Home > Animal Rescue, Daisy, Pet Adoption, Pet Ponderings, Pet Topics > Has your dog opened a new world for you?

Has your dog opened a new world for you?


Dog worldThe other day I saw this picture and quote posted on Facebook. It immediately set my mind to thinking.

We have all heard the news stories touting the health benefits of dogs and cats – how they enrich our lives, lower out heart rates and make us get outside and get exercise (even in the frigid cold temperatures in Minnesota!).

But, do they open our worlds for us? Do they make us see things we may not have seen before? Or, help us to realize the vast possibilities before us?

I know that my dogs have taught me to be more balanced and calmer. I’m not sure that has necessarily opened new worlds for me, but it has made me a better person for my dogs to be around.

I think I have explored more, tried more things, and sought new places to walk because of my dogs. I love seeing them explore a new place (noses to the ground, running through the woods, enjoying the water, etc.) and try new things. I guess if you think about it, I am trying new things too!

Perhaps the area in which my dogs have opened a new world for me is through blogging. I started blogging to catalog Daisy’s progress as a puppy mill dog, nothing more, nothing less. I never imagined becoming a part of a blogging community that loves dogs and cats, or having such fantastic readers like you (or readers at all!) who challenge me and comfort me, or learning so much more about dogs and the business that surrounds them. I never imagined running my own business and caring for other people’s pets either. My dogs gave me that too.

The more I think about it, maybe dogs do open a new world for us. What do you think? Has your dog opened a new world for you? How?

  1. February 4, 2013 at 7:28 AM

    Absolutely, I’m responding to your post because of my dog Jack, We rescued Jack about 18 months ago. He was a stray, tossed into a shelter and had been there over a year. He was overweight, hyperactive – on Prozac and hard to handle. We brought him home anyways. We knew we needed to get him on a diet and exercise routine and a firm training regiment. In our quest to get his weight and behavior under control, we discovered the severity of the pet obesity problem in the US. We knew we saw a lot of fat dogs around, but had no idea it was so pervasive. Our efforts got Jack into shape within 3-4 months. He became a great dog, happy, healthy and devoted to us. We knew we had to do something to help other dogs in the same situation, but we knew that many dog owners didn’t have a clue how to approach weight loss for themselves, let alone their dog. And from there the SlimDoggy iPhone app was developed. Creating this product and getting involved in this community has opened up a whole knew set of friends, been a great learning experience, given us an opportunity to share our knowledge and even help out rescue organizations as well. All because of our dog Jack. I could go on about what our other dogs have taught us over the years, but…this post is long enough. Thanks for writing about this – anxious to see others comments!

    • Mel
      February 4, 2013 at 8:38 PM

      Your comment made me smile. I LOVE that you have gone on to educate pet owners on pet obesity. It really is a serious problem now. It’s the number one health issue in cats and dogs. I’ll heck out your app! Thanks for sharing!

  2. February 4, 2013 at 9:12 AM

    Through my dogs, I became involved in rescue which has opened my life to so many new things not the least of which is new friends and the joy of seeing dogs saved.

    • Mel
      February 4, 2013 at 8:45 PM

      That’s how I got involved too Audrey. I also learned about lost dogs throuh my dog, Cupcake. Now I know way more than I ever expected.

  3. jan
    February 4, 2013 at 11:04 AM

    I have had dogs in my life since I was three years old, so I can’t imagine a life without a dog. But then I am constantly discovering new things about them and they show me new things about my world.

    • Mel
      February 4, 2013 at 8:37 PM

      Isn’t that funny Jan? I have found it to be the same with mine. I have had a dog since I was little too, and yet I learn more and more from my dogs with each passing year.

  4. February 4, 2013 at 12:10 PM

    Yes! My dogs have opened many doors for me. Just like you blogging is one of them, but also they have led me to try new things that I never would of tried without them. They have helped me become a more outgoing person and have led me down paths of creating wonderful friendships with people that I may never have met without them:)
    Great post Mel! .

    • Mel
      February 4, 2013 at 8:36 PM

      The same here Jen. Just think – you never would have tried the cart pulling without your boys!

  5. Amy
    February 4, 2013 at 12:12 PM

    Oh my, yes, and what a world it is! I have become fascinated by animal behavior and how humans and animals interact; I am involved in rescue, a world I previously knew nothing about; my girls are learning to be therapy dogs – another new world opening up. And that is just the beginning… can’t wait to see what more unfolds! πŸ™‚

    • Mel
      February 4, 2013 at 8:36 PM

      Me too Amy! I think it’s so cool that you are also working towards your dogs being therapy dogs. I would think that alone would open new worlds. Rescue has done the same for me too.
      I can’t wait either!

  6. February 4, 2013 at 1:47 PM

    My dogs have opened my world up in too many ways to count. I can now no longer imagine my life without a dog in it.

    • Mel
      February 4, 2013 at 8:34 PM

      Same here Jodi. Amazing what they teach us eh? πŸ™‚

  7. February 4, 2013 at 4:01 PM

    They’ve definitely opened me up to things I’ve never done or thought before. Everyday is like a new learning experience with them.

    • Mel
      February 4, 2013 at 8:34 PM

      Same here Gracie. I have learned so much from them and many of the other dogs I have cared for in my life.

  8. February 4, 2013 at 6:46 PM

    I’ve never thought of it really. Like Jan, I’ve had dogs all my life so I can’t imagine what life would be like without them. We may have made more friends because of the dogs, learnt some responsibility looking after something other than ourselves [since we don’t have children]. Nothing too earth shattering LOL πŸ™‚

    • Mel
      February 4, 2013 at 8:33 PM

      More friends is always good! She also gave you an outlet for your humor (in our blog). πŸ™‚

  9. February 4, 2013 at 6:47 PM

    Yes, my dogs have opened up new worlds. I am truly blessed to have them in my life.

    • Mel
      February 4, 2013 at 8:32 PM

      I feel the same way. πŸ™‚

  10. February 4, 2013 at 6:58 PM

    What a great picture-if you have a dog and it has not opened up a new world for you than you are doing something wrong πŸ™‚

    • Mel
      February 4, 2013 at 8:32 PM

      What a great way to say it! Thank you.

  11. Jen
    February 4, 2013 at 8:37 PM

    Without Elka, I certainly would never have started blogging when I did. Then I wouldn’t have “met” all you fine people! Dogs and dog training have been such a persistent passion for me since Day 1 (or Day -however long it took to actually get her) that at this point, I don’t know what I would have been doing for myself otherwise.

    • Mel
      February 4, 2013 at 8:48 PM

      Isn’t that amazing Jen? I could say all the same things. Plus, I get my Dobie fix via Elka. πŸ™‚

  12. February 4, 2013 at 9:47 PM

    Dogs have always been in my life I cannot imagine it any other way. I started my dog blog a year ago and never imagined how much fun it would be to share with other dog lovers worldwide.Dogs are incredible connectors and I have been blessed with new friendships both two and four legged thru my writing and in my daily life at the off leash as a dog walker.I still have so much to write about, every day brings new ideas. come and see me at dogstwentyfourseven.wordpress.com

  13. February 5, 2013 at 7:56 PM

    Pepper is my Service Dog, so for me, the “opened new worlds” is more literal than most. BOL!! I cannot even begin to say how much she has changed my life in all aspects.

  14. February 6, 2013 at 4:04 PM

    I didn’t really realise the impact dogs had on my life till I started working in boarding kennels. On the walks you really began to see the character in a dog and it allowed me to enjoy them more and see the walks as fun rather than part of the job.
    I study media at college (PR, film, advertising, marketing, events management, writing, interview skills – the list is pretty much endless) and through a doggy fun day I ran last year for DogsTrust (UK charity) I realised that I would love to do PR and educational events management for them or another pet based organisation or company.
    As for little Winston, he has basically taught me to be patient and I feel I genuinely love him like a child – before I would have considered caring for a pet like a child sad. I hope that Winston will continue to open my eyes to the Animal Kingdom through both life and our blog!

    Oh and I would also love to do dog boarding, but in my house. 1 or 2 dogs at a time that I have come know and they trust me so they have as good a holiday as their humans.

    Anyway, I will definitely end this comment here. πŸ˜›
    ❀ Laura & Winston

    P.S I LOVE YOUR BLOG! πŸ˜‰

    • Mel
      February 7, 2013 at 10:46 PM

      Thank you for sharing Laura. I also began to realize their impact when I started working as a volunteer at a local shelter here. I learned so much about dogs through that experience. I have heard of DogTrust! How cool!
      Yes. Daisy taught me patience as well. They teach us so much more than we know, don’t you think?

      Thank you for your kind words. I am so flattered you like my blog. Thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

