Home > Cupcake, Daisy, Dog Behavior, Jasper, Pet Ponderings > What quirky behaviors do you love about your dog?

What quirky behaviors do you love about your dog?

September 24, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Jasper and his stare

Jasper and his stare

Monday night, as I came back into the living room from the kitchen, I noticed Daisy with her head hooked back over the arm of the couch watching me. I was suddenly hit with a pang in my heart. That was something Aspen (her doggie sister) used to do. She would hook her head over the arm of the couch and cock it back so she could see what I was doing in the kitchen. It was one of those things that always made me smile. It was her “thing”, her quirk, what made her, her. You know what I mean?

Every dog has that “thing” that makes them special to us. That one quirky part of their personality that stands out in our minds. The thing we miss when they are gone.

All three of my dogs have quirky things they do that makes me smile. They are the things that make them each unique and special in their own way.

Cupcake smiles all of the time, barks when Jasper gets excited and loves to steal toys out of Daisy’s kennel, but there are two quirky behaviors of hers that always make me smile. The first is when she goes out for her last potty break before I go to work. When she goes outside, she just barks. That’s it. Oh she’s not barking at anyone or anything. No. She’s barking at the world to let everyone know she is there. “Hello world! Cupcake is here!” It cracks me up every time.

The other thing she does is put her front paws on my lap (when I am on the couch) and smile and waggle her little butt and tail. I just can’t help but smile. I love it when she does this.

With Daisy, it’s that coy look from the end of the couch and the tail thump that follows and the more recent addition of her choosing to cuddle with me. My heart melts every time.

Jasper has so many quirks, Β I cannot even begin to name them all, but the one thing he does that always makes me laugh is he gives me something I call “the stare.” I never know what he is thinking or what he wants, but he does it all of the time. Sometimes he just stands there and stares at me and I stare back at him. This can go on for several; seconds and sometimes minutes. You would think it would be a bit intimidating to have a dog staring at you, but it’s not with him. It’s like he is deeply contemplating something about you and hasn’t quite figured it out yet. It’s quite amusing to see.

I love my dogs. I love their quirks and everything that makes them who they are.

What quirky things does your dog do that make you smile? What funny behavior so they do that makes you smile?Β 

  1. September 24, 2013 at 6:23 AM

    One of my Aunt’s dogs will cock his head to one side watching you and if you do it back he goes further to the side and you keep going further and he keeps going further until he totally rolls over. It always makes us laugh!

    ~ Amy

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 10:05 PM

      LOL! Yours was another comment that just made me laugh out loud. So funny that he keeps going until he rolls over. The image keeps making me laugh. Silly dog!

  2. September 24, 2013 at 6:30 AM

    Mom loves it when Katie rolls on her back and kicks her feet up when she doesn’t want to do something, she loves the way I have “the look” and then I jump and kiss her in the face.

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 10:03 PM

      That is so cute that Katie does that. It appears this is a common dog tactic based on what I have read from other commenters.

  3. September 24, 2013 at 8:02 AM

    Love this post and I love how Cupcake barks when she goes outside! Leroy does the same thing but a lot more!
    My guys have so many quirks I don’t think I could name them all. I love how Sherman rolls over for belly rubs when I walk over to him, he looks so darn cute. And Leroy-I don’t even know where to start with that one πŸ™‚

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:58 PM

      Cupcake just told me she likes Leroy. He clearly understands the power of a bark. πŸ™‚
      Does Sherman always assume a belly rub is coming when you walk by Jen? LOL!

  4. peggyspetplace
    September 24, 2013 at 9:20 AM

    Kelly sleeps on the back of the couch like a cat. Brooks used to melt into a puddle when you patted him. Ike has many funny little things–he relocates towels and potholders. He lies down stubbornly when he doesn’t want to go somewhere. He sleeps on our feet.

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:57 PM

      Kelly is the guardian of the house, eh Peggy? She is so smart.
      I totally believe Brooks would melt into a puddle. He was such a sweet boy. I wish I could have met him. I loved him from afar.
      Ike is so like Daisy. She does the same thing with towels and pot holders. I can’t believe Ike flops down when he doesn’t want to go anywhere. These dogs of ours are so funny.

  5. kkc
    September 24, 2013 at 9:33 AM

    When my black lab Jazzy wants to to out and I don’t notice her dance, she will pick up my shoe and push it on me. The first time she did it, I laughed so hard I could hardly get out of the chair. One day I asked her, “What am I going to do with one shoe?” She immediately grabbed the other one and gave it to me. That is the only time she touches my shoes,

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:51 PM

      Karolyn – That is so smart! Jazzy clearly knows how to communicate with you. Wow. So impressive!

  6. September 24, 2013 at 9:38 AM

    My rescue dog, Vulpe, also flops her head over the end of the couch so she can keep an eye on me in the kitchen. It’s adorable and I can’t help going over to give her a kiss on the nose when I see her doing it πŸ™‚

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:51 PM

      Jenny – You and I are the same. I always have to give Daisy a kiss on her forehead. Isn’t it so cute when they do that?

  7. September 24, 2013 at 10:22 AM

    Mama says we are all just goofy and silly! Woooooowooooooooo!

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:50 PM

      So are my pups. πŸ™‚

  8. September 24, 2013 at 10:30 AM

    Eko is a master actor, and it always cracks me up when he sighs and flops on the ground dramatically before meal time to show how hungry he is.

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:50 PM

      OMG. That is so hilarious Will! Does he really? Has he always done that? So funny!

  9. September 24, 2013 at 1:55 PM

    The grin and expectant look I get every time I open the closet where leashes are kept–no matter that the broom is also there!

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:46 PM

      Now that I can totally relate to! Sage has a very pretty grin, so I can imagine how sweet it must be to see it – even if you are just getting the broom. πŸ™‚

  10. September 24, 2013 at 2:11 PM

    I teach training classes at PetSmart and Max goes to work with me several times a week – he is great with other dogs and helps to socialize the puppies to a big, older dog. If I don’t take him to work with me, he doesn’t come to greet me when I come home. He remains lying on my bed instead of coming to the door. When I go in my room to change my clothes, he leaves and goes into another room. He doesn’t acknowledge me until I have changed my clothes and go into the kitchen to feed him! I guess it is the smell of other dogs on my clothes that makes him avoid me but I can’t help feeling like he is “punishing” me for leaving him home!

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:44 PM

      Linda – I laughed out loud when I read your comment. That is so darn funny! He actually snubs you! Wow. So funny. πŸ˜€

  11. September 24, 2013 at 2:56 PM

    I love when Gizmo jumps and does a 360* spin in the air…when he gets that excited i have to smile and give him a hug

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:43 PM

      Gizmo was already impressive. A 360 degree spin in the air? Holy cow!

  12. September 24, 2013 at 3:50 PM

    What don’t I love about her? I always smile when she crawls between my legs and settles down whenever I open up the recliner.

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:43 PM

      That is so cute Dina! Does it make your heart melt? It would mine. πŸ™‚

  13. September 24, 2013 at 4:15 PM

    Well, Remy the bull terrier has too many quirks to mention! But then all bullies do. When we had Skye, our first bullie, she used to spin under the coffee table like a whirling dervish, always making us laugh, which is partly why she did it! Remy is just silly. He talks to us all the time – one of the most vocal dogs I’ve ever met! He’s a rescue, and the foster family warned us that he likes to talk. They were right. I should realky record his vocals, as they are pretty amazing! Great post, thanks.

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:42 PM

      I am totally impressed with Skye and her whirling talent. Wow!!!
      Remy sounds adorable with all his talking. I never knew Bull Terriers were such talkers! :0

  14. September 24, 2013 at 5:48 PM

    Jack likes to follow me…and when I say follow, I mean he is right on top of me. I can be standing in the kitchen and take one step to the left…and he takes a step to the left. Steve and I laugh about it and tease him all the time. The other thing he does he herd us when it’s treat time. Just before bed he will get behind Steve and herd him into the kitchen. Maggie has started following along too – it’s like a little parade.

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:41 PM

      Okay. This just made me laugh out loud. He actually takes a step to teh left too? Wow! I can understand the herding thing. I have two little herders too. Although, I think Jack may have taken it to a level mine have not accomplished yet. Maggie is clearly learning lots from Jack. How sweet is that?

  15. September 24, 2013 at 7:00 PM

    Aww! I’ll say one for each:
    For Alma, one of her quirks is how she sleeps in the en suite bathroom, on her back, with all four paws in the air. Sometimes moving, if she’s dreaming.
    For Moses, when you pet him, he’ll lean against you and just sink into you… with all 180 pounds of him.

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:40 PM

      I love the thought of Alma doing that. How can you not smile? I wouldn’t mind Moses leaning in against me. I love leaners. πŸ™‚

  16. September 25, 2013 at 1:38 AM

    What a cool topic. I had to think about this all day and come back to comment. If there is one that really gets me, out of all of the dogs, it would be Fiona. She’s so shy and quiet when you have her alone and she will nose bump my hand or thigh to let me know she is happy. It just fills my heart and makes me smile every time.

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:38 PM

      That totally made me smile. I love moments like these. Daisy does the same thing. πŸ™‚

  17. September 25, 2013 at 10:03 AM

    Cute quirks. Rita has a lot too. One that cracks us up every night is when our TV goes off it makes a really loud click, and when she hears that at night she leaps up and runs outside. She knows we are off to bed once the TV goes off, and she’s only got one quick chance to get outside one last time and “secure the perimeter”!

    • Mel
      September 25, 2013 at 9:31 PM

      What a smart girl she is Jackie! Wow! I am so impressed that she knows to do that. So cute and so silly. πŸ™‚

  18. September 26, 2013 at 1:05 AM

    Nutmeg loves to sit on my lap and rest her head in the crook of my arm – at 20 kgs no one obviously thought to tell her she’s a bit on the big size to be a lap dog!! Paddi then lies along side my other leg as close as he can get with his head resting on my foot which the rest of the family think is living dangerously!! Cheeky things but this is how the dogs like to chill after a busy day and watch the tv πŸ™‚

    • Mel
      September 27, 2013 at 6:02 AM

      There’s something about a dog that climbs into your lap, like Nutmeg, that just makes your heart melt. With a Paddi at your side I think one could be quite content. How lovely.

  19. colliebrookcrossing
    September 26, 2013 at 1:54 PM

    Ranger smiles. He pulls his top lip up and shows his teeth. Usually when I have treats in my hand or I come home after being gone for more than 30 seconds.

    He also like to howl at me. It’s a real deep throaty howl that he voices when he’s mad at me. If I won’t let him on the bed he howls. If I won’t give him a treat or toy because he isn’t sitting, he will eventually sit and howl. It’s real short, maybe a second and a half long, but its hilarious. His way of saying “you win this time, mom!”

    He also follows me into the bathroom. He’ll come over to me, try to lick my face like he’s saying “good human! no potty on the floor!” then he’ll lay down. When I reach for toilet paper he gets up and leaves the bathroom and waits for me a few feet from the door.

    • Mel
      September 27, 2013 at 6:01 AM

      That is just too funny. I love that he howls for a treat. He must have learned that it works sometimes. πŸ™‚

  1. October 9, 2013 at 6:02 PM

Leave a Reply

