Home > Best Blog Posts, Dog Training, Fun Stuff, Pet Product Reviews, Pet Topics > The Top 12 Dog Blog Posts of 2012

The Top 12 Dog Blog Posts of 2012

December 30, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

FD004740Here we are, looking at the last day of the year, December 31st, 2012. It’s hard to believe it is almost over isn’t it?

What will the new year bring? Only time will tell. I guess if you believe in numerology, then maybe there is some good news to be found in numerologist, Glynnis McCants’,  prediction for the new year. According to her, 2013 is a “6” year (2+0+1+3 = 6) which means a focus on family and business – “I see it as a good cycle for everybody who felt this year they couldn’t get it together…they have another chance.”  Pretty good news if you felt a little out of sorts (like me) in 2012. We shall have to see if it really comes true.

In the meantime, I thought I would use this last day of the year to share my annual list of favorite blog posts.

As with every year,  I had a hard time whittling my list down to just 12, but I think I did it.

Please note: These are blog posts I selected myself because they had an impact on me. I also thought they might be of interest to you. If you have others you think qualify, please do share them in the comment section below. I love finding new ones to read. I would love to know what blog post(s) touched you most this year.

So, without further ado, here are My Top 12 Blog Posts for 2012…

1.  Pondering Poppies In January – My friend Jenny Pavlovic is probably the most fearless person I know. She tackles the biggest problems as if they were merely a pebble in her path. She helps animals and humans, and tries to make a difference in all that she does. To be honest, I am a little in awe of her ability to just barrel ahead – fearless, dedicated, committed and kind. Earlier this year she wrote a blog post that pretty much summed up her philosophy on life. I admit I have a personal connection to this blog post, but it wasn’t why I chose it.

2.  A Perfect Storm – This blog post made the rounds in February after a news reporter was bitten in the face by a dog that had been rescued from a reservoir the day before. I am sure many of you recall the discussions that went on at that time – who was to blame, what people could learn from it, how to prevent a dog bite like this in the future, etc. What struck me most about Kari Bastyr’s words were both the measured way she discussed the issue and how she highlighted the need for us humans to better understand our dogs. In her own words, “Going forward, I would like everyone to take a step back and think about all the things your dog is trying to tell you. Do away with everything you ‘think’ you know about dogs, everything you have learned from your dogs growing up, and everything you try to do to ‘make’ your dogs listen. Watch and learn because your dog is trying to tell you things every single second.” Powerful stuff. I hope you will give it a read. It is well worth your time.

3.  Tread lightly – My friend Debbie Jacobs is probably one of the smartest people I know, and that doesn’t just apply to her knowledge of dogs. Her wisdom about fearful dogs, however is quite amazing (and helpful!). I thought this particular post was quite powerful. I could not agree with her more. As she says in the post, “When interacting with a fearful, shy or anxious dog, tread lightly, you may not be able to see the cracks in the ice.”

4. A Dog Park is No Place for a DuckKristine Tonks from Rescued Insanity is a thoughtful and thought-provoking type of blogger. I always know that she will leave me thinking (and in this case, laughing). This post had me not only laughing out loud, but doing so while riding on the train, during rush hour. I even made a point and going back to read it when I got home that evening. I knew then it just had to be on my 2012 list of favorite blog posts. Need a laugh? Read on!

5.  How I Failed as a Rescuer: Lessons from a Sanctuary – This post from Notes From a Dog Walker is pretty powerful stuff. The number of comments (629) should tell you enough about it’s impact. I think it’s a good example of what we as dog bloggers do best – share the raw emotional truth of our experiences with our pets, and the pets we care for, whether in rescue or a shelter. I guarantee it will leave you thinking.

6.  Chix-A-Lot Friday: Let’s be gentle, not judgmental – I have to admit, I love Aleksandra’s blog, Love and a Six-Foot Leash, for two reasons: 1) She is a fantastic photographer and I love looking at her pictures of her dogs and the dogs she has fostered, and 2) she is another blogger who is wise, thoughtful and thought-provoking. This post is one of her more thought-provoking posts and one that I think every dog trainer, dog blogger and dog “expert” should read. I know that I am still learning the lessons shared in this post.

7.  Exploding Dog Butts and Ill-Fitting Clothes – An Experiment in Looking on the Bright Side – If you haven’t been following Elizabeth’s dog blog, The Chronicles of Cardigan, you really should. She is about as funny as any standup comedian. I love her humor and I love her Corgiis. How could I not? They’re adorable and they provide fodder for Elizabeth’s humor. This one in particular had me in stitches. The title says it all. 🙂

8.  There’s A Sucker Born Every Minute and Things Dogs Brag About – I appreciate a lot of things about my friend Kevin Myers, among them are his knowledge of dogs and his love of coffee, but perhaps it is his sense of humor about us and our dogs that I love the most. These two posts are perfect examples of how well Kevin knows us and our dogs. See if you don’t agree. I guarantee you will at least laugh.

9.  Will in December – I highlighted Tom Ryan and his dog, Atticus, back in September, but what I didn’t know then was that he had since taken in another dog, one that very much-needed his loving care. To say that Will is a special needs dog would not be that far off. Neglected, unwanted, and in pain, Will was the older dog that everyone passes by. Thankfully, Tom was not everyone. This loving tribute to Will is so worth reading, although I warn you, you may need a tissue by the time you are through.

10.  An apology to Jehan and Farouk – Georgia Little Pea is normally a quite funny person. In fact, she is more than funny. She is talented. This past year she has been sharing all sorts of interesting stories about her life as she cleans house and considers moving to new locales. This particular post has stuck with me since she wrote it. If you have ever had a dog and felt the guilt of not being the dog owner you had once envisioned yourself being, then this post will resonate with you. I hope Georgia won’t mind me sharing it, but I thought it was worthy of sharing. Maybe read this one first and then read Aleksandra’s (#6).

11.  The Puppiness Project – Trust the Universe; Trust Yourself – Pamela often uses her dog, Honey, to help her, and her readers, better understand our complicated human emotions. It might seem a bit cliché to say that we should be more like our dogs, but I think Pamela has demonstrated that we can certainly learn a lot about ourselves through them. I think this particular post resonated with me because, like Pamela, I’m not much on trusting the universe either. That’s where Honey comes in. See what Pamela has to say on learning trust from her dog Honey.

12.  #20 ~ saved from a life of doglessness – This post just might be one of my favorites for the year. Maybe it’s the beauty of Eleanore MacDonald’s words or maybe it’s the fact that she has had the chance to watch as “the dark shroud of trauma began to wear away” from her dog Lovie (like I did with Daisy), but either way, I found her post powerful and touching enough to want to share it with all of you. There is something about Lovie’s story that hit me at my core. Maybe Eleanore’s talent with music has woven its way into her blog? She certainly has a beautiful voice, and after listening to her music, I already know that she is one amazing woman. I hope you will check out her blog post AND her music.

  1. December 30, 2012 at 10:49 PM

    Great list – all of them are among my favorites!!

    • Mel
      December 31, 2012 at 9:43 AM

      Thanks! So glad you like them and have read many of them. I love collecting all the ones that touched me throughout the year so I can highlight them one more time.

  2. December 31, 2012 at 3:55 AM

    What a super and valuable round-up of posts you have got us. I particularly liked the Tread Lightly one – thank you.

    • Mel
      December 31, 2012 at 9:41 AM

      Thanks Eastwitching! I love that one too. A great message.

  3. December 31, 2012 at 4:11 AM

    Thank you Melf. No worries at all. In fact, it’s very kind of you to share Rook and Han’s story, giving them a new life 🙂

    I’ve read only half of these posts and the other blogs are new to me. Some reading to do, perhaps next stop? Hooroo! x

    • Mel
      December 31, 2012 at 9:41 AM

      So glad you are okay with me sharing it. It was a great reminder to me that sometimes we do the best we can and still feel guilty about the choices we have to make. Happy New Year my friend!

  4. December 31, 2012 at 6:12 AM

    What a really great list Mel! I seems to have missed some of these so I will be sure to check them out! Hope you have a wonderful New Year!

    • Mel
      December 31, 2012 at 9:40 AM

      Thanks Jen. I just wished I had included yours as well. I hope you like the ones I chose. Happy New Year!

  5. To Shea
    December 31, 2012 at 7:19 AM

    Have a Wonderful and Joyeous New year Mel!!!!
    A Big Woof Woof from Penny to all of your furry friends out there…:-)
    Alex and Penny

    • Mel
      December 31, 2012 at 9:39 AM

      Thanks Alex and Penny! I wish you the same! Woofs to Penny from Jasper, Daisy, and Cupcake. 🙂

  6. December 31, 2012 at 8:32 AM

    Thank you so much Mel, what a very nice thing for you to do.

    • Mel
      December 31, 2012 at 9:38 AM

      As always Debbie, no thanks needed. You always provide great information and food for thought.

  7. December 31, 2012 at 9:10 AM

    Great selection of posts here…And thanks for including the one about Will…I’m reading Following Atticus right now and am happy to learn the latest news about them

    • Mel
      December 31, 2012 at 9:38 AM

      So glad you like them Gixmo. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did. I now follow Tom and Atticus and Will on FB and read his posts for updates. It sounds like they have a challenge right now, so I am hoping all four of them are okay.

  8. December 31, 2012 at 12:01 PM

    Thank you so much for the mention of my post! What a lovely thing for you to do. And thank you also for helping me to discover so many other great blogs! I look forward to tracing your trail ahead with Daisy, as Lovie and I continue to find our way into a less scary world for her. Wishes of great goodness to you, Daisy, Jasper and Cupcake in your year ahead, from those of us here at Dancing Dog Farm.
    (did you know that Cupcake is Lovie, and our dear Djuna’s, last name? 🙂

  9. January 1, 2013 at 3:22 AM

    Oh my, I don’t know half of those blogs, I have been missing out!
    I do very well remember miss GLP’s “apologies to Jehan and Farouk” though, that one left a mark on me as well, definitely one of the best posts in the year.
    Have a Happy New Year in casa del Mel !

    • Mel
      January 1, 2013 at 3:12 PM

      I don’t know all of them really well Leo, but whenever someone shared a post that I thought worthy of being recognized, I saved it in a folder to review again throughout the year and at the end of the year. I have to agree on Miss Little Pea’s post. It definitely stuck with me.

      Happy New Year to you my friend!

  10. January 1, 2013 at 12:03 PM

    Thank you so much for the link and mention! I am so honoured to be on such a huge list alongside other writers I admire. I am glad you enjoyed the post as I really had a lot of fun writing it. I’ve been struggling a lot with blogging lately and wonder if I am just out of ideas. You have made me feel a lot better about what I have accomplished. Thanks for that.

    Happy New Year!

    • Mel
      January 1, 2013 at 3:10 PM

      I enjoyed it thoroughly Kristine. I love a sense of humor and clever writing – you have both.

      You are no alone in your struggles. I have struggled as well. I think your post today is one that will ultimately impact my blogging. If I made you feel better about what you have accomplished, then I am very happy to have done so. 🙂

  11. January 1, 2013 at 5:34 PM

    Thanks so much for the list-I thought the fifth post was particularly thought provoking and I had not seen it. Best of luck to you in the new year!

    • Mel
      January 2, 2013 at 6:47 AM

      Thanks for reading it Adrian. This one made the rounds earlier in the year. I don’t know how many people saw it, but I saved it as soon as I read it because, like you, I thought it particularly thought-provoking too.

  12. peggyspetplace
    January 3, 2013 at 8:48 AM

    Great list, and some new ones there too. I also love Pamela’s Puppiness Project, and the way she is willing to be so open about everything. Thanks!

    • Mel
      January 3, 2013 at 10:54 PM

      Agree with you on Pamela’s Puppiness Project. I loved that series.

  13. January 3, 2013 at 2:19 PM

    Thank you for including me in this great list of blogs! I’m looking forward to reading the ones that are new to me. Happy New Year!

    • Mel
      January 3, 2013 at 10:48 PM

      Thank you for writing such a thought-provoking post! I still think about it. I hope it brings more readers to your blog. Happy New Year!

  14. Amy
    January 21, 2013 at 5:25 PM

    Just found your blog in a round about way ~ and glad I did! Thanks for the great list of reads. Also – thanks for pointing me to the Blog the Change for animals – I will read more about it and add my posts. I’m a bit late for the Jan 15th one, but what the heck – time is relative. I will still add a post 🙂

    • Mel
      January 21, 2013 at 7:37 PM

      Very cool! I wish you could add to Blog the Change, but I believe the linky closed the next day. We do a Blog the Change event every quarter, so please come back and participate in March! We would love to have you join!

      • Amy
        January 21, 2013 at 8:13 PM

        Thanks Mel – no worries – I will make a post anyway, even if its not official. 🙂 And you betcha – I will be back around in March!

      • Mel
        January 21, 2013 at 8:14 PM

        Awesome!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

