Home > Blog the Change for Animals, Lost Dogs, Missing Pets, Pet Safety, Shelties > Blog the Change For Animals – Help a Lost Dog in Need. Help Tucker.

Blog the Change For Animals – Help a Lost Dog in Need. Help Tucker.


Blog the ChangeOctober 15th is Blog the Change for Animals Day. It’s a day when bloggers unite to bring attention back to an animal cause they care deeply about. It’s also a day in which you, our friends and readers, can also do something small to make the difference in the life of an animal.

Today I am continuing the theme from the last Blog the Change, by asking for your help to spread the word about:
1. A little lost Sheltie in Minnesota, and
2. Another missing dog from your own area.

Two years ago next month, I lost my own Sheltie, Cupcake, when she slipped her collar after being frightened. For 11 days I lived in fear that she might be hit by a car, harmed by coyotes, or simply disappear forever, never to be found again.  Fortunately, I was surrounded by people who cared enough to share Cupcake’s story and made sure that word got out about her. People I didn’t even know spread the word and because of them (because of many of you), Cupcake was brought home safely. It was a miracle I will never forget. It’s a miracle I wish for every owner of a lost dog.

Now there is another lost Sheltie that needs our help. His name is Tucker and he has been missing since August 23 of this year. He went missing while away from home and in the care of someone else.

He is very much missed by his family, who has done everything to find him, including handing out flyers, making signs, spreading the word online, traveling to the town he went missing in every weekend, and speaking with animal communicators to try to find him.  What makes finding Tucker so much more important is that he also serves as a support dog and friend for the young man in his home. He misses him deeply.

We know Tucker is out there. We just need to find him.

Tucker has been sighted most recently sighted in Jordan, MN on October 10th.

Still Missing Tucker

How can you help? 

  1. Go to the Lost Shelties MN page and share Tucker’s picture and information on Facebook. Ask your friends to spread the word.
  2. Share this post or Tucker’s flyer (above) on Twitter or tweet “Lost #Sheltie in #Jordan #Minnesota. Support Dog. Brown and white. Do NOT chase. Contact https://www.facebook.com/LostSheltiesMN if seen.”
  3. Keep him in your thoughts and prayers and send him mental messages asking him to seek help from a person.  Ask him to let himself be sighted so we can help find him.

Help another dog in need closer to home

So many dogs and cats go missing each year. Many in your own state or in ones near you. Below I have posted several of the well-known Facebook groups responsible for reuniting lost dogs with their owners. Help make a difference for someone else in need:

  1. Take a moment to click on any one of the lost dog links below and share another lost dog  on Facebook and Twitter. 
  2. “Like” the page and help spread the word on other lost dogs in your own area.
  3. Offer an encouraging word to someone who’s dog is lost. You’d be surprised at how much it can help buoy their spirits. I know first hand how much these kind words helped me to not give up hope.

It might seem like a small thing to ask, but every share you do of a lost dog actually does make a difference:

  • Because someone shared Cupcake’s story, I met people who helped me bring her home.
  • Because I snapped a photo of a lost dog and shared it online, another lost foster dog made it back home. (I still have their thank you note to remind me why I want to continue to help others.)
  • Because someone shared, a lost dog someone found was reunited with his owner this past week.

Sharing makes a difference.

Please Be The Change that makes a difference today.

Thank you.

Click on any one of the links below and share a lost dog picture or story on Facebook or Twitter.

LOST Dogs Arizona

Granite State Dog Recovery

LOST Dogs Iowa

Lost Dogs-Illinois

Lost Dogs-MN

Lost Dogs New Jersey

LOST DOGS Texas

Lost Shelties MN

LOST Dogs of Wisc

  1. October 15, 2013 at 12:07 AM

    SHARED. hope he finds his way back home!

  2. October 15, 2013 at 7:31 AM

    Sharing. Just breaks my heart.

  3. jkg
    October 15, 2013 at 9:30 AM

    I am so glad that your Cupcake made it home safely. Duke slipping out of his collar is my worst fear. I am much more comfortable with him in his slip lead now. I hope Tucker finds his way home soon! -Jess @ Life with Duke

  4. October 15, 2013 at 1:16 PM

    Tweeted – and sent a message to Tucker. I hope he finds his way home! So distressing. Poor guy. I’m envisioning the day when you’ll post that he was found!

  5. October 15, 2013 at 2:34 PM

    I shared Tucker on facebook, I hope he gets back home soon!

  6. October 15, 2013 at 2:38 PM

    GREAT BTC post Mel. I so remember when your little Cupcake was missing. I will share this post on facebook and hope Tucker is found. It’s good that he’s being spotted I just hope they can catch him.

  7. Jen
    October 15, 2013 at 3:39 PM

    I hope Tucker is found safe!

    • Mel
      October 15, 2013 at 11:38 PM

      Me too Jen. Me too. Poor baby has been missing 5 weeks now.

  8. November 2, 2013 at 2:18 AM

    I hope this dog is found already. Made me remember of my beloved dog who just dies recently… 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

