Home > Dog Training, Miscellaneous, Photos > Sheep herding (in pictures)

Sheep herding (in pictures)


I love watching working dogs do what they were meant to do. This past weekend, I had the pleasure of helping out at a sheep herding trial and watching several different compete. I was surprised at how many of breeds were represented – Border Collie, Rough-coated Collie, Rottweiler, Kelpie, Australian Cattle Dog, Samoyed and even a Bouvier des Flandres.

Unfortunately, I was so busy watching I often forgot to take pictures, but I did manage to snap a few. Enjoy!

IMG_8644

The morning started chilly and wet, but we did get a small bit of sun.

IMG_8621

Dogs competed with goats and sheep. Goat herding is a lot different than sheep herding. Here is one goat giving me “the look”.

IMG_8646

Rough-coated Collie herding sheep. They herd so much differently than Border Collies.

IMG_8645

Collies, Shelties and other breeds need to remain upright to appear intimidating to the sheep and maintain control of them. Border Collies and Kelpies use their “eye” to control the sheep.

IMG_8611

Traine uses his eye to control the sheep,

IMG_8649

Holding the sheep until the gate can be opened to let them in.

IMG_8651

Moving up to the sheep to move them towards the exit gate.

IMG_8620

A Border Collie at work. Amazing dogs to watch.

IMG_8652

Traine drives the sheep.

IMG_8623

IMG_8648

Traine is told to “lie down” so the sheep can be loaded into the trailer. Even at this distance, he is an intimidating presence.

IMG_8629

A Samoyed herding sheep.

IMG_8647

A Samoyed chasing sheep (not what a handler wants to see).

IMG_8650

Bouvier des Flandres herding sheep. A very different style than Border Collies or Kelpies.

IMG_8655

Getting the sheep into the trailer.

IMG_8643

A stormy and cold end to the day.

  1. October 7, 2013 at 7:29 AM

    A Sammy! Giant Eskies! I don’t understand why Eskies are listed as companion rather than working dogs… The Spitz dogs guarded and herded….

  2. October 7, 2013 at 7:30 AM

    Beautiful photos as usual!

  3. colliebrookcrossing
    October 7, 2013 at 7:47 AM

    Can you believe I once heard some one say that because border collies “lay down on the job” that they’re lazy?! They have a certain style of herding; that doesn’t make them lazy! Some people are crazy, but it’s ok – we just smile and nod when they talk, right? Haha

  4. October 7, 2013 at 8:15 AM

    Very cool. I would love to see that. I get asked all the time if Torrey does that.

  5. October 7, 2013 at 9:06 AM

    So awesome! Doesn’t get much better than watching working dogs do their thing! It would be cool to watch how the different breeds approach it – there’s even video of a chihuahua here herding sheep, which is pretty cool!

  6. October 7, 2013 at 10:22 AM

    I’m a working dog too, but I think I would chase the sheepies! Woooooowooooooo!

  7. October 7, 2013 at 2:11 PM

    One great thing about blogging is getting photos of everything all the time, but sometimes we feel like we miss things while trying to get photos, so we are happy you just enjoyed and almost forgot the photos 🙂

  8. October 7, 2013 at 10:41 PM

    I’ve been meaning to get to this post all day since I saw it on FB this morning!
    Great pictures Mel!
    I’ve only seen sheep herding once at a dog show we went to a few years ago. I was so into to it I could of watched it all day!

  9. October 8, 2013 at 12:41 AM

    I’ve only seen herding on TV. I can’t imagine watching it live. That must have been pretty cool. Hope you had a great time!

  10. October 8, 2013 at 6:20 AM

    You have some lovely photo’s well taken as none appear to be blurred. Looking at your photo’s for some reason remind me of the movie “Babe” (how a pig herds sheep). Nice color contrast. Thanks for sharing.
    Sue

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

