Home > Cupcake, Daisy, Dog Behavior, Jasper, Pet Ponderings > Doggie Morning Routine

Doggie Morning Routine

November 11, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

602680_10201671334374426_2048586869_nMost people who know me probably think I am not a morning person and probably get up a little later in the day. But the truth is I am an early riser who likes to putz around a bit before getting ready for the day. Here is just a synopsis of our morning.

What are your mornings like with your dogs?

The sun is still in hiding but we get up.
The first order of the day? A downward dog stretch.
Butt in the air.
Legs extended.
Toes flexed.
Cuddle time with the Shelties. A scratch behind the ears is heavenly.
Chilly morning potty break.
Check the yard for rabbits and squirrels.
Food preparation under watchful eyes.
Cupcake lies at kitchen’s door. Waiting.
Bangs from Daisy’s kennel door. She paces as she waits for her food.
Towel placed on the kitchen floor. Cupcake is a sloppy eater.
Jasper paces, then sits, as his dish is placed on the living room floor.
Daisy waits anxiously for food to come to her kennel.
She waits again for me to leave so she can eat in private.
Food gone. Inspection tours begin.
Jasper checks Daisy’s dish.
Cupcake checks Jasper’s dish.
Inspection done.
Mom eats breakfast as Daisy slumbers at the other end of the couch.
Watchful eyes hoping for for to fall.
Repositioning of doggie bodies when food fails to come.
Mom’s computer time. Gentle snoring is heard from the other end of the couch.
Computer time ends.
Cuddle time with Daisy begins. Belly rubs are her favorite.
Soon it is shower time.
Cupcake guards the bathroom door; Jasper the bedroom.
Mom is ready for work
One more chilly potty break.
Cupcake announces to the world she is there. (One must let the world know.)
Excited little feet dance their way inside to wait for frozen Kongs before mom leaves.
Slurping sounds.
Nap time later.

  1. November 11, 2013 at 7:55 AM

    We are up around 5:30 daily, Bailie has to be taken out real quick right away, then Mom works at her pc for about an hour and feeds the cats. Next she runs and then we walk, or we all walk and no run, breakfast, then on with the day around 8. By noon, we are all exhausted!

    • Mel
      November 12, 2013 at 6:42 AM

      Holy cow. I can see why you are exhausted by noon! That is a busy day! I think I like your schedule better though. How fun.

  2. derrycats
    November 11, 2013 at 8:33 AM

    I could swear that the dog in your photo is an identical twin to our dog, Paris!

    • Mel
      November 12, 2013 at 6:41 AM

      Really? Which one?

      • derrycats
        November 12, 2013 at 7:05 AM

        The lab sleeping on the couch. Looks just like our lab mix.

  3. November 11, 2013 at 9:25 AM

    We have a morning routine too. Food for the dogs first, caffeine for the mom. Then cuddles, then naps for the dogs and blog visiting for the mom.

    • Mel
      November 12, 2013 at 6:41 AM

      I think I like your schedule. Tell your mom that caffeine is definitely in my routine. It sounds like cuddles are the order of the day. 🙂

  4. November 11, 2013 at 1:15 PM

    No alarm clocks needed here, Eko’s stomach has me up on time every day!

    • Mel
      November 12, 2013 at 6:40 AM

      LOL! I just laughed when I read your comment. I am imagining a Eko barking and jumping on you to tell you it’s breakfast time. What a fun way to wake up. 🙂

  5. November 11, 2013 at 5:20 PM

    Busy day. We are early risers – first order of business feed the dogs – then a bit of work – then a run/walk/yoga and then it’s down to work in earnest. Pretty routine and when it’s off – the dogs freak.

    • Mel
      November 12, 2013 at 6:39 AM

      LOL! So do mine! My dogs love routine. We are early risers too. We walk at night, but I am re-thinking this and may go for mornings and see if that works. I miss morning walks. You see so much more of your own world when you head out in the mornings.

  6. November 11, 2013 at 7:07 PM

    We have a routine. Up usually at 6. I go to bathroom, throw on my sweats, and we go for our walk. This is followed by dog breakfast and first out to play ball. Then I generally have 1.5 hours of work at home time, before play time two. I dress, move a bed to the front door, take the collars off, give the green and go to work. On weekends, they will sleep in, but if I don’t follow the rest of the routine, they tell me off!

    • Mel
      November 12, 2013 at 6:36 AM

      I like your schedule! I used to get up and throw on sweats and go walk other people’s dogs and then come home and walk mine for an hour or two, but since going back to the corporate I haven’t been able to do that. I may have to change things around. Hmmmm…..

  7. November 11, 2013 at 8:35 PM

    Now that’s a busy routine! Mom’s the early riser around here–she’s off to a yoga class a little after 6am. Me? I sleep in until Dad gets up and feeding time commences. When Mom gets home, I know it’s time for the first walk of the day!

    • Mel
      November 12, 2013 at 6:35 AM

      What a great way to start the day. Yoga! I am sure you love your walks as much as mine do. We walk in the evening when the neighborhood is a little less busy. A good way for everyone to get their ya-yas out, including me. 🙂

  8. November 13, 2013 at 11:24 PM

    Our pups have a very definite morning routine. Part of that is because Hub gets up earlier than I do. He figures that Ike and Tina should not have to wait for me to get up to have their food. The biggest problem with that is that he over feeds them. Both pups are over their ideal weight.Trying to get him to measure their food has caused a bit of stress in our relationship.I am perfectly willing to feed the pups. Hub doesn’t think they should have to wait. He also points out that we never went to such lengths for any of our previous dogs. But the are all gone and they were all overweight! Any ideas for how to convince him that it important for the pups to have strict portion control

  9. November 14, 2013 at 5:43 AM

    That sounds like a busy morning routine! 🙂 Harvey isn’t a fan of morning, so much so that he can’t walk properly when he first wakes up, his little feet won’t carry him haha! we like to call it ‘Sleepy Boots’ 🙂

  10. November 18, 2013 at 2:45 PM

    I love this post! It sounds so much like my morning, especially with the stretch and the breakfast routine.

  1. March 28, 2014 at 4:08 AM

Leave a Reply

