Home > Dog Behavior, Favorite Video Friday, Pet Videos > Favorite Video Friday – A dog and his lime

Favorite Video Friday – A dog and his lime


Today’s video actually came from someone else who just happened to share it on a dog behavior page I follow. It’s been making the rounds on social media sites and has gained quite a following.

I have to admit I found the video quite funny and interesting. It certainly made for some interesting discussion on the dog behavior page – Was he reacting to the fruit? Was he excited? Did his body posture indicate play or something else?

The discussion was a lively one. In fact, so much so that I thought it was worth sharing here.

For those do not know, some citrus fruits can be toxic to dogs in concentrated amounts. While I don’t think Topper, the adorable Boxer in this video, is in danger of ingesting much to be worth worrying about, I did want to acknowledge it in case someone mentioned it.

Meet Topper – and his lime. (According to his mom, he does this with tennis balls too.)

Happy Friday everyone!

  1. June 7, 2013 at 12:58 AM

    It certainly is very unique. I am biased, though, I worry about the violent head moves and the neck. Can’t help it.

    • Mel
      June 7, 2013 at 6:51 AM

      I think it’s a valid point Jana, but when you consider what some dogs do to their bodies it’s amazing they don’t injure themselves every day. (I’m thinking of one particular Sheltie who will chase a tennis ball anywhere without regard to his body.)

  2. June 7, 2013 at 5:57 AM

    OMD that is some head banging. Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • Mel
      June 7, 2013 at 6:51 AM

      It most certainly is Molly!

  3. June 7, 2013 at 6:48 AM

    OMG…That is Hilarious.. :-)…What a funny reaction…I watched it twice because it was SOOOO Funny…LOL!!!
    Alex,Trish and of course Penny!

    • Mel
      June 7, 2013 at 6:49 AM

      It is quite hilarious Alex, Trish and Penny. I laughed too. I think the lady laughing in the background made me laugh even harder. šŸ™‚

      • June 8, 2013 at 9:13 AM

        She is why I played it twice…ROFL!!!

  4. FletchsMom
    June 7, 2013 at 8:12 AM

    Awesome! You have to love a happy dog. Especially one so easily entertained, he’s not running off on the beach or anything!

  5. June 7, 2013 at 8:52 AM

    Hee, hee…too funny!

  6. June 7, 2013 at 4:14 PM

    Honey plays very excitedly with a grapefruit rind after I’ve sectioned and eaten it. She grabs it and runs around the yard with it like it’s the best toy ever.

    I suspect she finds it an interesting texture. But I would not have expected her to tolerate something so tart.

  7. June 9, 2013 at 6:14 AM

    This dog is such a crack up! I’d be happy to supply the limes if I thought Frankie would play with them instead of disembowelling every stuffie I buy him in seconds!

  8. Amy
    June 9, 2013 at 10:08 AM

    You mention a discussion on a dog behavior page – would you mind sharing that link? I am curious to know how the body language is being interpreted… Thanks!

    • Mel
      June 9, 2013 at 10:15 AM

      Hi Amy. I was invited by someone else, but it was less interpretation than observations. The idea behind the page is to just record what you see and not make interpretations. It trains you to be a better observer of dog body language – for example: furrowed brows, dialated pupils, ears pinned back, etc. I’ll email you the group name and you can see if they will let you in. They have strict rules about observing, but it led to a lot of good discussion.

      • Amy
        June 9, 2013 at 10:23 AM

        Thanks, Mel. I’ve been studying and learning about dog behavior and language, so things like this do get me curious! So much to learn still….

      • Mel
        June 9, 2013 at 9:42 PM

        I sent you an email. Hope you can join us.

      • Devisri
        June 28, 2013 at 12:54 AM

        Hi Mel, Im from India and would like to join the dog behavior page as well, can you send me the link?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

