Home > Black and White Sunday Blog Hop, Jasper, Shelties > Black and white Sunday #48 – Herding Sheep

Black and white Sunday #48 – Herding Sheep


IMG_6757

IMG_6758

Both images were created in Snapseed.

My thanks to our hosts for this blog hop You Did What With Your Weiner, My Life in Blog Years and Dachshund Nola.

Unfortunately, WordPress.com doesn’t allow Java script so I can’t provide a direct link to the linky, but you can join here.

  1. August 18, 2013 at 5:37 AM

    Bet the collies enjoyed themselves!

  2. August 18, 2013 at 8:36 AM

    Love these shots, Jasper looks very proficient…will have to check out this Snapseed.

  3. August 18, 2013 at 8:50 AM

    What cool shots!

  4. August 18, 2013 at 11:30 AM

    Doing what they were bred to do.

  5. August 18, 2013 at 1:06 PM

    I love to see dogs at work….Jasper looks like he knows what he’s doing!

  6. August 18, 2013 at 3:46 PM

    Get em’!

  7. August 18, 2013 at 4:08 PM

    Great shots! Fewer things happier than a working dog!

    • Mel
      August 18, 2013 at 9:36 PM

      THanks! I love it too.

  8. August 18, 2013 at 7:28 PM

    Lovely photos. I love watching dogs work.

  9. August 19, 2013 at 2:01 AM

    Go Jasper. I used to live on 40 acres of hilly country and my Shelties weren’t very good at working the sheep but they used to love chasing them and catching rabbits πŸ™‚ The best sheepdog we had was our little JRT Josh. He was totally self taught and would leave digging up a rabbit burrow to come and herd the sheep. A couple of our paddocks were 12 acres in size and his little legs would really have to work to climb those hills. He had sides and a stop and barked when necessary, if he’d been a proper sheepdog he’d have been called a handy dog because he could do everything. He was a very special little man in so many ways. I’ve made myself cry as well as smile, it’s only 2 years since I had to let him go and it still hurts a bit.

    • Mel
      August 19, 2013 at 6:47 AM

      Josh sounds like a special little boy Sue. I’ve never met a JRT that could herd. Chase rabbits? Yes. Herd? No. That is amazing. He must have loved living there. I love that he got to do so much in his short life. I’m only guessing, but I would bet most dogs would want a life like that. I am so sorry he is gone.

      Jasper spent more time chasing than herding that day. I was hoping to start training him to compete, but we discovered his sensitivity may not be suitable for herding. 😦

      • August 20, 2013 at 2:43 AM

        Um yes, I had 6 Shelties and none of them had a stop! They just wanted to chase the sheep, no natural instincts there, I think Josh got them all πŸ™‚ We’d leave the Shelties home and just take Josh if we wanted to muster the sheep!

      • Mel
        August 20, 2013 at 5:47 AM

        That just cracks me up Sue. How hilarious! A JRT herding sheep. πŸ™‚

  10. August 19, 2013 at 5:23 PM

    Looks like they’re having a blast!

  11. August 19, 2013 at 11:59 PM

    I love your pics!! here is a little link to Lightroom (crash course) if you want to know more about it http://tv.adobe.com/watch/max-2011-design/lightroom-3-crash-course/ this was our homework for last week πŸ™‚ it’s an hour long, but it can show you what it can do… I am so excited about using it for my photos since I don’t really do heavy editing (photoshop).

  12. August 20, 2013 at 4:38 PM

    Well now, that looks like fun!

    • Mel
      August 21, 2013 at 7:13 AM

      It most definitely is fun! πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

