Home > Miscellaneous, Uncategorized > Fourth of July Reflections

Fourth of July Reflections


j0227558We’re taking it easy here at No Dog About It today. The dogs and I will be spending a little extra time at the dog park and then we’ll be hanging out at home while I finish painting my bedroom (it’s a project I have been mulling over for quite some time).

I am sure I will also take some time to reflect on this national holiday and all that it means to me.

In the past, my sister and I would have already been out on the road and celebrating the 4th of July holiday in some other town. Our yearly plans always included a road trip over the fourth. From Mount Rushmore to Mesa Verde National Park, from the Grand Canyon to the mountains of Montana and from the Apostle Islands to Lake Tahoe in Nevada – we went everywhere we could and saw as much as was humanly possible.

There is just something so exciting about traveling by car across this great country of ours. There is so much that is unique to America. So much history. So many great people.

My sister and I never planned our trips like most people do, but rather threw caution to the wind and let fate take us along for the ride. I think that’s why our trips were always so magical. We found some of the most interesting places and experienced some of the most bizarre, and fun, events by simply letting go.

Of course, we always managed to see the fireworks or attend a patriotic event on the fourth – a reading at Mount Rushmore, a fireworks display in Red Lodge Montana, and one time, we saw up to 10 different fireworks displays in multiple towns as we drove home from our latest adventure.

When I think of July 4th, I think of these road trips and all that we have seen. I am reminded that America is an amazing place. If you get a chance to get out an explore it, do so. You won’t regret it.

Have a happy and safe 4th of July everyone.

  1. July 4, 2013 at 8:12 AM

    That sounded amazing! To get in a car and to travel , to see the sights of our great country must have been pawtastic. I would love to do that one day. I am happy that the 4th of July brings sweet memories for you.
    Happy 4th of July! May your memories stay with you forever.

  2. July 4, 2013 at 8:53 AM

    How fun that you and your sister did these fun trips together! My sister and I, way back in the day before I had kids, use to take roads trips for dog shows. It was just so much fun and we had some really awesome adventures!
    Happy 4th of July Mel, and Happy Birthday!

  3. July 4, 2013 at 9:37 AM

    Happy 4th you guys!

  4. July 4, 2013 at 10:02 AM

    My mom used to be a flight attendant and enjoyed flying on the 4th and enjoying layovers with great fireworks like DC or Boston. She also took crazy unprepared trips – like going to Asia for 3 weeks with just $200 and buying money from crew members along the way as her paychecks were deposited back home. She has no regrets about that spur of the moment fun. Happy 4th!

  5. July 4, 2013 at 11:08 AM

    That was a wonderful way to celebrate the 4th! My family hopes to make it out west to visit some of those wonderful places!

  6. July 4, 2013 at 12:24 PM

    We wish you and your family a very happy 4th of July. Enjoy the day.
    Best wishes Molly

  7. July 4, 2013 at 1:27 PM

    I remember traveling around the country with my Dad and his friends when I was just a kid (10 to 12 years old). We saw every single national site and it was amazing. I wish I had the time to do that now or at least go back to SOME of the sites. I have to give my Dad Great credit for showing us the country, we spent about 2 to 3 months on the road just site seeing. it was a wonderous time for us, this was in the 70’s and we were all hippies back then…LOL. I had long, Long blonde hair and so did my sister. i Think my hair might have been longer…LOL. Every July 4th was a real blast for us. We always found a large group of people setting off fireworks an we would join in on the celebration.
    Alas…Fond memories… 🙂

  8. July 4, 2013 at 6:41 PM

    Happy 4th of July! Lee and Phod

  9. July 4, 2013 at 10:10 PM

    Happy 4th of July!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

