Home > Favorite Video Friday, Pet News, Pet Videos > Favorite Video Friday – Tribute to Schoep

Favorite Video Friday – Tribute to Schoep


I remember the moment I heard that Schoep had died. I couldn’t help by shed a few tears thinking how his dad, John, must have felt losing the best friend who had remained at his side for 20 years. How rare it is to have a friendship like theirs.

Dogs are the special angels in our lives. They listen to us when we need to talk, they comfort us when we are down, they make us laugh at their silly antics and they often allow us to see ourselves in a different light.

The hardest part of having a canine companion, like Schoep, is always in saying goodbye. We go into the relationship knowing someday that they will move on while we remain behind – often sooner than we hope.

John was one of the lucky ones. He had Schoep for two decades. He had a companion who gave him love, strength, courage and hope for twenty years. I imagine that his goodbye was just a little bit harder just because they had been so much a part of each other’s lives for so very long.

That’s why this week’s video touched me so much.

You have seen this already, but if not I hope you will watch it. It was clearly made with love.

Happy Friday everyone.

  1. August 9, 2013 at 12:03 AM

    i did see this video the other day and thought it was so sweet. I think we were all touched by the story of John & Schoep – and truth be told, envious of those 20 years!

    • Mel
      August 10, 2013 at 4:28 PM

      I know I was envious. Yes. Their story touched me so much, and all the kind people who helped him and Schoep afterwards too.

  2. August 9, 2013 at 6:40 AM

    The love just explodes from this video. Thank you for sharing.

    • Mel
      August 10, 2013 at 4:28 PM

      Doesn’t it? I am so glad you liked it. Jennifer, it’s creator, confirmed the love she felt in creating it.

  3. August 9, 2013 at 6:41 AM

    I will watch it again tonite in full. I know I could not watch the whole thing now….i started getting teary eyed…

    • Mel
      August 10, 2013 at 4:27 PM

      Totally understand Alex! I was all teary-eyed too!

  4. August 9, 2013 at 8:10 AM

    Thanks for sharing this. My old girl is laying on the floor next to me as I read this. I feel so blessed to be able to share my life with such a lovely soul.

    • Mel
      August 10, 2013 at 4:26 PM

      I read your comment and smiled at the image. what beautiful words. I feel blessed too.

  5. martie13
    August 9, 2013 at 9:42 AM

    Every dog should experience a life full of love and caring like Schoep did with his dad. Such a pure example of the dog/man connection that I wish would be emulated a trillion times over.

    • Mel
      August 10, 2013 at 4:09 PM

      SO agree Martie. So agree.

  6. August 9, 2013 at 10:00 AM

    They bring so much joy and happiness to our lives, and it hurts so much when they are gone. What a beautiful tribute to an amazing life and relationship.

    • Mel
      August 10, 2013 at 4:09 PM

      Yes it does Julie. It hurts more than we hope. I hope your pain is easing a bit with Callie gone. I think about you and she often.
      I agree. A beautiful tribute.

  7. August 9, 2013 at 12:07 PM

    Beautiful and so sweet! Woooowoooooo! Ku

    • Mel
      August 10, 2013 at 4:07 PM

      Thanks Ku!!!

  8. Jennifer Wallick
    August 9, 2013 at 1:27 PM

    Thank you so much for appreciating my video and yes, it all came from heart…

    • Mel
      August 10, 2013 at 4:07 PM

      Thanks so much for creating it Jennifer. The love is so evident in the making of it. Such a beautiful tribute.

  9. Joseph Barr
    August 11, 2013 at 6:58 PM

    Yes I have viewed this as well, and always puddle up. Love doesn’t get any better than this. God Bless Schoep, John and the Unger Family.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

