Home > Animal Rescue, Daisy, Photos, Puppy Mills > Daisy: Love in Progression – A look back

Daisy: Love in Progression – A look back


IMG_6216Today I am taking another look back to the early years when Daisy first came to live with me.  Daisy is a former puppy mill breeding dog who was estimated to be four years old at the time I adopted her. She was afraid of everyone and everything. She practically crawled on the ground the first few days she came to live with me. This is an old blog post from Daisy’s blog, “Daisy the Wonder Dog (and how she found her inner Lab).” It highlights the progress Daisy had made after I adopted her in 2007.

I hope it gives hope to those who have a damaged or unsocialized dog. Progress can be made. It takes time and patience and often happens in fits and starts – for every step forward, there are two steps back, but it is so rewarding when you start to take those steps forward.  The key is to never give up hope. You need a lot of patience and understanding. You also need learn to learn to celebrate the small successes.

This post is from July 11, 2011, a little over three years after Daisy first came to live with me.

It starts slowly at first. Very slowly.

Hanging out on the couch next to my sweet older girl, Aspen. Her lifeline. Being near me, this strange human, is too much at this time. But with Aspen as a buffer, she can cope with me being on the same couch with her.

When Aspen leaves us, we start again. She joins me on the couch but only if I pretend she is not there. Always, always at the other end of the couch as far away from me as is possible. Uncertain. Fearful. Alone in her own world.

If I leave the couch or the room, she is gone like a flash, with only the hint of a whisper. Silently. Ethereal. A ghost.

Over time, she discovers that an exposed belly can bring delightful touches. Belly rubs. Softly spoken words. Love.

When a new man enters our lives – a furry, curious, attention-seeking little guy. She discovers competition. Attention to be shared. With it brings little movements – a little scooch closer, and then a little more. And always, the exposed belly. Waiting. More belly rubs to be enjoyed.

As time passes, little movements progress into sideways glances and the thump, thump, thump of a tail. “Will you be my friend?” she seems to ask. The answer is “Yes. Always.” And then, slowly, a nose to my cheek.

One day, there is the lick of a tongue and a yellow head on my shoulder and again that thump, thump, thump of a tail. Confidence. Happiness. Joy. A smile. A new light in her eyes.

Three years pass. Patient, loving, gentle years. Now there is the automatic entrance and leap onto the couch followed by the exposed belly and questioning look “Belly rub?” Me on my computer. Working. And, then it happens… the slow, steady scooching. Closer. Closer still. Thump, thump, thump. Sideways glances now coming with steady progression. Thump, thump, thump. A sigh from me and the moving of the computer to a side table. My hand comes up to pet her ears, her head and neck. A kiss to her cheek. Loving words.

Ahhhh. Sweet moments in time. Savored. Treasured. Enjoyed.

Love.

IMG_7097

  1. July 31, 2013 at 11:21 PM

    beautiful … you are each other’s angels.

  2. justthreadtwiddling
    July 31, 2013 at 11:22 PM

    Between the eyes and the freckled nose, how can anyone resist that face?

    • Mel
      August 1, 2013 at 6:59 AM

      Indeed! How can they? I certainly can’t! 🙂

  3. August 1, 2013 at 12:09 AM

    This is really beautiful and very touching. How lucky Daisy is to have you!

  4. August 1, 2013 at 12:37 AM

    I remember reading that one on Daisy’s blog. And I remember being in awed with tears because it was so touching. I was going through some of that with Blaze and Chance when I read that because it was when they first came back.

    And it is still touching.

  5. August 1, 2013 at 2:23 AM

    Written beautifully. Thank you for sharing this little glimpse of past-Daisy with yourself. 🙂

  6. August 1, 2013 at 4:41 AM

    Oh, looks like you stole my Lilly and wash her in the bleach, to loose cookie colour… bah… can we have our girl back?
    Just kidding!
    Keep well Daisy 🙂

  7. August 1, 2013 at 8:08 AM

    so beautiful. So please you found each other and were able to make such an impact on each others lives.

  8. jan
    August 1, 2013 at 8:57 AM

    I have some friends who just adopted a former puppy mill mother. I have no experience so I am happy to share this with them. Thanks for writing such a beautiful post.

  9. August 1, 2013 at 9:20 AM

    I have a giant crush on Daisy, such a sweetie pie

  10. August 1, 2013 at 9:34 AM

    Reblogged this on Snoopy's Collars and commented:
    Beautiful Story

  11. August 1, 2013 at 12:00 PM

    Daisy, I used to be afraid of everything tooowoooowooooooo! Ku

  12. August 1, 2013 at 12:16 PM

    It happens just like that for so many of the mill rescues. Their trust is so precious when it had been so broken from the start. And it does come, one scooch at a time. They deserve the chance to receive that patient love. I’m so glad Daisy found that in you!

  13. Jen
    August 1, 2013 at 5:41 PM

    What a very lovely passage! Thank you for sharing.

    It’s great to be able to look back and see how things blossomed.

  14. August 1, 2013 at 8:31 PM

    You and Daisy are lucky to have one another.

  15. August 2, 2013 at 11:39 AM

    What a beautiful face.

  16. August 4, 2013 at 9:39 PM

    Such a sweet post, Mel. It’s wonderful to see how Daisy has changed – you two are lucky to have each other. 🙂

    • Mel
      August 5, 2013 at 11:25 PM

      Thanks AJ. She has come such a long way it’s almost hard to remember what she used to be like. So proud of her.

  17. August 19, 2013 at 9:49 AM

    Beautiful story. Daisy is heaven-sent! I’m pretty sure you will enjoy her company even more.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

