Home > Daisy, Dog Behavior, Dog Park, Pet Videos > The doggie joys of digging

The doggie joys of digging


100_0427

Aspen and Daisy

Before I adopted Daisy, I had a dog named Aspen. Aspen was a sweet hound/shepherd mix that I adopted from the shelter I volunteered at. She loved long walks, meeting new dogs, laying in the grass, and rawhide bones.

She wasn’t really interested in chewing on the bones. No. Her joy was in burying them… in the couch cushions, in my blankets, in her bed, and out in the yard. (I used to laugh when she would go through the motions of burying them on the couch, moving imaginary dirt over them with her nose. It still makes me smile.)

When Daisy came into our lives, Aspen had to take special care with her bones. Daisy loved nothing better than to dig them up and carry them around in her mouth. Aspen would bury her bone in a dirt pile near one of my lilac bushes and seconds later Daisy would follow behind her and dig it up. She would often fall asleep with it resting between her paws.

Poor Aspen was beside herself that this interloper had taken to digging up her bones. If Daisy dropped the bone and left it, Aspen would go get it and bury it again. And the dance went on.

Over time Aspen became so concerned about her bones being discovered that she took to laying near the dirt pile, just to make sure Daisy wouldn’t dig them up again. I loved watching her and Daisy trying to figure out how they could outsmart each other.

Since Aspen’s passing, Daisy has had very little interest in digging. There were no buried bones to be discovered anymore. Neither Jasper or Cupcake have shown any interest in burying their bones so why bother?

Then suddenly last weekend, Daisy suddenly started digging at the dog park. I have no idea what made her want to dig, but she looked like a dog that had just discovered the joys of digging for the very first time. She went at it with such gusto that I’m pretty sure I saw her smile as she gave into one last swipe of the paw. I wish I had caught it on video.

Seeing Daisy’s joy that day and then coming across this video on Sunday just seemed  to much of a coincidence. I just had to share it. I wonder if any of you can relate? Do you have a dog that loves to dig or loves bury her bones? 

(P.S. Make sure you catch the cute look at 1:25. It will make you smile.)

  1. May 5, 2013 at 10:33 PM

    When I give BJ a fresh bone with the marrow in it, he buries the bone in the sofa or chair cushions, in the back of my closet, under my pillows, etc. He’ll leave it there for a few minutes and then go and get and bury it somewhere else. If I happen to walk past the hiding place he runs and gets it. (We don’t have a backyard.)

    I don’t give him fresh bones any more because they have stained the carpet.

    • Mel
      May 5, 2013 at 10:50 PM

      Oh my BJ! I love that he has to go run and get it if you walk by its hiding spot! So funny!
      Can’t blame you on stopping the fresh bones. I would hate the staining too.

  2. May 5, 2013 at 10:36 PM

    Lol. My post for tomorrow is about the Newfs and their excavating skills:) Must be that time of the year!

    • Mel
      May 5, 2013 at 10:49 PM

      No way Jen! That seriously makes me laugh. What are the chances? I’ll have to stop by and see what’s up with the boys. I am sure their excavating skills are superb!

  3. May 5, 2013 at 10:39 PM

    Our dog Tino would bury his bones and his toys. When we rescued him he had a severely injured hind leg, so bad he couldn’t walk on it. We got him fixed up, but he always buried with his nose, he never used his front paws to dig, because of that injury. At first he didn’t know what to do with bones, so he buried them. Eventually he decided they were too good to let go, so he began burying his toys instead. We could always tell when he buried something because he would have dirt all over his nose. He continued to do it even when he went blind at age nine. You can read more about him in our Tale of Tails series on our blog. We have a million Tino stories! Thanks for the smile.

    • Mel
      May 5, 2013 at 10:51 PM

      Aw! That is so precious. Maybe he was protecting his precious toys from being stolen? I’ll have to go check out your Tale of Tails Series. I imagine he was quite a dog. 🙂

  4. martie13
    May 5, 2013 at 11:19 PM

    Jalen was a pit mix who was a digger but I was unaware until she dug a hole into my brand new mattress! Yep, dug right through the bedspread, sheets, mattress cover and into the mattress itself. From then on she got crated when I was not home. Another recent foster would dig in the yard. She was dacshund mix which is understandable. Fortunately she found her forever home before too much damage was done haha!

    • Mel
      May 6, 2013 at 7:01 AM

      OMG!!! No way! Your mattress? Holy crap!
      Wow. I think Jalen takes the cake in this case. Holy cow!

  5. May 6, 2013 at 4:12 AM

    I just dig in the garden to help out. My peeps does not appreciate my skills one bit. OMD the trials and tribulations of having a human. Have a marvellous Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

  6. May 6, 2013 at 5:52 AM

    My first Mal, Boo, loved to bury his marrow bones under the pillows on my bed. Ew!

    • Mel
      May 6, 2013 at 6:59 AM

      Ewwww! I guess he thought it was a safe spot!

  7. May 6, 2013 at 6:18 AM

    We only get bones in the house where mom can keep an eye on us, so no burying them here! My sister chews them right down and I have to chew mine up too or she will steal it. We don’t have the kind that last forever because we may fight over it.

    • Mel
      May 6, 2013 at 6:58 AM

      Your mom is smart to keep your bones inside and where she can keep an eye on you. I used to do that too until I was able to see that my dogs preferred to share their bones. (Of course, Daisy does steal them and hoard them in her kennel if no one is paying attention, but the others just go in and take them back.)

  8. May 6, 2013 at 7:27 AM

    The whole vid made me smile. That pup was so fully engrossed in making the hole, maybe one big enough for him to hide in?

    Georgia learnt to bury bones in Brisbane while visiting her Uncle E over Christmas. Our little backyard is mostly paved, but since coming home, she’s managed to find a few places to stash her bones. Sometimes, we catch her sneaking off to check on them. So sweet.

    I love how Aspen and Daisy had that game and relationship. I think Daisy must have missed it very much when Aspen passed.

    Thank you so much for your comment and observation on my post. I hadn’t thought of it that way before, but it makes me feel better. I did kind of kick ass for a while there, didn’t I? 😉

    • Mel
      May 6, 2013 at 10:31 PM

      Me too Miss Little Pea. I always knew Georgia was a smart girl. I have no doubt she hid them very well. I love that she has to go check on them. Aspen used to do that all of the time too, just to make sure Daisy hadn’t tried to dig one of them up. Silly dog. 🙂

      It’s funny. I worried that Daisy would miss Aspen terribly, but if she did, she never showed it. In some ways, I think she started to bond to me more after Aspen was no longer with us. Strange huh?

      I am glad my comment could make you smile. I truly meant it. You are impressive.

  9. May 6, 2013 at 9:14 AM

    I can just imagine this, too funny and cute.

    • Mel
      May 6, 2013 at 10:28 PM

      LOL! I can too. I have to admit the video made me smile. It was so cute!

  10. jan
    May 6, 2013 at 12:38 PM

    Poodles are not supposed to be diggers, but Misty was intrigued when she saw Chamois dig and took digging to a whole new Poodle level.

    • Mel
      May 6, 2013 at 10:28 PM

      Oh my Jan! Does she still do it? Was she trying to bury you or Chamois? I am imagining a really, really big hole!

  11. May 6, 2013 at 12:53 PM

    All the dogs bury/hide their favorite chews and toys in the blankets in their kennels. One time Wilhelm came back from a weekend with Granny with a stow away from her house “buried” in his crate! I try not to let them take bones outside but when they do, I just follow the dirt to find it!

    • Mel
      May 6, 2013 at 10:27 PM

      Do’t you love that? I love that they bury them in blankets. I have found toys stuffed in the couch cushions too. Makes me smile. Silly dogs. 🙂

  12. May 6, 2013 at 1:01 PM

    I switched my dog’s brand of chew sticks and the new ones were too hard so she took to burying them in the garden to soften them up a bit. I soon switched back to her favourites to save my precious plants from being excavated! Not such a bargain buy after all…

    • Mel
      May 6, 2013 at 10:26 PM

      Now THAT is a smart dog! Burying them to soften them up? Brilliant! Shhhh! Don’t tell my dogs okay?

  13. May 6, 2013 at 2:49 PM

    Sage has a passion for digging, but not to bury something. I have no idea what she expects to find, but continue it she does. Thank goodness it’s no longer in the yard!!

    • Mel
      May 6, 2013 at 10:25 PM

      How interesting Ann. I wonder if she is picking up some interesting smells? I have to agree. I wouldn’t like the dogging in the yard.

  14. May 6, 2013 at 3:55 PM

    Ahhhh, you can tell the doggie in the video found a nice cool patch to lie on! Cool dirt is the best! …. The young pitbull I walked last year would take a new chew and bury it in the couch, her moms suitcase, and she would take it with her on our walks only to bury it next to a bush. I bought them for her to chew!

    • Mel
      May 6, 2013 at 10:24 PM

      That is hilarious Natasha! I would have loved to have seen her mom’s face when she opened up her suitcase and found a bone. 🙂

  15. May 6, 2013 at 6:55 PM

    Honey doesn’t bury stuff. When she digs at home, it’s usually a sign she’s frustrated or understimulated.

    But she loves digging at the beach. All those stinky mollusks just under the sand? I suspect she looks very much like Daisy rediscovering her digging joy.

    • Mel
      May 6, 2013 at 10:24 PM

      LOL! I can see the smile on Honey’s face now Pamela.

  16. May 7, 2013 at 7:36 AM

    For whatever reason, Dexter has decided that digging is really, really fun! My garden isn’t looking so good right now 😦

    • Mel
      May 7, 2013 at 10:23 PM

      Oh no Karen! I wonder if it’s the fresh earthy smell that is drawing him to it? I am so sorry.

  17. May 7, 2013 at 8:04 AM

    When we got our golden retrievers, I ended up having to move all of my flower gardens to outside the fenced in yard! Our female still loves to dig….she digs up rocks a lot. My husband gets frustrated with it, but I always tell him that she is just having fun. hopefully no one ever sprains an ankle by tripping on one of the holes. And where does all that dirt go? When you try to refill the hole, there is never enough dirt!
    I loved the story of Aspen and Daisy trying to outsmart each other!

    • Mel
      May 7, 2013 at 10:22 PM

      Oh no Jank! That is honestly something I have worried about. My problem is less the digging and more Jasper’s inability to understand that flowers are not to be stepped or laid on.

      You have to wonder what is the joy in the dogging don’t you? 🙂

  18. May 8, 2013 at 12:21 PM

    Its quite fun to have these kind of dogs in our homes. As their nature speaks they love to play and that is one of the main factor a dog owner must understand. Dogs loves company and they do stupid things that sometimes we often get mad about. Our pet dogs should be trained at the beginning. Behavior of our pet dogs depends upon us on how we teach and trained them.

  19. May 8, 2013 at 2:24 PM

    Oh those fur babies…They do get the oddest urges when it comes to digging, don’t they? My young girl looooves to go dig up freshly potted plants, flower beds, etc. All those fresh, dark dirt filled flower beds that once had pretty flowers in them are now craters where my girl has dug. She’s always so proud to come running up and show me her black feets 🙂

    • Mel
      May 8, 2013 at 9:40 PM

      Yes they do! I can only imagine the mess you must have had, but the image of your proud girl with black feet made me laugh. 🙂

    • May 9, 2013 at 7:20 AM

      Ha ha, Sheba usually comes up and just looks at me with a dirt-covered nose, a dead give-away, as well as the black paws!

  20. May 9, 2013 at 11:20 AM

    Once in a while Delilah will dig, but never like that. I guess the dog mom didn’t care too much about the flowers. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

