Home > Dog Behavior, Pet News, Pet Topics > My vote for TV tonight? Hero Dogs of 9/11 on Animal Planet

My vote for TV tonight? Hero Dogs of 9/11 on Animal Planet

September 9, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Search and Rescue dogToday I would like to highlight a beautiful film that will air tonight on Animal Planet – Hero Dogs of 9/11.

Back several years ago, when I was a new dog blogger, I had the opportunity to see a short film called by the very same name. The film was created by a fellow blogger and videographer, Kenn Bell of The Dog Files. I remember the social media sensation it caused and how my fellow bloggers and I shared it on Facebook and Twitter. It was emotional and touching and so beautifully filmed. The film Kenn Bell created was not only a memorial to the dogs who served on that day, but also a reminder to all of us that man’s best friend is so much more than “just a dog.” He is a rescuer, a companion, a friend, and a hero.

A few years later, Kenn’s film was featured at BlogPaws and it generated a lot of buzz from those who were there to see it. I may not have been there, but I watched it again at home and remembered the feelings and emotions I had on that day. Through all the horrors that day, and the long days afterwards, the hero dogs of 9/11 were there to search, to rescue and to comfort.

I have seen many of Kenn’s other wonderful videos featuring some of the most amazing dogs, but it is this one that has continued to resonate with me. So when I read that Kenn had been working on an expanded version of his original film, I was thrilled.  How wonderful to see these amazing dogs recognized once again in an hour-long special.

You can read Kenn’s own thoughts on this momentous occasion, but I hope you will do more than that. I hope you will watch it when it airs tonight.

I promise. You won’t be disappointed.

Hero Dogs of 9/11 airs tonight, Tuesday, September 10 at 8 PM ET/PT (and 7 PM Central Time) on Animal Planet

You can watch a preview here.

You can also watch another one of Kenn’s short films highlighting the ceremony that was held on September 11, 2011, to recognize the dogs who served on 9/11 – Hero Dogs of 9/11: Legacy.

  1. September 9, 2013 at 10:32 PM

    So cooowooowooool! We don’t watch TV though, but maybe Mama can find it on the internet soon. wooooowooooo!

  2. September 9, 2013 at 10:45 PM

    It’s killing me that we won’t be able to watch it, because we don’t have cable!

    • Mel
      September 9, 2013 at 11:00 PM

      Ugh! I wonder if they will have it on Hulu Carrie.

  3. September 10, 2013 at 1:37 AM

    Sounds like a touching film. Whee will get the hooman to find it for us! ^_^

    Nacho, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • Mel
      September 10, 2013 at 6:01 AM

      Good idea kids!

  4. September 10, 2013 at 1:30 PM

    Oh, we’ll try to remember to watch or DVR it! Thanks for letting us know!

    • Mel
      September 10, 2013 at 10:36 PM

      I hope you remembered! It was really good. Had me a little teary-eyed, especially at the end.

  5. September 10, 2013 at 1:52 PM

    That looks like it could be good, but, no TV.

    • Mel
      September 10, 2013 at 10:35 PM

      Poop! I hope you will check Hulu. Maybe it will be on there after tonight. It was a really good show and well-done.

  6. September 10, 2013 at 5:05 PM

    A SAR dog from Indiana who helped at Ground Zero, Kaiser, is still alive and kicking. A local television show about pets recently did a story on him. Brave, selfless dogs, all of them.

    • Mel
      September 10, 2013 at 10:31 PM

      Wow! I did not know that Rebekah. I wonder if he is the one I saw on the memorial video Kenn did. Was he a German Shepherd?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

