Home > Miscellaneous, Pet Ponderings > When words fail us…

When words fail us…

December 17, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

DSC00449I don’t have many words for today. I think like all of you, like all Americans, I am saddened by what happened in a small town in Connecticut on Friday. I can’t wrap my head around the fact that so many children have been lost and that those who loved them either lost their lives in trying to save them or are left to suffer the grief of being left behind without them.

I tried to think of something profound I could say today.

I tried to think of something comforting I could write.

I tried to think of something inspiring I could share.

And then, I came across the words of my fellow bloggers and others. They have better words than I.

Maine author, Sarah Smiley from Bangor Daily News

Children aren’t supposed to understand these things. Many times, they aren’t even capable of it. And children certainly aren’t supposed to experience them, as the schoolchildren in Newtown did.Before Owen went to bed Friday night, he knelt beside his sleeping younger brother’s bed. He petted Lindell’s head and smoothed his hair. “I can’t stop thinking about those kids,” he said.I doubt any of us ever will.

Carrie (and Bunny) from Tales and Tails

My guess is that there weren’t too many people who didn’t go home yesterday and be glad that they could and that they could hug their loved ones and tell them they were glad to see them after learning the sad news of the day.  I bet a lot of dogs and cats worked overtime to comfort their humans.  A lot of those humans who died were still very young, but that doesn’t mean that they won’t leave a legacy for the world.  Hopefully, the whole world will learn to think and act differently after what happened yesterday.  Maybe Christmas and Hanukkah and Kwanzaa will all mean more to people this year as they hold their loved ones a little closer.  It’s still too early to know what the legacy of the very sad day yesterday will be, but I hope that it will blossom into a beautiful thing.  We sure don’t need to look for the ugliness in the world any more.

Dogs to help mend hearts in Newtown; Naomi, NIx from the Chicago Tribune

A team of golden retrievers made an 800-mile journey from the Chicago area to Newtown, Conn., over the weekend to comfort those affected by the recent school massacre.

“Dogs are non-judgmental. They are loving. They are accepting of anyone,” Hetzner said. “It creates the atmosphere for people to share.”

Pamela from Something Wagging This Way Comes

But I will share the lesson I’m trying to learn today: Allow people to be stupid in their grief…. My choice is to exercise my compassion muscles by allowing us to be stupid in our grief. And I’ll try to keep my compassion muscles toned when I see people acting out their grief in other situations.

Ann Curry, NBC News

Imagine if we all committed 20 acts of kindness to honor the lost children of Newtown..(or 26 acts, including the heroic teachers.) I’m in. A growing number on Twitter are in. #20Acts #26Acts What do you think FB friends? If yes, share!

Candle

  1. December 17, 2012 at 8:03 AM

    I think you found some pretty good words…

    Hugs.

  2. To Shea
    December 17, 2012 at 8:11 AM

    Looks like you found what you needed to find.
    i hate to sound petty, but how about all the dogs that were affected by this.
    Their favorite little ones not returning home and they do not know why.
    Do the dogs think it was their fault.
    Just thought i would mention that.
    Alex and Penny

  3. December 17, 2012 at 8:51 AM

    Alex, you are right. Animals don’t understand change. My Russian Blue kitty stares at my spot on the bed when I’m not there, even if I’m in another room, or have been out of town for days. When he wants to snuggle, he expects me to be in my “mommy spot.”

    I’m a freshly retired teacher. My thoughts are very complicated, about misunderstood/underserved kids as well as threatened kids, teachers and parents.

  4. December 17, 2012 at 10:29 AM

    After four days I still don’t have anything comprehensible to say so I know exactly where you are coming from. Right now, I don’t know if anything really needs to be said other than how sad I am, how sad we all are.

    Thank you for sharing the words of others. Maybe they will help me make some sense out of the whole tragedy. I just don’t know.

    • Mel
      December 17, 2012 at 10:51 PM

      I think we need to make sense of this Kristine, or I fear our very souls will have been lost to those with much darker ones. I know what you mean though. I wasn’t sure what to say or if I could even add to the discussion. I am glad others had better words and thoughts than I.

  5. December 17, 2012 at 12:03 PM

    I think your words were just fine, but I’m honored that you liked ours. My first instinct was not to talk about it on the blog, but I somehow felt that it would be wrong NOT to. I started writing two other posts that I scrapped before that one. As a person who teaches young children, it’s unfathomable that someone could go in and execute a room full of them. I don’t honestly think that there is any understanding it, though. Mental illness is not something that we can understand, but I know that mental health needs to become a priority in this country. Right now, the only options for most are incarceration.

    • Mel
      December 17, 2012 at 10:49 PM

      You echoed all of what I was thinking and feeling Carrie. I have a sister-in-law who is a principal. I couldn’t help but think of her too. I wanted to say something, but my words seemed so inadequate. Yours then, and now, are so well said. Thank you for writing what you did.

  6. Martie
    December 17, 2012 at 2:23 PM

    My prayers go out to these families and all the people in Newtown, CT. I don’t doubt there are many families living with an unstable child, sometimes in fear, who could possibly progress to this state of anger. Maybe they don’t know where to turn for help. Maybe they are ashamed. But maybe they have tried and failed to get the help they need. The most profound thing I have read since this tragedy is at this link. And in addition to this I’d like to plead with people who are dealing with an unstable child in their home to please remove all firearms, locked or not, from the home. (Just copy and paste the link if it’s not hyperlinked)
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/12/16/i-am-adam-lanzas-mother-mental-illness-conversation_n_2311009.html

    • Mel
      December 17, 2012 at 10:54 PM

      Thanks Martie. I read this piece as well and felt so very sad that parents have no way to help these kids and often live in fear themselves. It is so very sad. Thank you for sharing it again. It’s pretty powerful stuff.

      I read a book on this very same topic, written by a father who’s son developed schizophrenia. It was sad to have him share the statistics and reality of what happens to our mentally ill. Their only option it seems is to place them in prison. How sad is that?

  7. December 17, 2012 at 7:26 PM

    Thank you for sharing those beautiful sentiments.

    • Mel
      December 17, 2012 at 10:54 PM

      Thank you for reading them.

  8. December 19, 2012 at 9:17 AM

    You left me with tears in our eyes – we could all learn something from this collection of sentiments from around the internet. Thank you for posting this…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

