Home > Animal Rescue, Daisy, Pet Adoption, Puppy Mills > Living with Daisy in the NOW – A look back

Living with Daisy in the NOW – A look back


IMG_4259Today I am taking another look back to the early years when Daisy came to live with me.  Daisy is a former puppy mill breeding dog who was estimated to be four years old. She was afraid of everyone and everything. She practically crawled on the ground the first few days she came to live with me. This is an old blog post from Daisy’s blog, “Daisy the Wonder Dog (and how she found her inner Lab).” It highlights the progress Daisy had made after I adopted her in 2007.

I hope it gives hope to those who have a damaged or unsocialized dog. Progress can be made. It takes time and patience and often happens in fits and starts – for every step forward, there are two steps back, but it is so rewarding when you start to take those steps forward.  The key is to never give up hope. You need a lot of patience and understanding. You also need learn to learn to celebrate the small successes.

This post is from October 28, 2008, almost a year after Daisy first came to live with me.

If you have been lucky enough to adopt a second-hand dog, then you know the wondering that often accompanies their entrance into our lives. You wonder…Was my dog loved in his former home? What was my dog’s former owner like? Does she cower because she was abused? Was he treated well before he came to me? Where did he learn that quirky behavior?

For me, I never had any doubt that my last dog, Aspen, was loved by her former owners. She was such a loving and affectionate dog that I KNEW she had been loved and cared for during her early years. She displayed none of the typical behaviors (cowering, shaking, running in fear, etc.) that would indicate abuse or mistreatment. In fact, I was pretty sure that the decision to give her up was probably not an easy one. She was 9 years old, had medical issues, and likely cost her former owners a good amount of money. However, I did wonder why they surrendered her saying she kept jumping the fence when I knew that her nine-year old debilitated hips could never have allowed her to do so. Were they hoping to avoid giving her a death sentence by stating the truth? Did they surrender her because the medical issues just became too much? Or, as is often the case with an older and sick dog, did they surrender her to avoid having to make the decision to put her to sleep?

With Daisy, I often wonder a whole host of different questions:

  • How bad were her former living conditions?
  • Where did all the scars on her body – the spots where no fur grows – come from? Were they caused by another dog? Or, were they caused by the puppy mill owner himself/herself?
  • Was the puppy mill owner a woman? Is that why she is so comfortable approaching men – even ones she does not know? Is that why she is so tentative with women vs. men?
  • Did she live outside? Is that why her ears have scars? Did the flies bite them?
  • Does she like little dogs so much because they remind her of her puppies?
  • Why did the owner feel the need to tattoo a number in her ear (201)? Were all the dogs that lived at the puppy mill tattooed too?
  • Why was she surrendered to the service organization at age 4? How did she come to escape her personal hell?
I know that I will never have the answers I seek, nor am I sure that I truly want to know all that Daisy has been through, but part of me still wonders. When I am rubbing her belly, something she has only recently let me do, I see those scars and try to imagine what it must have been like for her. Disturbing thoughts I know, but when you love a dog as much as I love Daisy, you think that knowing what happened in the past will help you to erase those memories from her mind. The truth is that I can only start from here. Today. Now.
What I do today can only have an impact her the future, not her past. I choose to give Daisy everything she never had the chance to have before – love, kindness, the chance to run free in the woods, to experience new smells and new friends, and, yes, to have the occasional ice cream cone.
Living in the NOW with Daisy means forgetting about her past and focusing on being with her in the present (and in the future). Being present with her. Spending quality time with her – on her terms, and loving her. Could a dog want for anything more?
  1. June 26, 2013 at 10:21 PM

    From your post I sense that Daisy is a very lucky dog with a new owner that cares very much.

    • Mel
      June 26, 2013 at 10:34 PM

      Thank you. It’s 6 years later and I still adore her. 🙂

      • June 26, 2013 at 10:40 PM

        And it shows…blessings

      • Mel
        June 27, 2013 at 6:55 AM

        Thank you. 🙂 I wish the same to you.

  2. June 26, 2013 at 10:28 PM

    We’ve had so many of the same questions about our Maggie,the scars and places where the hair won’t grow, her aversion to men (not women), the fear of having anyone behind her,, how many litters – she was 9 when we got her, so many years. Questions we’ll never have answers for, but you’re right somehow I feel the answers would help me heal her brokenness.

    • Mel
      June 26, 2013 at 10:35 PM

      We are so much alike. Our girls are too. All you described about Maggie apply to Daisy too. I hope that Maggie knows how loved she is by you.

  3. June 27, 2013 at 3:27 AM

    We know Daisy is part of a loving home and we say three cheers for that. We try and not question the past but when we first got Pip we just tried to be sensitive and move forward. At 16 now she is happy , content and it is like she was always ours. Have a tremendous Thursday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • Mel
      June 27, 2013 at 6:52 AM

      That was smart of you and your parents Molly. I am sure Pip did well because they focused on being sensitive and moving forward. You and Pip are very lucky. Best wishes to both of you.

  4. June 27, 2013 at 4:15 AM

    I also wonder what happened to Lacy and how awful was her living conditions. She was infested with parasites and fleas. I have no doubt that she was abused. She also has many scars and a toe that appears to have been torn off.
    She has slowly learned to trust us and to show us affection. I do know that I do not regret a moment with her. To see her happy now is such a beautiful feeling.

    • Mel
      June 27, 2013 at 6:50 AM

      I am sure you must Carole. I didn’t know Lacy came to you infested. Daisy had one foster home before me, so I don’t know how she was other than being very, very scared and very, very thin. I don’t regret my moments either.

  5. Denise
    June 27, 2013 at 5:25 PM

    Paddi was rescued by us. He shook was underweight , head butted shadows and generally was scared of other dogs. Patience and consistent routine has helped to open up a new world for him. Our other dogNutmeg has gently helped him out of his shell and now they are great companions for us and one another. It’s been the toughest yet most rewarding thing I have ever done . It makes me so sad that his problems were all human made mostly through ignorance. I would encourage all would be dog owners to really ask themselves ‘ have I got what it takes to manage this type of dog and make sure you select one that will fit your lifestyle and what you are prepared to do for that animal.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

