Home > Animal Rescue, Pet Adoption, Pet News > Dogs and Kids – Are we the ultimate disposable society?

Dogs and Kids – Are we the ultimate disposable society?

September 30, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

A Facebook follower recently wrote something on my page that resonated with me:

“I am at the point of wondering why some people want a dog. They don’t want to care for it, they don’t want to train it, they don’t want to exercise it, they want it to be perfect without any work.”

(Yeah. I have to admit, I wonder that too sometimes.)

The comment was in response to a post I had shared about a thirteen year old dog who had ended up at a shelter after the owners had some semblance of sanity and decided that dumping the poor dog in the woods was probably a cruel thing to do to him, this being the dog they had “loved” for thirteen years, and decided to drop him off at the shelter instead.

Amazing.

Shortly after sharing this story my friend, Julie, shared a picture of her new foster dog. She came from Arkansas after her new owners, who obtained her from a Craigslist poster, discovered she was pregnant (at 8 months old) and dropped her off at a high-kill shelter. Thank goodness she was seen by a local Minnesota rescue and saved. She will have her babies in the comfort of a loving home with someone who will love her and care for her until that forever home comes along.

Picture 198Stories like these really make me wonder… Why do people get a dog if they don’t want to care for it, train it exercise it or care for it?

How can someone get a dog they so clearly wanted only to dump it at a shelter later? And, how does someone love a dog for thirteen years and then consider dumping it in the woods instead of caring for him for the rest of his life?

Have we truly become the ultimate in disposable societies? I didn’t use to think so. I used to think it was just matter of someone thinking it was “just a dog” or that we just needed to educate people better on how to train their pets so they would want to keep them.

But then, I came across this story and I started to wonder. Maybe I had it all wrong. Maybe we truly are a society incapable of making a commitment and doing the hard work needed to make a difference. Maybe we just like the “idea” of having a dog or a child, but not the reality of what comes next – caring for them, teaching them and loving them.

Maybe we truly are a lazy, self-involved, disposable society.

It is certainly starting to seem so.

 

  1. September 30, 2013 at 11:13 PM

    All sad but so painfully true. ..even babies are discarded like garbage as we grow into a society that is saturated with violence …and insensitive to humanity in general

  2. October 1, 2013 at 1:34 AM

    One could wonder why people want spouses, for the same reason :p

    “It’s how he was raised” ~Chris Rock
    We want everything “plug and play.” Easy. Ready to go. Perfect. We refuse to accept that world just doesn’t work that way.

    • Mel
      October 1, 2013 at 5:54 AM

      I agree Jana.

  3. October 1, 2013 at 3:41 AM

    Animals being abandoned is shocking enough but these children?! Taken from their home countries and then just discarded when the parents get ‘bored’?! It’s beyond belief.

    The worst real reasons people gave for abandoning their pets that I know of here in the UK included:

    “I’ve changed the decor and he doesn’t match anymore”
    “The puppy peed on the sofa”
    “The kitten scratched my TV”

    People don’t want to work or care for their pets. Guinea pigs abandoned too often when their family gets bored of them or they develop health issues in their old age. The elderly one’s often spend the rest of their days in a rescue because they cannot find new homes.

    One day the world will be different, I just wish that day was today

    ~ Amy

    • Mel
      October 1, 2013 at 5:53 AM

      Such sad excuses. I have heard many of the same before. Yes. I hope the world will one day be different. Things come to easy for us. We can buy what we want when we want it and we don’t have to wait for it. Maybe it has to get hard for us to appreciate the process involved in getting what we want. That way we actually feel gratitude for it and revere it and treat it with care.

  4. October 1, 2013 at 6:16 AM

    I think many humans have no idea what having a dog involves. They see dogs in the movies and on TV, well behaved, just hanging out and that is what they want. Humans these days are lazy and don’t want to do much for themselves, let alone their dog. It is sad but true, and since for most it is easy to just give the dog back, that is what they do.

  5. October 1, 2013 at 9:14 AM

    Holy WTF.
    “Re-homing” children?! I can’t even… I don’t… there are no words. I’d prefer to pretend I didn’t read that.

    I think you’re right about people being enamoured with a white-washed, idealized concept of something, and jumping in without any understanding of reality. It happens all the time with visiting places, starting jobs, etc. Dogs are the same, with a bigger consequence and a living being in the mix.

    Often I’ve found it’s people who always “had dogs growing up” – but as a kid you have no idea the reality. Your parents did all the real work and you just had a furry playmate.

    It’s like going to the waterpark. As a kid, it’s an awesome, care-free time. As an adult, you worry about sunscreen, urinating children, and the bandaids floating in the shallow end.

  6. October 1, 2013 at 9:45 AM

    Everyone loves a puppy and the idea of a puppy. Then it chews, poops, needs walking etc. Then it becomes a hassle for too many people. The problem is people don’t think in the long term when it come to pets.

  7. October 1, 2013 at 11:12 AM

    Roxy the Traveling Dog :
    Everyone loves a puppy and the idea of a puppy. Then it chews, poops, needs walking etc. Then it becomes a hassle for too many people. The problem is people don’t think in the long term when it come to pets.

  8. October 1, 2013 at 11:17 AM

    I just tested the quote option. I do believe Roxy has the right idea, sadly. I have adopted 5 dogs, all were terrific and had been abandoned or returned to their breeders.

    I wish we had a national law, which made every buyer sign a return policy AND every breeder take back each and every puppy for THE LIFE TIME OF THE DOG. Only then would puppy mills shut down.

    Potential pet parents would be screened like at animal shelters and pet rescues to take care the potential parent/family would know they be forever family.

  9. jan
    October 1, 2013 at 11:18 AM

    I have to think most people are responsible and the ones who dump dogs are the exception. Am I just naive? We don’t hear much about the people who make dogs part of their families for years and mourn their passing.

  10. October 1, 2013 at 4:22 PM

    There’s a big story here in the news right now about a young woman who left her newborn daughter in a ditch, later claiming she’d been kidnapped, and how this young woman has now recently been paroled. As horrible as that story is, the flip side of that is that most of the people who hear the story are horrified. I think too often we focus on the bad members of society and forget that the majority are filled with decency, kindness and humanity. For every one person who does a terrible thing, there are many more who stand in disbelief that it happened. We don’t hear stories about all those people, though.

  11. October 2, 2013 at 1:19 AM

    I have 6 dogs. 4 adult rescues, one of which seems to have come from a relatively drama free life. One turned over to AC when she “could not walk” but magically could once her cripplingly long nails were cut. She was riddled with mange and secondary infections, not OK with children. One a mill rescue, formerly fear aggressive. The last a very fearful HW+ gal on her euth day at a “no kill” rescue that couldn’t be bothered. Two here since they were pups, one I took from an AC on her euth day because she had a badly prolapsed rectum, the other a foster failure because he is a large breed working dog that developed dangerous resource guarding issues at 8 months old. We live a very strict rotation system (two of them unfortunately are not OK with each other) and schedule that I made to make sure every one was mentally and physically happy.

    Interesting for me to work in rescue and see all the dumped dogs and wonder if I was the crazy one with the way I live my life around these guys. Nope, just love dogs enough to see things through to the very end. The minute they came into my life they were my responsibility.

  12. colliebrookcrossing
    October 4, 2013 at 3:37 PM

    I wish I could save all the poor “unwanted” dogs in the world. It kills me when I see the local news “showcasing” adoptable dogs. They shouldn’t be in a shelter in the first place. I rescued my boy from a puppy mill when he was 5 weeks old, and when my ex-husband and I separated I had to leave my dog with him. I thought it would be better if my dog wasn’t separated from my ex-husband’s dog since all he knew was life with the other dog. After about 8 months I was going absolutely crazy with my ex-husband’s constant threats to get rid of my dog, so I drove 1400 miles to get my dog back from him. There was no way I was going to let my poor baby boy get left at a shelter. No way in Hell. When I got my dog he was thin, his coat was rough and miserable, and he wasn’t as happy as I remembered him. I put him on GOOD dog food and made sure he started training and socialization and now he’s doing much better. I would willingly move out of a house and live in my truck to ensure that my dog got good food and the veterinary care he needed. Just recently I enrolled my dog in a sort of health insurance plan through his vet, which includes several check ups, all vaccinations, blood work, etc.

    There is nothing worse than a human adopting a dog (or cat, or horse, or any other animal) that they don’t plan on fully caring for.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

