Home > Cupcake, Daisy, Dog Behavior, Dog Training, Fun Stuff, Jasper, Pet Videos > Help! I’m stuck inside the house with three dogs!

Help! I’m stuck inside the house with three dogs!

December 11, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

IMG_1038My dogs and I haven’t had much of a chance to go for a walk at the dog park this week. The frigid sub-zero temperatures have made it virtually impossible. So we’ve been playing a lot of indoor games and practicing our commands and tricks.

Last night I had the dogs wait behind a baby gate while I hid treats around the living room. Then I let them out so they could search for them. By the 4th round, the dogs were so excited they rushed past me and the gate and made a beeline for the ones they were certain they could find easily. They were so proud of themselves when they found one it made me smile. (Of course, it may have had something to do with me cheering for them when they did.) Seeing them having fun made staying indoors just a little bit easier – on all of us.

I love being able to “do” something with them on these cold nights, but I really wish that we could be walking at the park instead. To be honest, we could all use the exercise. It’s also nice stress reliever after a long day at work. (Can someone please talk to Mother Nature about this cold spell?)

But after hearing the weather report for next week, I am starting to lose hope that we will ever leave the house again. I am desperate IMG_0919enough to start doing 101 Things To Do with a Box. Not a bad thing to attempt mind you, but I really would prefer a little fun in the snow too.

Things may get bad enough that I may have to resort to dressing the dogs up in costumes just to entertain them! (Okay, that last one would be purely for my enjoyment. I doubt the dogs would find it funny or entertaining.)

Are you dealing with freezing temperatures? How are you keeping your dogs busy?

 

 

  1. December 12, 2013 at 12:02 AM

    Actually, freezing temperatures don’t stop us from going for walks. Only when it gets below -20 degrees Celsius we watch for freezing lungs. Otherwise, it’s a party.

    We do play indoor games too, though, such as hiding treats. Cookie is learning to sit and wait while I hide them.

    • December 12, 2013 at 3:54 PM

      It’s been -10 to -17 degrees Farenheit which is -23 to -27 Celsius. It’s been stopping us I am afraid. The windchill has been -30 to -25 too. Just ick.

      • December 13, 2013 at 11:10 AM

        Aaaaaa!! Do NOT send that our way please. I must baby my dogs because we’ve never played outside when it was 0 or below, and single digits means short sessions. Perhaps I am a wuss? LOL!!

  2. coniatthebeach
    December 12, 2013 at 7:43 AM

    Mel, I am happy to say I don’t have those problems here in SW FL but I do enjoy reading your stories and admire your ingenuity. I hope to remember some of the games in the event that some day I have a dog again and possibly have to endure a hurricane or tropical storm. Thanks for the smart ideas!! Stay warm.

  3. December 12, 2013 at 7:58 AM

    I with you Fredrieka is hard to keep busy she still so young. Old dog wants to play at midnight. Help! I know what you mean. It would be boring without them

  4. December 12, 2013 at 9:20 AM

    We were dealing with freezing temps, believe me, no fun at all in an RV. We are now comfortable in the desert in Arizona and actually had a nice walk yesterday.

  5. December 12, 2013 at 9:20 AM

    We’re not dealing with cold temps here, but we’re stuck inside many days, too. I’ve been doing indoor agility with them (jumping over a broomstick propped between 2 chairs, a tunnel out of a blanket thrown over the couch), running stairs, nosework, and we’ve been doing 101 things to do with a box. We’ve also been playing hide-n-seek, where I ask them to wait on their beds and hide somewhere in the house. They have a lot of fun with that one. Good luck, and stay warm!!

  6. December 12, 2013 at 9:41 AM

    I hear you Mel. The cold weather has kept us in more than normal too. Leroy is not happy about that. I actually bundled up yesterday and took them for a walk in the woods because I felt so bad and I was sad that I hadn’t gotten any recent snow pictures. Good news is that I didn’t freeze to death and got some pretty good pics!!

  7. December 12, 2013 at 10:25 AM

    We have -5°C (23°F) and fog the whole day. We play tug of war or (reluctantly) football in the house.

  8. December 12, 2013 at 11:25 AM

    We’re lucky. It hasn’t gotten colder than single digits here (fahrenheit) which Honey doesn’t mind a bit. Our foster, Ginny, has short fur so I put two coats on her. And I wear long underwear. But so far I’m only cold when I get on the bike. Brrrrr.

    Glad you have such clever ways to have fun. About the time the temps really drop here, you’ll probably be seeing warmer temps.

  9. jan
    December 12, 2013 at 11:45 AM

    Cold is relative. We are not used to our 30 degree mornings and, yes we are all wimpsl

  10. December 12, 2013 at 2:39 PM

    When the dogs can’t run around outside in the yard due to rain or something, I do have to be more creative, lol. Great post. Loved the images.

  11. December 12, 2013 at 4:25 PM

    Bailie and I played chase and wrestle in the living room the other night, almost took down the tree…uuppps…this morning was wonderful! Finally above zero, one hour walk, tonight we have another half hour planned. It is looking better the next few days for getting out.

  12. December 12, 2013 at 6:11 PM

    We had a low of 4 today with wind chills. But by noon time it was about 10 degrees. We only got out for a short walk. I think your frigid temps are headed our way, so I’m starting to plan the indoor activities now (writing about that tomorrow)!

  13. December 12, 2013 at 10:59 PM

    Luckily our weather warmed up! Last week we had several days of -30C (-22F) and the dogs didn’t get their usual long walks two nights in a row! We supplemented with raw bones and playing games in the house, but it sure was nice to have it warm up a bit so we can get back to routine and the great outdoors!

    • Mel
      December 12, 2013 at 11:27 PM

      I can SO relate! It sounds like we both look for ways to keep them busy on those frigid days. It warmed up here today too. 🙂
      We made it to the dog park tonight. Tomorrow we’ll go for a much longer walk. Yay!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

