Home > Cupcake, Little Lady Lost, Lost Dogs, Missing Pets > Missing Dog Memories and a New Lost Dog

Missing Dog Memories and a New Lost Dog

November 13, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I know I say this quite frequently, but I really did have something else planned for today’s post. Something informative. Something interesting.

Instead, all I can think about is a missing Sheltie girl named Lizzie.

Maybe it has to do with how long she has been missing – 32 days as of November 13th.

Or maybe it’s the cold weather we are experiencing right now – 19 degrees as of this Tuesday morning.

Or it could be where she is hanging out – a brushy field alongside a man-made lake where coyote and fox dens are plentiful.

More than likely, it’s also because the anniversary of the day I first lost my dog, Cupcake, is fast approaching – November 18th.

I can’t help but feel strong emotions as I watch the drama of Lizzie’s story unfold so much like it did for Cupcake. My memories of those 12 days are still so strong even now, a year later. I still tear up when I remember how Cupcake sighed and sank against me when she finally realized she had found me and was safe. I think it was in that moment that I fully  understood how scared and worried and fearful she had been during her ordeal. I certainly knew how scared I had been. Finding one another was one of the most intense, most powerful, moments of my life.

I cannot help but feel the same feelings as for Lizzie. I know she must be so very frightened. And, there is so much that is similar to Cupcake’s story.

Lizzie…

  • Went missing while away from home. Her home is in Rochester, Minnesota, but she was staying with her owner’s daughter when she got away from her.
  • Seems to be staying in the same general area now, although she did travel quite far at first.
  • Has mostly been sighted in the early morning hours or late evenings.
  • Is hanging out in areas known to have coyotes.
  • Has many of the same people searching for her that helped search for Cupcake.
  • Was even sighted sleeping near a wooded area – just like Cupcake.

One of the many dens found in the area Lizzie has been seen.

I know we are close. She has been sighted many times and seems to have a pattern to her days. It is only a matter of time before we get her. But until then, I will worry and pray and hope that she stays safe. This one is too close to my heart and too close to my own recent experience not to worry.

If you want to help, please send some good thoughts Lizzie’s way and pray she stays safe until we can get her. If you live in Apple Valley, MN, please keep an eye out for her. She has been seen in the downtown area. If you do see her, DO NOT CHASE her. She is a former puppy mill dog and afraid of most people. She even ran from her caretaker. This is what Shelties do when they are in survival mode. Instead, if you see her, please call 651-206-4777 or 507-319-5547.

I’ll keep you updated on Lizzie’s progress. I hope she is caught soon.

  1. November 13, 2012 at 8:02 AM

    We hope and pray that Lizzie is found safe very soon.

    • Mel
      November 13, 2012 at 10:28 PM

      Thanks Amber. I think it is helping!

  2. November 13, 2012 at 8:20 AM

    Shared on Facebook with friends in the Twin Cities area to hopefully share further.

  3. November 13, 2012 at 8:57 AM

    Heartbreaking. Fingers, toes and paws crossed she’s found soon.

    • Mel
      November 13, 2012 at 10:27 PM

      Thanks Sue. I think all the prayers are working. She was sighted twice today. I posted a pic of her taken today on my FB page. She came close to one of our searchers who was tossing her hot dogs.

  4. November 13, 2012 at 9:06 AM

    Hopes and prayers to LIzzie and her family.

    • Mel
      November 13, 2012 at 10:26 PM

      Thanks Ogee. I am hoping and praying too. We had 2 sightings today. One was just about an hour ago.

      • November 13, 2012 at 11:19 PM

        Great news! Fingers crossed that Lizzie will trust.

  5. November 13, 2012 at 9:22 AM

    I sure hope she is found soon. Makes me cry to think how scared she is right now. Just like my brudder ,Zen the Toy chihuahua , he has been missing since Oct 5 2012 and was seen for sure on Oct. 6th about 7 AM but no additional sightings. House to house searches have been done, flyers are up and we constantly search. He is lost on the other side of town from my house and it is getting in the 20’s here at night. There are foxes and hawks in the area he is missing but it is like he disappeared off the face of the earth. Ditches and creeks have been searched also.

    • Mel
      November 13, 2012 at 10:24 PM

      Oh Carma. I am SO sorry! Have you tried flyers in town? How frightening it is when we lose our babies this way. I hope someone has taken him in and kept him safe and you see one another soon.

  6. November 13, 2012 at 10:31 AM

    I hope Lizzie has already been found as I am typing this comment. It’s just so scary to think of our loved ones out there on their own, fending for themselves. I will have my fingers crossed for them.

  7. Sam
    November 13, 2012 at 10:40 AM

    We are saying prayers. Has anyone tried a large animal trap?

    Sam

    • Mel
      November 13, 2012 at 10:22 PM

      We have Sam. She is avoiding them so far. But, she did come close to a searcher. We are hoping she will be safe soon. Thank you for your prayers.I posted a picture of Lizzie taken today on my FB page.

  8. November 13, 2012 at 11:11 AM

    Poor Lizzie 😦 Mom helped me share this on Facebook and Twitter. We hope Lizzie will be safe and someone will find her soon!

    • Mel
      November 13, 2012 at 10:21 PM

      Thank your mom for me Remy. We had a sighting just today and she came close to one of our searchers. She also was sighted this evening.

  9. Barb
    November 13, 2012 at 7:02 PM

    I’m praying that she is found. My Callie has been missing since Jan and I’m still looking for her. My heart is broken and I had to put down my Caleb and now my Zez will go to the bridge. I realized after trying to help them get better, some times you have to let them go, so they dont have to suffer. You have to do this for them, but it is so hard. This summer I came across an ad for a collie/sheltie pups, so of course I had to go look at them. The mom, a collie, looked so much like my callie that I figured it must be a sign from my callie. Well it turns out that my pup has a little of all my collies in him. When God takes them, he gave me a special pup, Midnite. These weeks will be hard losing my Zez, but I will see her when I get over the bridge, hopefully my callie will waiting…….rip……..praying for all the lost dogs and cats….

    • Mel
      November 13, 2012 at 10:20 PM

      Oh Barb. I am so sorry. How awful. So much loss in such a short time. Any sightings of Callie at all? Was she lost in MN?
      I know this won’t make you feel any better, because you would like to have your Callie with you, but many strays are kept by the people who fid them. Often they assume they were abandoned and take them in. I hope that is the case with your Callie.

      I am glad Midnite is bring some happiness into your life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

