Home > Cupcake, Daisy, Dog Behavior, Fun Stuff, Jasper, Pet Ponderings > What goofy thing does your dog do?

What goofy thing does your dog do?

November 28, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Daisy. Giving me “the look”.

One of the things I love most about dogs is their silly side. I haven’t yet met a dog who hasn’t been able to make me laugh. Some dogs chase flies, others sleep with their favorite toy, and many others just get the zoomies and race around the house or yard like crazy dogs. How can one not laugh?

Each of my three dogs has their own silly behavior that is unique just to them.

  • Cupcake loves to carry her stuffed toy over to me and get me to chase her so I can catch her and give her a belly rub.
  • Jasper loves to have me hold his indoor ball out at arm’s length while he races around the coffee table and pretends to leap up to grab it before running around the coffee table again (it really is quite hilarious).
  • Daisy loves to run around the house with her stuffed toy in her mouth. When she is sitting on one end of the couch she will slowly dip her head and turn it toward me and give me “the look,” before thumping her tail and scooting over for her belly rub.

It’s hard not to laugh at them They can be so goofy. I am sure my cat, Nick, look at them much like Garfield looked at Odie. Those darn goofy dogs!

I know each dog is their own individual, so it made me wonder…

What goofy behavior does your dog do that makes you laugh?

Cupcake being silly.

  1. To Shea
    November 28, 2012 at 11:14 PM

    The Best thing Penny does is when she rolls over on her back wags her tail and smiles..:-)
    YES…She actually smiles…Its VERY Adorable.
    Another thing is when Penny is all covered up with blankets on our bed and she knows Mommy is coming over to her and you can see the blankets moving up and down from the motion of her tail….Very Cute…:-)
    There are SOOO many cute things our dogs do…..its wonderful to think about too!!!
    Nice Post Mel….Thank you…:-)

    Alex and Penny

    • Mel
      November 29, 2012 at 6:45 AM

      That is one Vizsla behavior I love. The lying on their back and wagging their tail. Penny sounds adorable.
      The tail wagging under the blanket just made me laugh. You described it perfectly. I can just imagine her doing that.
      Reading your comment and everyone else’s is giving me a smile to take with me for the day. 🙂

  2. Will and Eko
    November 28, 2012 at 11:28 PM

    My favorite is when Eko tries to be sneaky and sticks his head through the staircase banister so that he can try to swipe any treats that are on top of the fridge! He’s a regular 007

    • Mel
      November 29, 2012 at 6:43 AM

      OMG! That is so clever! I bet he watches to see if you are looking first doesn’t he?

  3. November 29, 2012 at 12:13 AM

    Daisy looks just like she is posing for Ingres’ La Grande Odalisque painting! Bella talks in her sleep, and Jackson cannot say ‘hello’ until he retrieves a toy to not-give-you. 🙂

    • Mel
      November 29, 2012 at 6:42 AM

      LOL! I had to go look up the painting. You are so right!!! That is exactly what Daisy looks like! Thank you for pointing me there. I had never seen this painting before.
      Bella talks in her sleep? Does she growl? Bark? Whine?
      Jackson and Daisy are very similar – she also has to grab a roy she will not give to you. These silly dogs of ours. 🙂

      Here is a link to the painting you mentioned: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Jean_Auguste_Dominique_Ingres,_La_Grande_Odalisque,_1814.jpg

      • November 29, 2012 at 8:51 AM

        Ahh! You see the resemblance! Bella has lengthy full-on conversations in her sleep! Actually, she does this awake too…there are distinct things for “my toy is stuck”, “the cat is stalking me,” “I don’t like this channel change it!” Speaking of channels…she literally leaps across the room toward the TV whenever there is a dog on the screen. If it goes off-screen, she “follows” it behind the TV. Can’t seem to quite catch it. What’s up with that??

  4. November 29, 2012 at 1:59 AM

    Oh Daisy, you are A-dorable. Buddy used to like to eat deer poo in the winter. Don’t know if thats ‘ha-ha’ funny, but it was ‘unusual’ funny. Like “what’s that smell?” kind of funny.

    • Mel
      November 29, 2012 at 6:38 AM

      Ewwww!!! Mde me laugh when you said “what’s that smell?” kind of funny. I bet!

  5. November 29, 2012 at 2:00 AM

    I wonder how many of the things we do our dogs would find goofy 😉 JD certainly excels at TRYING to catch flies. Jasmine loves to steal gloves in order to bury them.

    • Mel
      November 29, 2012 at 6:37 AM

      I am sure they thing a lot of what we do is goofy for sure Jana. I love that Jasmine steals gloves. We have a glove stealer, named Bella, at the dog park. Makes me laugh every time. She’s so sneaky about it!

  6. November 29, 2012 at 2:15 AM

    Both dogs MUST have something in their mouth when they greet me at the door. Must be the retriever in them. Dexter loves showing me his manly parts when we’re lying on the sofa together. I really don’t need to see it ALL the time.

    • Mel
      November 29, 2012 at 6:33 AM

      LMAO! Manly parts! Karen – my brother’s dog Remy did that ALL the time. We used to laugh about it. I think the toy in their mouth must e a retriever thing. Daisy does it too. When she is excited there must be a toy in her mouth. 🙂

  7. November 29, 2012 at 2:43 AM

    I think the way Georgia manipulates Cushion and me is always worth watching and having a laugh over. She can go from sweet and funny to crushed and pathetic in the blink of an eye. I don’t think I’ve ever had a dog quite as determined to have her own way!

    • Mel
      November 29, 2012 at 6:32 AM

      I think she has got the pathetic, sad look down. She has the most expressive and adorable face. I honestly don’t know how you say No to her. Miss Little Pea is an independent, but sensitive girl. 🙂

  8. November 29, 2012 at 6:10 AM

    It sounds like your dogs and my dogs make us smile in similar ways! Sometimes I just look at Leroy and smile:)

    • Mel
      November 29, 2012 at 6:31 AM

      LOL! Me too Jen. Sometimes Jasper or Daisy or Cuppers will give me a look that just makes me laugh. Silly dogs.

  9. November 29, 2012 at 7:21 AM

    Cupcake looks so happy in that picture, I love seeing that!
    When we are getting ready for a walk, Max does this thing where he rolls over on his back and wiggles back and forth so he is moving across the living room. When he gets to the couch he kicks the cushions off it.
    Lacy will get the zoomies at the park and run around like crazy and always ends up at my feet for a belly rub.

  10. November 29, 2012 at 8:21 AM

    Cupcake, Jasper, and Daisy are so cute! I’d love to see their cuteness in the act. My dogs keep me well entertained too. Pierson jumps straight up and down when he is excited. He also does this cute sing-song growl. Maya is so funny when she plays with her toys. She shakes her head and prances around. Maya is also super-adorable when she sleeps. I find her in the funniest positions on her back.

  11. November 29, 2012 at 8:24 AM

    My Border Collie, Meme, “sings” Happy Birthday! OK she really doesn’t sing but when we sing Happy Birthday she grabs a toy and then runs around growling and barking with the toy still in her mouth. It is a sight to see. Her way of wishing Happy Birthday!

  12. November 29, 2012 at 8:31 AM

    If I told you , it would be as long as a book…..hmmm…now THAT’s AN IDEA…hehehe

  13. November 29, 2012 at 12:38 PM

    Everything! lol Oh bless him, but the best (or at least my favourite!) goofy thing Inka does is when he ‘talks’, usually when we come home from being out, or when particularly excited/frustrated.

    • Mel
      November 30, 2012 at 6:39 AM

      Inka sounds like a stitch! I love talking dogs. I think that’s why I love Huskies. They just talk all the time. 🙂

  14. November 29, 2012 at 2:08 PM

    This is one of the many reasons why dogs are so awesome and I couldn’t live without them. Their positive outlooks and general silliness are what keep me sane.

    Love Daisy’s “look”! She knows how to work it for sure!

    • Mel
      November 30, 2012 at 6:38 AM

      I agree. We can and do learn a lot from our dogs, don’t we?

  15. November 29, 2012 at 4:50 PM

    Love that picture of Daisy! Our lab looks at us in much the same way that Daisy looks at you!

    • Mel
      November 30, 2012 at 6:37 AM

      I LOVE that! It seiously is one of my favorite looks she gives me. It took her so long to make eye contact with me, so when she does this it is such a special thing.

  16. November 29, 2012 at 7:06 PM

    Chester only makes me do that kind of “nervous laugh” when he is *this close* to biting the mailman’s fingers through the mail slot. The rest of the time he just makes me smile because he is so sweet and handsome. Gretel is a super clown. With her I am laughing more often than not. One of the weirdest things she does is jump at the couch from about three feet away and then looks surprised when she doesn’t make it. Weirdo.

    • Mel
      November 30, 2012 at 6:37 AM

      Eek! I would be doing the “nervous laugh” too! I think with names like Chester and Gretel they must make you smile a lot. They are so adorable I cannot imagine not smiling most of the time. 🙂

  17. November 29, 2012 at 9:28 PM

    I wish for a pup or two to be silly with one day. So jelly 😦

    • Mel
      November 30, 2012 at 6:35 AM

      I hope you get one some day. 🙂

      • December 6, 2012 at 3:28 PM

        Me too 🙂

  18. November 30, 2012 at 11:45 PM

    We have an old couch on the 4season porch which is my Stoli’s domain. She will climb up on the back part to be “lookout,” then lean forward down till her head is curled under for me to pet, while the rest of her is still sticking up.. hee hee…As an Eskie, she is also one incredible pogo stick – if I turn my back she keeps right on bouncing up, tapping me on the butt!

  19. December 5, 2012 at 6:01 PM

    Oh my there are two many to list

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

