Home > Cats, Fun Stuff, Pet Ponderings, Pet Topics > There are Pet-themed Ornaments On My Tree. Yours?

There are Pet-themed Ornaments On My Tree. Yours?

December 19, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I love Christmas time. I love the newly fallen snow, all the bright colors and good cheer amongst my fellow man. I also love hanging around with family and spending time my dogs.

One of the things I also love to do at this time of year is buy a new ornament or Christmas decoration. Not always, but often, I buy an ornament or two that has an animal in it. Many of my ornaments feature bears, cats, dogs, cows, moose – I even have a penguin. Most of my pet decorations also feature dogs (of course!).

Here are just a few of my favorite ornaments.

IMG_7183

IMG_7194

IMG_7195

IMG_7187

IMG_7185

IMG_7197

I’m often on the lookout for new animal ornaments I can add to my collection. Thank God for Pinterest! I found a few interesting ones on my Christmas Ornaments-Petsย Pinterest page,

So what about you? Do you have pet ornaments too? Do your Christmas ornaments have a theme? What are some of your favorites?

  1. December 19, 2012 at 11:30 PM

    We have a photo ornament for each cat or dog of the house. As they pass on over the years, we add their name/address tag to the ornament. We always enjoy seeing their faces smiling out at us from the branches, brings back such good memories. ~ Kat

    • Mel
      December 20, 2012 at 7:15 AM

      I love the idea of a photo ornament for each pet. I am going to see if I can find some cute ones so I can do that too. What I really love is that you add their address tag. That is so sweet and touching and like having a piece of them there. Love that idea so much. Thank you for sharing it.

  2. December 19, 2012 at 11:37 PM

    We have tons of animal/pet ornaments on our tree, including a few photo ornaments of our angels who have passed. Love to pull out all the old ornaments every year. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Mel
      December 20, 2012 at 7:13 AM

      Oh Jackie! I love that idea! I’m going to see if I an find some photo ones to add of Aspen and Indy and Sebastian. I love pulling out my old ornaments too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. December 20, 2012 at 2:46 AM

    Cute! We’re actually not having a tree. With all the changes made to accommodate Jasmine’s needs, there is simple nowhere to put one. We did make custom paw print xmas balls for our vet couple years back, though.

    • Mel
      December 20, 2012 at 7:12 AM

      That is really cute Jana! I may have to try that. They had some examples on Pinterest.
      I completely understand not having a tree up. I didn’t put one up last year either.

  4. December 20, 2012 at 4:02 AM

    We’re big on dog theme Christmas ornaments, especially glass ones ๐Ÿ™‚ Heading over to check out your list on Pinterest!

    • Mel
      December 20, 2012 at 7:11 AM

      Oh Sue. I LOVE the glass ones! I lost a brown bear one this year (dog’s tail) and a snowflake one (me throwing Jasper’s ball). I need to get some new ones to replace them.
      I want one of a Golden Retriever that I have on my Pinterest page.

  5. To Shea
    December 20, 2012 at 7:24 AM

    We Love your ornaments Mel!!! This year we havent had the time to put up out tree yet, but YES we also have special doggy / Penny Ornaments for our tree. Every year we buy a special one just for Penny…and she enjoys helping us decorate. She really does, she SOMETIMES, not all the time, but she will gently pull out an ornament (preset up for her) and gives it to us to put on the tree…its very cute…:-). i hope we can do it again this year. With my new job…its difficult to find the time.
    Alex and Penny

    • Mel
      December 20, 2012 at 9:16 PM

      Thanks Alex and Penny! I absolutely love that Penny helps with the tree decorating Alex!
      I didn’t know you had a new job. Congratulations! I so hope you love it. Penny will understand I am sure. After all, it’s hanging out with mom and dad that she treasures most. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. December 20, 2012 at 8:35 AM

    Those are beautiful! My friend just gave me a golden milkbone ornament! It’s really cute. I have lots of various dog ornaments on there, can’t resist!

    • Mel
      December 20, 2012 at 9:17 PM

      What a great gift Peggy! I want one!

  7. Will and Eko
    December 20, 2012 at 11:02 AM

    Very cute ornaments. We have one of a Dalmation on a sled (which always makes me nostalgic for our old pup, Indy) but I need to get one for Eko! Where did you get yours?

    • Mel
      December 20, 2012 at 9:21 PM

      The Dalmatian one sounds adorable Will and Eko. I may have to look for one. Daisy and I fostered a Dalmatian for a short time before he got adopted with his sister. Almost kept him too.

      I get mine from all over. Some at small town shops ad others at local stores after Christmas. The dog one with the red and white scarf came from what was then called Camp Snoopy at the Mall of America. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. December 20, 2012 at 9:08 PM

    Oh gosh, yes! We have a small pink Christmas tree that has all dog ornaments on it, another small tree for downstairs that has a few dog ornaments and other things, and this year, I got ornaments from a lovely gal in England who made one that looks like each of the dogs. I admit it, I am in love with this year’s ornaments!

    • Mel
      December 20, 2012 at 9:19 PM

      I’m glad I am not the only one who loves collecting the dog ones. I SO want to see some of your ornaments that you bought this year! I like to browse the crafty and small town stores for mine. Will you share some of yours in your pictures?

  9. December 20, 2012 at 10:37 PM

    Too cute! I have several cat ornaments, but have never found many dog ornaments that remind me of Cali!! I have LOTS of snowmen ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. December 21, 2012 at 12:25 AM

    The shiny kitty ones are cute! Being the Queen of DIY, you’d think that I would have ornaments with the dogs on them, but no.

  11. December 21, 2012 at 1:30 PM

    Didn’t even start the tree…I may not decorate it this year. I do not feel the X-mas spirit anyway. ;( But you have one joyful end of the year ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

