Home > Dog Behavior, Dog Training, Photos, Uncategorized > Sheep herding (in pictures)

Sheep herding (in pictures)


This past weekend was long, busy and totally awesome. I had the wonderful opportunity to help out at a small local sheep herding trial. It was really amazing. In fact, I learned so much that my brain is exploding.

I thought I would share just a few pictures from the event with you today. (Please forgive some of the photos. My iPhone is not so good with pictures taken from a distance.)

Away

Away

Corgi herding sheep

Corgi herding sheep

Rottie herding sheep

Rottie herding sheep

Rottie herding sheep

Rottie herding sheep

Kelpie at work

Kelpie at work

The eye

The eye

Lie down

Lie down

Herding sheep into the pen

Herding sheep into the pen

A cute little friend who flirted with us as we got ready for the trials

A cute little friend who flirted with us as we got ready for the trials

Another cute picture of our new friend

Another cute picture of our new friend

  1. July 8, 2013 at 12:14 AM

    I think our BC Tina would be really good at this. Her litter-mate Ike, not so much!

    • Mel
      July 8, 2013 at 7:36 AM

      You should try it if you get the chance. I found out that not every BC takes to it. I guess there are working BCs and show dog BCs and too many of them are now bred for show than herding. Although, there are more BCs who have the herding instinct than Shelties, who have had it bred out of them.

      • July 10, 2013 at 12:09 AM

        My personal infirmities limit my involvement, but I would love to find someone to wok with Tina. The pups’ parents were working dogs, and Tina has a lot of the behaviors

  2. July 8, 2013 at 1:25 AM

    I love this action in colour! 😀 the place feels so vibrant !

    • Mel
      July 8, 2013 at 7:32 AM

      Thanks! It felt vibrant and alive. 🙂

  3. July 8, 2013 at 1:59 AM

    Thanks for sharing. I think it was cool that they used a variety of breeds in the trials. It looked like a fun day.

    • Mel
      July 8, 2013 at 7:32 AM

      That’s what I found interesting too. I never thought of Rottweilers as herders, but I guess they were bred for that in the past (according to one of the judges).

  4. July 8, 2013 at 7:50 AM

    Wow, how fun!! That looks like a great time, and a fun way to learn too.

  5. July 8, 2013 at 9:17 AM

    Great to see “working dogs” do their thing! What fun!

  6. July 8, 2013 at 10:59 AM

    How cool!

  7. July 8, 2013 at 11:28 AM

    That corgi herding sheep photo cracked me up! Fearless. I have always wanted to go to a herding trial, it is so amazing to see the control and skill the dogs have.

  8. July 8, 2013 at 11:29 AM

    Sheep herding is probably my guys favorite thing ever! Too bad it’s too expensive and too far away to make it one of their regular activities.

  9. jan
    July 8, 2013 at 11:36 AM

    I always love the dog-cat contrast as the cat wonders why do all that work if you can’t catch something to eat.

  10. July 8, 2013 at 6:12 PM

    Sage gets that Kelpie eye. She is a natural herder, but we don’t have anywhere close to learn. 😦

    • Mel
      July 9, 2013 at 9:04 AM

      I am so sorry you don’t have anywhere close by. I would love to see how Sage would do. I am not surprised she has “the eye.” You can tell in some of your photos that she has that intensity too. Maybe that’s why I like her so much. 🙂

  11. July 8, 2013 at 11:52 PM

    I had no idea that Rotties could herd sheep.

    • Mel
      July 9, 2013 at 9:05 AM

      Up until last weekend, I had no idea either Karen. The second judge knew a lot about the various breeds competing and she said at one time Rotties were bred to herd. I never knew that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

