up

Close up

From a different angle

From a different angle

And over here too. Someone even managed to remove the back and top of the notepad on the table without shredding a single page of paper. How?

And over here too. Someone even managed to remove the back and top of the notepad on the table without shredding a single page of paper. How?

The new toy basket has a new look. One handle instead of two? What novel idea!

The new toy basket has a new look. One handle instead of two? What novel idea!

It was the duck that got me though. Clearly he suffered greatly.

It was the duck that got me though. Clearly he suffered greatly.

I mean look at the way his legs are splayed out! I'm thinking torture was involved. Was he hiding national secrets? Did the CIA come a'calling?

I mean look at the way his legs are spayed out! his legs must be broken.

I think the basket now has a "well-loved" look, don't you?

I think the basket now has a “well-loved” look, don’t you?

It didn't need the other handle anyways. Who needs two?

It didn’t need the other handle anyways. Who needs two?

The remains.

The remains.

Still works!

Still works!

  1. December 16, 2013 at 11:21 PM

    Bwaaaaaa ha ha ha! Oh my gosh! I am glad I’m not the only one! One of the joys of a multiple dog household is that you can usually never be sure who the offender is — unless she has glitter on her lips!

    • Mel
      December 17, 2013 at 6:24 AM

      LOL! So true Carrie! I have no idea for sure who caused all the destruction. I suspect Daisy and Jasper did a good majority of it, but I will never know. I just laughed and said “Blog post.” πŸ™‚

  2. December 16, 2013 at 11:38 PM

    I’m seeing the opposite over here…best behaviors out of both of mine. They know Santa is watching. Of course, now that’ I’ve said that there is sure to be a catastrophe tomorrow…

    • Mel
      December 17, 2013 at 6:25 AM

      You know it! Be careful what you say. The dogs are listening. πŸ˜‰

  3. December 17, 2013 at 12:04 AM

    Haha! Oh dear! Poor duck. About a week left to get back in Santa’s good graces – I imagine a pup would be about as pleased with coal as a human – can’t chase or eat it, anyway. Or… Can you?

    • Mel
      December 17, 2013 at 6:25 AM

      LOL! Jasper would chase the coal if I threw it or kicked it. He would definitely think it was a toy. πŸ™‚

  4. December 17, 2013 at 6:47 AM

    oh what a battle field…. but I agree, one handle is good too :o) The “coal in the stocking” for me would be dog shampoo or a brush – I hate both things :o)

  5. December 17, 2013 at 7:36 AM

    Mmmmmmmmm, wicker……. Yummmmmm… A newly adopted Aussie Sammy mix that I am walking (well, just potty breaking) had a three inch chunk of basement door in plywood-shreds before I got there. Poor thing, needs a 45 minute walk!

  6. December 17, 2013 at 8:43 AM

    Ruh Roh….For these guys, coal would be something like lettuce. That’s the one thing they both won’t eat. Or a bath.

  7. December 17, 2013 at 8:45 AM

    Totally on the naughty list!

  8. December 17, 2013 at 9:40 AM

    Bwa ha ha. Isn’t it amazing how our dogs work so hard to keep us from being cocky?

    I wrote a follow up note to the SPCA last night telling them how well my foster dog Ginny is doing with her injury. And I threw in the comment that she has not had a single accident in the house (rare for fosters).

    Wouldn’t you know there was a little brown surprise waiting for me on the bathroom rug? It almost seems like magic.

    Glad it was just a mess and no serious destruction that could have hurt anyone. I’m sure the culprit or culprits had a wonderful time. πŸ™‚

  9. December 17, 2013 at 9:59 AM

    OMD! I’m definitely not letting Jeffie, Rudy or Rosie read your blog or see these pictures. Their toys are kept in a vintage basket and I don’t want any of them getting ideas. WOW! Your dogs had some kind of party! :-0 I’m going to quit talking about how good my dogs are… πŸ™‚

  10. jan
    December 17, 2013 at 10:31 AM

    Actually it looks like you were invaded by evil forces, space aliens, zombies, and the dogs fought them off. Don’t convict on circumstantial evidence.

  11. December 17, 2013 at 12:15 PM

    The basket and toys were calling to me, Mum. I had no choice but to attack…

  12. fredrieka
    December 17, 2013 at 1:54 PM

    even though Fred is well trained I do not leave her on the loose when I leave she has a great crate. Now Cissy she never gets into anything being 13 I believe it is to much work. She no longer chews on bones.

  13. December 17, 2013 at 2:54 PM

    Oh my goodness! It reminds me of when we had our first dog….she was an older puppy when we got her, and all was well at first, she had run of the house. Until the day we got home and it looked like a tornado had hit! I was going to say something like “we haven’t seen that kind of destruction for a while” but I am not going to tempt fate!
    Isn’t that one great thing about blogging? We can always at least get a post out of the stuff that happens that we might otherwise just be a bit upset about!

  14. December 17, 2013 at 6:02 PM

    Whoops! Every dog has his day…people too…even the mild mannered ones snap sometime!

  15. December 18, 2013 at 10:30 PM

    Oh dear! It looks like a battlefield. Yep definitely on the naughty list.

    • Mel
      December 18, 2013 at 10:35 PM

      Most definitely. πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

