Home > Cupcake, Daisy, Fun Stuff, Jasper, Pet Ponderings, Pet Products > Do you have one-on-one time with your dog?

Do you have one-on-one time with your dog?

February 20, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Daisy playing Chess

Daisy playing Chess

This past weekend my friend Emily posted a picture of her and her dog, Lilly, on a special outing together. It was their girls day out.

It brought back a lot of happy memories of my outings with Daisy. Back when I was a pet sitter, she used to ride with me on some of my pet visits. I would also take her on special outings to get some ice cream (that’s probably how she got to be 75 lbs back then!). I would buy one ice cream cone for me and one for her. Then, we would go sit in a park and watch the world go by as we enjoyed our cones and each others company.

Seeing Emily’s picture reminded me how long it has been since we’ve done something like that. Now that I have three dogs, it can be hard to get that one-on-one time with any one of them. But last night I had the opportunity to enjoy some one-on-one time with each of my dogs and it felt really good, especially with Daisy.

Since it was so cold out, I decided to switch things up a bit and bring out our doggie puzzle from Trixie and let each of the dogs have their own chance to play with it. The game is called Chess and it comes with 4 yellow cups and a board with sliding squares. Under the squares are little holes in which you can place treats. The squares also have holes in them so you can place treats in them and cover them with the cups. It requires a dog to really use their brain to figure out how to get to the treats.

I decided Daisy would be first. I set up a baby gate so Jasper and Cupcake were on one side and Daisy and I on the other. Then, I placed the game (loaded with tiny pieces of pork) on the floor. Daisy was very nervous at first, not having really played with the puzzle much before, but she was also very intrigued by the smells coming from it.  Since she was nervous about what to do, I sat down on the floor near her. I placed the game in front of her, but she still seemed unsure, so I showed her some of the hidden pieces of pork and then covered them up again.

She tentatively reached out with her nose to smell one yellow cup. Then she nudged it a little. The cup started to topple over. She jumped. She went back again and nudged the cup aside and grabbed the piece of meat. It took time, but eventually, with my encouragement and revealing the treats to her from time to time, she eventually started to figure it out. And with each successive find, she became more confident.

It was so rewarding to sit next to her and work the puzzle together. We worked as a team and had so much fun in doing so.

Cupcake is a pro at Chess

Cupcake is a pro at Chess

After each round, we would just sit there and hang out, I would give her belly rubs and kisses, and she would give me nose bumps and pleading looks for more of the same. It was a very special evening. I can’t remember how many times we did this, but I think it was at least five. I think she loved our time together as much as she loved getting the treats

Afterwards, Jasper and Cupcake got their special time alone with me and we did the same thing. They seemed to enjoy it just as much as Daisy.

Having this special time together with each of my dogs makes me think that I need to do this kind of thing more often. Maybe each dog should have their special day.

What do you think? Do you have special days with your dog? If you have more than one dog, do you take time out to spend it with just one dog at a time? I would love to hear what you have to say.

Jasper loves Chess

Jasper loves Chess

  1. February 20, 2013 at 11:39 PM

    Interesting that you bring this up because its something I try to do with our dogs. When we first got SlimDoggy Jack, we had a lot of one on one time between daily walks and training. Our other dog, Becca was old and had ortho issues and could only do short walks, but Jack needed a good 45-60minutes. Now that Becca has passed and we adopted Maggie, she joins us on all our walks, so no more one on one. But Maggie really benefited from one on one time with my husband. She was quite fearful when we got her, but the first chink in her protective shell from men occurred when he took her to the park without me or Jack. It really helped her start to trust him as he became part of the safe zone. Thanks for the reminder to do this more often.

  2. February 21, 2013 at 12:36 AM

    I do it around here all of the time. Sometimes the only way to not be overwhelmed with 6 dogs is to do one special thing with just one at a time. Almost all of walks are individual because my husband and I are awful at dog walking. lol Then there are other times when one on one is too much and we really need to work as a group and those are just as rewarding as the individual time we have together. It really helps me keep a balance.

    How awesome for Daisy getting over her fear of the puzzle and you doing it together. I love those kinds of moments. They really melt your heart when you connect like that. Good job Daisy!

    • Mel
      February 21, 2013 at 6:27 AM

      I have seen you do it with all of your dogs via your blog! I have always admired you and your husband’s ability to take time to walk each dog on it’s own. I didn’t realize it was because you are awful at dog walking. 🙂

      I love how you guys manager the dogs so well. Thank you for your kind comments regarding Daisy. It was really special.

  3. February 21, 2013 at 1:42 AM

    “Special Time” with Jersey is when Dexter is in his crate, usually at bed time. He’s such a toy posssesive dog that he will not let Jersey play fetch, so in the crate he goes.

    • Mel
      February 21, 2013 at 6:24 AM

      I had no idea Dexter was such a toy hog! I am so glad Jersey gets her own special time with you. 🙂

  4. To Shea
    February 21, 2013 at 6:52 AM

    We used to have a similar toy for Penny, except she would only flip over a few pieces and then start barking at us. She wanted us (her parents) to move the pieces for her. She was no fool, she was smart. Why should she move the pieces if she could get us to move them for her….LOL. We kind of spoiled her… 🙂
    Alex, Trish and Penny

  5. February 21, 2013 at 7:10 AM

    This is one thing that my ma does with us, she spends individual time with us. I go everywhere with her but that is because I am a working girl but there are times she takes me to the walking track or somewhere special so I can have a off work day. She takes sissy spaniel out to lunch and takes Scooby out for a special event.,. In a multipet household my pawents feel that those “special” times alone with them is what makes our relationship more better.
    Thursday’s tail wags!

  6. February 21, 2013 at 7:41 AM

    What a great idea!

  7. February 21, 2013 at 8:39 AM

    I started doing this the last time we had 3 dogs. My husband would run with one of the fosters, and I would take the other foster or our dog to the beach or on a walk somewhere other than their usual stroll around the neighborhood. As a bonus, they behave better on walks when they go without their buddies. I also separate for play and training occasionally. We do “Momma and Gambit time” twice a week and Gambit knows the days and times – sometimes that means the dog park, so not really one-on-one time, but at other times it means a walk somewhere different or maybe running errands together. I’ve been trying to consciously give Eddie individual attention at home (he’s so laid back we forget to do so as he naps) and he’s been a much happier boy.

  8. February 21, 2013 at 9:25 AM

    Your post must have been speaking in my dreams.

    Since Honey is an only dog, she always gets lots of one-on-one time. Until we get a foster dog.

    So this morning, we left Layla home in front of the space heater while Honey and I went out in the bitter cold on our own. We played fetch the pine cone, watched the kids arriving at school, and saw a skunk waddle across the street.

    It’s great that you put some special time aside even with three dogs in the house. And it sounds like the food toy was a really special confidence builder for Daisy.

  9. cafall
    February 21, 2013 at 11:05 AM

    We make sure both boys get one on one time. Sam, being older and slower than Monty, really thrives off of this time to do things at his own speed.

    Sam

  10. February 21, 2013 at 1:41 PM

    As Shiva is our only dog, she receives a large amount of one on one time, especially when I or my husband isn’t at home. Now that I am fostering kittens again I do find I have to be more conscious of the time we do spend together to make sure she, the cat, and the little guys, all get the special attention they need. One of my greatest fears about adopting a second dog is that Shiva will often be left out due to the new family member requiring more attention and training. That is the last thing I want to have happen. I enjoy our little routines and our special time together walking around the city every day. In a way, I am reluctant to have that change.

    • Mel
      February 22, 2013 at 6:23 AM

      I know exactly how you feel Kristine. I felt the same way with my last dog Aspen. I worried that Daisy would hurt our time together. I figured it was okay though because she was “just” a foster. Look where that went. 🙂
      I wouldn’t have it any other way now, but I was a one-dog person until then.

  11. February 21, 2013 at 2:17 PM

    What cute dogs! I have a Jasper and his sister is Daisy!

    • Mel
      February 22, 2013 at 6:22 AM

      No way! What are the chances? Very cool! 🙂

  12. February 21, 2013 at 2:20 PM

    Delilah and I are taking some classes so she gets one on one time with me. Sampson doesn’t care much for the classroom setting so he gets one on one time with Hubby. I really need to figure out a way to have some one on one time with Sampson though. Last night I sat on the floor for about 1/2 an hour just rubbing his head and ears. When it came time for bed and Delilah snuggled up for a cuddle I caught him giving her the stink eye. 😦 I’ll put some thought into this. 🙂 Great thought provoking post!!

    • Mel
      February 22, 2013 at 6:21 AM

      That’s really awesome Jodi. I bet Delilah likes the one-on-one time with you. Poor Sampson. I guess he was enjoying his moment with you. DOesn’t he know girls run he house? 🙂

  13. February 21, 2013 at 11:06 PM

    I have two of those puzzles, Gracie and Henri love them. We do some alone time once in a while but most of the time the two of them have their own fun. Sometimes I’ll give Gracie extra hugs and talk to her since Henri is an attention whore!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

