Home > Cupcake, Dog Behavior, Dog Training, Pet Products > The demise of Daylight Saving Time and the Dawn of Dog Game Nights

The demise of Daylight Saving Time and the Dawn of Dog Game Nights


IMG_8929It’s getting to be that time of year again. The time when darkness pervades our mornings and our nights and Daylight Saving Time (DST) ends. it’s my least favorite time of year because it means the dogs and I will be relegated to walking in the dark or just on weekends.

Cupcake is a pro at Chess

Cupcake is a pro at Chess

If I lived in Arizona or Hawaii or Puerto Rico or the Virgin Islands, I wouldn’t have to set my clock back at all and the dogs and I could walk in the morning. But since we live in Minnesota, and no one has seen fit to get rid of this archaic and outdated policy, we will be making the best of it by playing dog puzzles and other silly games.

Truthfully, the dogs actually love our dog game nights. They look forward to taking their turn at finding treats in the dog chess game or digging a Kong out of a box and taking it out of a sock. It’s a challenge and something different and interesting for them to do.

Cupcake has gotten especially good at playing dog chess, so I am thinking it may be time to try some new games. Here are just a few I am looking at. Have any of you tried these? I would love your opinion on which ones might be a challenge for my little dog prodigy.

Nina Ottosson Brick Game

Nina Ottosson Brick Interactive Toy

Nina Ottosson Dog Tornado  Interactive Toy

Nina Ottosson Dog Tornado Interactive Toy

Nina Ottosson Dog Turbo Interactive Toy

Nina Ottosson Dog Turbo Interactive Toy

Hagen Dogit Mind Games

Hagen Dogit Mind Games 3-in-1 Interactive Smart Toy for Dogs

  1. October 28, 2013 at 9:57 PM

    We hate this time of year too. the worst is getting the dogs back on track, they don’t know dinner is at a different time now. I haven’t tried any of those games, but I can Torrey loving them.

  2. victorialynncarter
    October 28, 2013 at 10:21 PM

    We don’t like the lack of daylight hours either, not just because it means less time for the dogs adventures, but for all our projects and garden. TN falls/winters are not the best for most of the plants we have. Adding the moving and covering of the plants means for less time for us and the dogs.

    • Mel
      October 28, 2013 at 10:46 PM

      I can SO relate Victoria. Our plants are usually covered up by lots of snow, so time outdoors is spent hiking or snow-shoeing or skiing. I think I would prefer Tennessee. It’s beautiful all year round.

      • victorialynncarter
        October 28, 2013 at 11:33 PM

        It is beautiful Mel, the weather seems to be more fickle than most places I’ve lived. For example, this year we got our first frost/freeze the past week, almost a month earlier than the norm. It has warmed up again to the average temps, but we were NOT prepared for that early of a cold snap! lol

  3. John Heilman
    October 28, 2013 at 10:29 PM

    One of our guys loves the dark. He goes out to pee and stays out exploring until I go out in the Montana cold and whistle for him. I think he hides and waits for me.

    • Mel
      October 28, 2013 at 10:44 PM

      I think I might enjoy that dark more in Montana John. I bet it is beautiful. No wonder he hides! 🙂

  4. October 29, 2013 at 6:41 AM

    We don’t like changing the time, but we do like walking in the dark in the mornings, it is rather peaceful, just something different. My sister and I have a couple of those nose/sniffing games that we like to work on.

  5. October 29, 2013 at 7:05 AM

    Yes it is the dreaded walk in the dark time of year . . .

  6. October 29, 2013 at 9:09 AM

    Saskatchewan is the only province that doesn’t participate in DST in Canada – and that’s not enough incentive for me to live there, so I’m stuck adjusting too (they should really just abolish it at this point). Although I’ve always liked the “fall back” the most because I am NOT a morning person and it’s always meant an extra hour of sleeping in 🙂
    But, regardless of the change there will always be some winter days that mean no daylight dog walking during the week – it’s almost like that right now anyway. We don’t mind. Dark and snowy means the streets are left almost solely for us – it’s pretty peaceful, actually.

  7. Jane Likes to Run
    October 29, 2013 at 9:09 AM

    I have the exact same problem. Living in Minnesota is terrible sometimes. I have a toy similar to the last one for my dog but it is not very challenging. I also have a treat laugher where I throw treats across the longest roominthe house or down the stairs. Not quite the same but it burns energy.

  8. October 30, 2013 at 9:00 PM

    We love these games! We have the Brick interactive and the Tornado. Jack and Maggie both love them. Maggie was a little tentative at first, but once she got the hang of it, she beats Jack sometimes. These are great mental exercises and we use them at least 1-2 per week.

    • Mel
      October 30, 2013 at 9:19 PM

      That is awesome SlimDoggy! Which one is more difficult of the two you have? I need a harder puzzle for Cupcake. I am so glad you have some experience with them!

  9. October 31, 2013 at 4:03 PM

    Yes! I’ve tried those! I blogged about it last year, feeling exactly the same way about my doggies being cooped up. http://karineumeyer.com/2012/12/23/give-doggies-the-gift-of-mental-stimulation/ The only one I haven’t tried is the Turbo, which looks like it requires the dog to figure out how to release the treats. Might be too challenging for Leo, who would just pick the whole thing up and shake it. That’s what he does with the Brick, instead of using his schnozz to slide the bones.

    With Mind Games, I use it with the round plate thing that covers the treats. They can just slide it over, but I think you can make it more challenging by using the other pieces. The Tornado consistently takes a little more time to eat out of, because of the spinning. It’s probably my favorite. We feed the dogs out of it every night, along with the other toy I mention in my post, the Aikiou paw: http://aikiou.com/aikiou-dog-bowls-and-feeders/

  1. November 18, 2013 at 7:06 AM

Leave a Reply

