Home > Dog Behavior, Favorite Video Friday, Pet Videos > Favorite Video Friday – Mud Wallowing Dog

Favorite Video Friday – Mud Wallowing Dog


It’s been lovely in Minnesota the last few days. We’ve had a series of 35 degree days and the snow is finally starting to melt. It has me thinking that spring is finally on its way.

Soon the crocuses and tulips will be pushing up from the ground, and the birds will be singing their love songs to one another. I’ll be able to throw open the windows and breathe in the fresh spring air, and the dogs and I can spend more time outside.

Of course, there is one thing that comes with a spring thaw… MUD. Lots of it.

And, who loves mud? Dogs. They love running through it and rolling in it and, worst of all, wallowing in it.

If the dog in this video is any example, than I am in a heap of trouble.  It looks like he’s finessed the whole “wallowing” part. (I’m really, really hoping that my dogs get any ideas.)

Jasper! Get out of that mud!

Happy Friday everyone!

  1. Martie
    March 14, 2013 at 11:40 PM

    Unless you’re within walking distance, how do you get a dog home in that condition? Not in MY car!

  2. March 14, 2013 at 11:53 PM

    Lacy adores mud puddles! I have to be hyper vigilant if there is one anywhere she can get to it. She will dive in head first and roll around happy as can be. Loves water and mud but hates the bath that always follows.

    • Mel
      March 15, 2013 at 7:10 AM

      LOL! I love the image of that Carole. Hilarious! The whole diving in image just made me laugh. 🙂

  3. March 15, 2013 at 4:26 AM

    And so the season of endless rinsing of mud out of dog towels begins…..

    • Mel
      March 15, 2013 at 7:09 AM

      Yes it does Peta!

  4. March 15, 2013 at 6:59 AM

    LOL that is one heck of a mud monster. LOL! Priceless. Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • Mel
      March 15, 2013 at 7:09 AM

      Glad you enjoyed it Molly. Looks like fun doesn’t it?

  5. March 15, 2013 at 8:57 AM

    LMAO, Did you see how he stuck his nose in the mud and sort of fished his way in? Sampson does that up in the brook where we walk, but only when the brook is low and sort of muddy. I actually have a video of it on my youtube page https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdM_FpCttNk&list=UUQfnEkr0mspqkptUWKCOHlg&index=53 We love watching him do this!!

    But then he goes home and has to be hosed off. 🙂

  6. March 15, 2013 at 12:38 PM

    Forget about fancy dog spa treatments, this one knows the benefits of a whole-body mud mask. Thanks for the Friday chuckle. Happy grooming…

  7. March 15, 2013 at 3:11 PM

    OMD, I sure hope they could walk home from there! I’m pretty sure Rita would do that, if I ever gave her the option. She loves to plop down in puddles if she’s lucky enough to spot one when we are out on a hot walk.

  8. March 15, 2013 at 7:34 PM

    Bliss is mud. He was in heaven. It made me laugh see him having such a good time.
    How long did it take to clean him up?

  9. March 15, 2013 at 11:00 PM

    Damn. I hope there was a lake or stream nearby for a rise off.

  10. March 16, 2013 at 1:28 AM

    I think he just missed a tiny spot in his back. Wow!

  11. March 16, 2013 at 7:53 AM

    Oh My! Our Lady would give us such a bath if we did that!

  12. March 16, 2013 at 12:32 PM

    OMD! I think there’s a Golden Retriever under all that mud.

    When Honey gets mud on her hocks and belly, I’m thankful she’s a wash and wear dog. But looking at your video, I’m thinking there’s a limit, huh?

  13. March 16, 2013 at 7:32 PM

    Oh my days, I shudder when thinking of the colour of this woman’s floors.:|

  14. March 17, 2013 at 10:52 AM

    You mean there’s actually a dog worse than Sage? Hopefully they have a clean-off plan like I do!

    • Mel
      March 17, 2013 at 8:37 PM

      LOL! What are you talking about? Sage is an angel!
      I hope they had an outdoor clean off plan. I cannot imagine bringing that dog into the house. 🙂

  15. March 18, 2013 at 12:52 AM

    So glad the Newfs love water so much more than mud. Can EVEN imagine all the Newf hair with that much mud:(

    • Mel
      March 18, 2013 at 6:34 AM

      LOL! I know. I have a feeling that took several baths to get out.

    • Mel
      March 18, 2013 at 10:08 PM

      No! It would be nasty to clean the mud out of a Newfie’s fur! I cannot imagine how long that would take!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

